We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, nicely presented, comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Kranzler - MOVED

Cafe Kranzler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Kranzler is committed to providing our guests with a quality dining experience while serving up a delicious new American cuisine menu.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nicely presented, comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Two thumbs up for the dinner entrees (crab salad and cioppino (fish stew).

The dessert, apple "skillet pie" was pretty good. I wonder though why it is that restaurants almost never serve apple pie made in the traditional way, but always tarted up in some odd form.

Anyway, this place is a welcome departure from the usual Padre seafood joints. I'm just sorry we didn't get there for breakfast (the menu looks very promising).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juba27777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your delightful review! Knowing your dinner with us got two thumbs up makes our day. We like to think servin' up our Apple Pie in a skillet adds a southern touch to an old classic. I'm happy to hear it made for a sweet ending to your meal. I hope you'll be joining us for breakfast soon — be sure and let us know what you think when you do!

All the best,

Anneliese, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    22
    9
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We've been a number of times and it is always fantastic. This is big-city caliber food, served in a relaxed funky ambience. Have loved everything we've tried. Great wine choices too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PantsFiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Knowing your best meals on the island have been with us make our day! Hope you'll join us for another soon. We'd love to welcome you back!

All the best,

Anneliese, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The food was great! Crab cakes are great and fresh and all crab! My boyfriend care for seafood much but he loved the trout dish and ate all of it. I had the tuna which is also a great choice. The only thing that was ok was a server. I wish she would have wamed up and poured our wine for us. Other than that it was great! Nice place worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmy484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for you wonderful review! I'm delighted to know you and your boyfriend each enjoyed your dishes down to the last bite. I do want to apologize if I came off as cold or unwelcoming while serving you. That was certainly not my intention, as your business means a lot to me! I hope you'll think of joining us for another meal the next time you're in South Padre!

All the best,

Anneliese, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a jewel on South Padre Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

As "foodies" my husband and I enjoy trying new places to eat. When fried shrimp is not on our palat for the evening, we venture out and try something new. The Mac and Cheese, with brie, figs, mushrooms, and sun dried tomatoes was to die for. I had a shrimp dish with a creamy white sauce, spinach, and of course pasta.. My husband had the shrimp marsala. It was perfect!!!! I can't believe we drove right passed this place countless times. We are now regular customers. They serve beer and wine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm delighted to know our Mac and Cheese won you (and your taste buds!) over. It's a tried and true favorite. It's just as great to know your husband was equally impressed with his Shrimp Marsala. Looking forward to your next meal with us! Best, Anneliese, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cafe Kranzler is a treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We passed by this restaurant countless times and finally decided to stop in and give it a try. What a treasure! The atmosphere is polished and refined. The waitstaff were attentive without "hovering." The food, in a word -- memorable. For starters my wife and I shared an order of crab cakes. They were superb and chock full of crab meat without heavy fillers. For my main course I ordered the Cioppino, a seafood medley that was as close to perfection as I've ever tasted. This dish alone is worth a return visit! For dessert we shared a slice of carrot cake (my wife's choice, not mine as I'm not a huge fan of carrot cake). Wow! There's a hint of an alcoholic beverage we later learned was Marsala. Finally, check out their wine rack -- one of the best selections I've seen on SPI.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WLanzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese S, Owner at Cafe Kranzler, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
I'm so happy to hear you had such an exceptional meal with us! Our Cioppino is by far one of our favorite dishes, I'm delighted to know you were just as fond of it. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the waitstaff! Looking forward to your next meal with us.

All the best,

Anneliese, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Kranzler also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing