We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Not worth it! I've stayed at low rent chain hotels with better value than this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful! Not worth it! I've stayed at low rent chain hotels with better value than this hotel.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room stinks like a cheap hotel. Furniture broken and beat down like a crack house. Amenities, none! Why put a sink and kitchenette in the room with no coffee pot or a microwave. Waste! I can't think of one positive thing to say and I'm here for my 41st anniversary. Thought we were going somewhere nice.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koratx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    206
    126
    86
    86
See reviews for
343
215
11
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just got back from a girls get-a-way to South Padre Island. We stayed at Isla Grand Beach Resort and it was perfect. Absolutely beautiful! We stayed in room 108 which was right across from the pool area, yet had an ocean view too. The room was roomy enough for three ladies and all of our stuff! There would have been room for 4 also, Let me tell you, the pool area was beautiful! We enjoyed many of hours out at the pool and by the beach. The beach access was extremely nice. The hotel keeps their beach area super clean! The hotel offered everything we could have asked for. Pool side bar, pool side grill (hamburgers were the best!), nice dining restaurant (everything we ate was good and the view is breath taking), pub that offered Monday night football with taco bar (which was very good) and live entertainment every night. The band that was playing while we were there was called Passion and they were great! Good dancing going on...
All the staff was wonderful! Everyone was nice and friendly and you could tell they enjoyed being there. We were all impressed by the security staff they had too, always felt secure and safe.
While we were there we checked out some other hotels and we found they either had small pool areas or they had a long haul to the beach.
I just cannot say enough good about this place. We will definitely be back and I highly recommend Isla Grand to anyone looking for that perfect place to stay, play, rest or eat.
Oh two things in regards to previous reviews. While we were there they were upgrading their internet access. Never had a problem, in our room, out by the pool or in the restaurants. The second thing they do not have coffee makers in the room. I took care of that by stopping by the dollar store and purchased one for $12.00 (problems solved!).
I am not adding any pictures because what you see on their website is exactly what you get and more.
Last thing.. I have always been a Texas Coast Snob! I have been going to Destin and the Panama City beaches for 40+ years! SPI beaches were beautiful, I was pleasantly surprised and because it is quick trip from Dallas, I will be back and the only place I will be staying is here!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 108. Great location to pool, beach and hotel lobby, restaurants etc. Great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChaChaSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park Tx
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Some friends and I planned a girls weekend and were so excited to stay at this resort. We checked the pics of the hotel online, and it looked beautiful it was right on the beach and seemed to be a true tropical paradise. What we got instead was a poorly maintained hotel. We got to the hotel after having driven 6 hours and were sadly disappointed. When we arrived to the room it smelled as if though it had been closed up and not opened for a long period time. The floor was sandy, the A/C unit was full of dirt and spider webs. We were not able to shut the curtains because the track they were hooked on were broken. The curtains themselves were stained with mold, and were fraying at the edges. This was just the first impression. Once we put our luggage down we noticed that the walls were all scuffed up as if though the furniture had been moved around and scraped the walls. The beds were sleep number beds but did not function. The ice bucket's lid was full of sand, and was filthy. Thank you for the plastic bag it helped not get the ice dirty. My greatest disappointment thought were the sink fixtures. The fixtures had water stains on them, and looked as though they had not been cleaned for a while. They were old, and seemed to have calcium, and soap scum build up. This hotel was not well kept at all. I feel if you are renting out a room you should make sure everything is properly cleaned and sanitized. This hotel advertises modern, clean, beautiful rooms on its website but, the reality comes up very very short. The night before arriving we stayed at a Holiday inn. The holiday inn was less than half the price of this hotel room, fresh and beautiful. Had I known better I would have booked our whole weekend at a Holiday Inn. This hotel is not worth the time or money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channelview, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My co-workers and I planned our first girls weekend. We chose South Padre. We picked this hotel due to the website pictures ( and unfortunately didn't read any reviews on it) When pulling into a parking spot there was a large area blocked off by barricade and caution tape. Ok no biggie. BUT once walking to the room area there were more barricades and tape around pool area. Not a very "luxury resort view" We get to our room and it smells. It was musty. The beds were hard, sleep number function didn't work. The walls were stained ( looked like scuff marks like someone put their feet on wall) The ice bucket was dirty. Granted they give you the bag to put in it but the lid was also dirty so we left the lid off. It was three of us girls. After dinner we came back went swimming then needed showers. So while we waited for our turn in the bathroom we turned on the tv. It was very fuzzy. The next morning while doing our hair and make up we turned it on again and couldn't get a picture at all. There are two pools. The smaller one was full of debris. We went to the big pool. It has some debris from the trees but not much. We had to deal with a bunch of rowdy kids in the big pool or swim in the dirty, we chose the rowdy kids! We paid $175 and that was only because one girl had a military id. This place was NOT worth the money. Will not ever be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

First time staying here and the location was great. We stayed on the 12th floor and the view was fabulous! The front desk staff was courteous, not very personable but that's ok.

Our room was just ok. I was not pleased with the kitchen tools as the can opener was old, rusted and dirty. Was actually a little disgusted and didn't use it. It just didn't seem like they take any pride in cleanliness. The master bath had a toilet paper roll that was once wet and dried hard on the roll. Being so close to the toilet, it was hard not to imagine it fell in there and still just put back on the roll.

The Whiskey bar staff and the Hamburger stand workers were just rude. No customer service skills at all. Apparently they are not part of the hotel, just vendors but if I were the hotel I would have them abide by their standards. We just came back from Cancun so I guess they just set the bar high for pleasing the customer.

The pool and hot tub were filthy! I doubt the filters were working. The ocean water looked clearer than the hot tub. Disgusted!

Not sure I would really stay here again. Besides the location and view, I will probably opt to try something else next time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Baseballnut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked our handicap room 6 weeks in advance, called the week of our arrival to confirm handicap room. Arrived to be told there were no handicap rooms available. Front desk manager refused to help us get a room nearby. Was told he didn't work for other hotels, couldn't assist us. We drove 4 hrs for our birthday/romantic get away for nothing. Next day received a call from General Manager apologizing for the 'mix up' and received all kinds of guarantees, been 2+ weeks nothing....can't rate room, sleep quality or any other only service, it was horrible.

Room Tip: don't expect a ADA room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devine, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The resort location and proximity to the beach is what made the vacation. Facility in general is a little dated but very clean grounds and rooms. We stayed in a pool side double room that was typically what was expected for that room type. What wasn't expected was the adjustable air mattresses and the two full size beds vs. not having queen size. The adjustable air mattresses were very uncomfortable and almost impossible for two people to share, unless they are the exact same size, weight and never move. We all found ourselves to be unbalanced while laying down to rest or sleep. My guess to those that are traveling alone, it would not be much of an issue. The pool area was very nice and the walk to the beach was spectacular. Plenty of water sport activity options right on your beach, for an additional cost. We went out for all our meals, so no comment on food at the resort.

Room Tip: 1st level room seems a lot easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,556 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,491 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
486 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
619 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelClick, HRS, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island
Isla Grand Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing