We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun but pricy”

Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun but pricy”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Have not sampled the good yet because the kitchen is always closed when I go. It's a great bar and very friendly atmosphere. Be prepared to drop some money if you want to get tipsy. The drinks are strong but also expensive. So if you have about$50 to waste stop on in and have a great time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justjennie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    126
    84
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, North Dakota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great combination of foods and type of crowd”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We started going to Clayton's when they first built the 'biggest beach bar. Last year they added another huge bar area which is completely covered, therefore you can sit in the sun or shade or on the beach. There is always a mix of ages of people there. Our favorites are the shrimp salad and burger/fries. Beer is a bit spendy at $5.00. Staff has always been friendly. Sometimes the music is a bit loud, but if you chose your time of day and type of band, you will have a great time. Parking lot is a bit rough and location can be missed as it is set a little ways of Padre Blvd., right next to LaQuinta.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great beach bar”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Right next to La Quinta this is a large beach bar with a good selection of food with decent prices. We ate the fried shrimp and it was good. There are many drinks to chose from and the staff was quick and friendly. We will be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan93117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
379 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great location, right on the beach! Huge bar!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stopped in for drinks one afternoon, during spring break, and had a great time. We are a little older, and felt right at home. People of all ages were out enjoying the afternoon sun, happy hour prices, and entertainment of the younger crowd. Everyone was polite, courteous, and conversational. Drinks were cold, and 2 beers were only 5 bucks! One of the largest beach bars I've been to in my life, and wouldn't hesitate to return. When it's not spring break, lots of Winter Texans show up on nice days to enjoy the outdoor deck. stayed till the sun was setting, and then took the free bus ride home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMbTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“MUSIC, FOOD, AND FUN”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great entertainment, large seating area with chairs, booze a bit pricey ( $5 for a can of beer) but friendly folks, lots of fun. The bands are excellent and play all sorts of music from 50s on to current stuff. Room for dancing on open deck-- had covered areas too. Lots of clean restrooms. They also serve food, but I did not order any but it did look good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clayton's Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing