We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a deal!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a deal!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We always go to S. Padre during off-season in late Sept. We have always returned to Isla Grand and before when it was the Radisson. The setting is idyllic and our vacation there, usually four nights, has always exceeded our expectations. The room is always impeccable and features sleep-number beds. The location is quiet and right on the beach (literally) with only a few steps necessary to get into the Gulf and the surf. Sunrise in the restaurant is never disappointing and combined with the food and excellent service, causes us to linger for quite a while. Check-in and check-out are always efficient and the desk staff is attentive and courteous and will try to satisfy specific room requests (yes we have our favorites) if at all possible. Considering the prices at other venues, Isla Grand is a real bargain featuring top-notch accommodations. We will return again next year.

Room Tip: Garden view facing south is the most quiet. Ground floor was great and had most recent remodeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    196
    121
    80
    81
See reviews for
331
202
11
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place was right on the beach. It had a great pool, tennis courts, and volley ball courts to have a great time. Housekeeping was also geat and cleaned the room very nice when we stayed there. However, the pool was a little dirty the 2nd day but soon they cleaned it up. It was a nice hotel on the beach. The bartender Rafeal was also very nice and attended our needs at the poolside bar. If you are expecting something like 5 start, this is not the place for you. Try looking some place diffeent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmy484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have been back two times since my last review. We still love this place. The food is great at the Windjammer along with the view of the beach. We enjoy dancing to the live music at the Quarterdeck. David Gracia makes our stay very relaxing. The entire staff are always very kind and helpful. Days are spent at the beach or pool area, and we always enjoy drinks and our visit with Rick and Rafael at the Whiskey Shak. This year our room had been remodeled and it was very nice. Its just a great place to relax and enjoy great food and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycoupletke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

OoThis was our second stay at this hotel. Last year we stayed in one of the cabana rooms and didn't really like it but we noticed that the tower rooms were much newer so we tried that out this year. Our room had two bedrooms, two restrooms, living room, full sized kitchen (with microwave, toaster, dishes, cookware), flat screen TV in the living room, and an incredible view of the beach. We were very happy with the room that we got but about 20 minutes after we arrived, we noticed that there were ants in one of the bedrooms and the hallway. We called the hotel staff and they quickly offered to move us to another room. This room was great as well but one of the toilets stopped working the first night we were there. The maintenance worker came in to fix it the next morning but told us that he would not be able to fix it quickly so were offered another room. The third room we got was amazing! It was much more spacious, very modern, clean, had flat screen TVs in each of the bedrooms, and the balcony wrapped around the side so we had a view of the bay as well as the ocean. THIS room was definitely worth the money that we paid. However, having to move twice was really irritating when we were supposed to be on vacation. Hotel staff should have been more aware of the ant problem in the first place. The pools are pretty nice. There was strong winds the day we arrived so there was debris in the pool but I saw staff cleaning the pool as soon as the wind died down. There is direct beach access from the hotel which is very nice. I would definitely recommend this place to others but would encourage you to ask hotel staff to inspect the room with you when you check in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Right on the beach, nice size room, good service, good food , great live music in the bar. Pool was not kept as clean as it should have been--we reported twice that the skimmer wasn't even turned on, but it was never corrected. Serious mosquito problem, but the resort can't be held responsible. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGigi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room stinks like a cheap hotel. Furniture broken and beat down like a crack house. Amenities, none! Why put a sink and kitchenette in the room with no coffee pot or a microwave. Waste! I can't think of one positive thing to say and I'm here for my 41st anniversary. Thought we were going somewhere nice.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koratx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just got back from a girls get-a-way to South Padre Island. We stayed at Isla Grand Beach Resort and it was perfect. Absolutely beautiful! We stayed in room 108 which was right across from the pool area, yet had an ocean view too. The room was roomy enough for three ladies and all of our stuff! There would have been room for 4 also, Let me tell you, the pool area was beautiful! We enjoyed many of hours out at the pool and by the beach. The beach access was extremely nice. The hotel keeps their beach area super clean! The hotel offered everything we could have asked for. Pool side bar, pool side grill (hamburgers were the best!), nice dining restaurant (everything we ate was good and the view is breath taking), pub that offered Monday night football with taco bar (which was very good) and live entertainment every night. The band that was playing while we were there was called Passion and they were great! Good dancing going on...
All the staff was wonderful! Everyone was nice and friendly and you could tell they enjoyed being there. We were all impressed by the security staff they had too, always felt secure and safe.
While we were there we checked out some other hotels and we found they either had small pool areas or they had a long haul to the beach.
I just cannot say enough good about this place. We will definitely be back and I highly recommend Isla Grand to anyone looking for that perfect place to stay, play, rest or eat.
Oh two things in regards to previous reviews. While we were there they were upgrading their internet access. Never had a problem, in our room, out by the pool or in the restaurants. The second thing they do not have coffee makers in the room. I took care of that by stopping by the dollar store and purchased one for $12.00 (problems solved!).
I am not adding any pictures because what you see on their website is exactly what you get and more.
Last thing.. I have always been a Texas Coast Snob! I have been going to Destin and the Panama City beaches for 40+ years! SPI beaches were beautiful, I was pleasantly surprised and because it is quick trip from Dallas, I will be back and the only place I will be staying is here!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 108. Great location to pool, beach and hotel lobby, restaurants etc. Great View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChaChaSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island
Isla Grand Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing