We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean Good Location Nice Beach Access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Very Clean Good Location Nice Beach Access”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went for a weekend getaway with friends and I have no complaints just good compliments. I stayed in a cabana with garden and pool view which the view during the day and night was great. The room was very clean. Service is very prompt and helpful. Pool area is kept clean and the bar is conveniently located by the pool. Beach access is good as well as access to restaurants and banks. Rates are fair. My stay was very enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel to family and friends. I will stay again. Thanks Isla Grand.

Room Tip: Cabanas with beach view or garden/pool view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moses C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    207
    127
    86
    88
See reviews for
345
215
11
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice location right on the beach but this hotel needs more TLC. Rooms are old, with pillows and decor from the last century. Beds were hard and bedspreads of the old type, no white look as is currently the norm. Bathroom mirrors were tarnished and bathtub worn out.

The AC unit was so loud that we had to turn it off to sleep.

Room Tip: We had a "cabana room". Try to get one on the second floor as close to the sea as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonK1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Visited here for 5 nights in September 2013 on a girls getaway trip to South Padre Island. We stayed at Isla Grand Beach Resort and it was absolutely beautiful! We stayed in a cabana right across from the pools, yet we could see the ocean as well. The room was roomy enough for all of us and all of our stuff! The pool area was beautiful, even though they were doing some construction and working on the waterfall for one of the pools (my favorite), it didn't really bother us and we spent so many of hours out there and by the beach. The beach access was extremely nice. The hotel keeps their beach area super clean! The hotel offered everything we could have asked for. Pool side bar was open later in the afternoon but had some great drinks and was nice to have so close. The pool side grill hamburgers were great but it was only open on the weekend so we only were able to eat there once! The restaurant was reasonable and had good food! The Quarterdeck Sports Bar was where we enjoyed ourselves the most as they offered Monday night football with taco bar (which was very good) and live entertainment Tuesday thru Sunday nights. The band that was playing while we were there was called Passion and they were great! We danced and made friends, having a great time! They even had "hermit" crab races which were hilarious and fun! (Two of us won a race; Isla Grand bucks to spend!)

All the staff was wonderful! Everyone was nice and friendly and you could tell they enjoyed being there. We were all impressed by the security staff they had too, always felt secure and safe.
While we were there we checked out some other hotels and we found they either had small pool areas or they had a long haul to the beach plus the vegetation and seaweed going on in front of the other hotels was NOT evident at the Isla Grand! While we were there they were upgrading their internet access. Never had a problem, in our room, out by the pool or in the restaurants.

We will definitely be back and I highly recommend Isla Grand to anyone looking for that perfect place to stay, play, rest or eat. SPI beaches were beautiful, I was pleasantly surprised and because it is quick trip from Dallas, I will be back and the only place I will be staying is here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniluvsdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Our room was on the beach. Amazing views of ocean. The beach sand was clean. Best hotel beach. Great workout room. Did not eat in the restaurant. Too many great restaurants to choose from. Just amazing time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob and Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We always go to S. Padre during off-season in late Sept. We have always returned to Isla Grand and before when it was the Radisson. The setting is idyllic and our vacation there, usually four nights, has always exceeded our expectations. The room is always impeccable and features sleep-number beds. The location is quiet and right on the beach (literally) with only a few steps necessary to get into the Gulf and the surf. Sunrise in the restaurant is never disappointing and combined with the food and excellent service, causes us to linger for quite a while. Check-in and check-out are always efficient and the desk staff is attentive and courteous and will try to satisfy specific room requests (yes we have our favorites) if at all possible. Considering the prices at other venues, Isla Grand is a real bargain featuring top-notch accommodations. We will return again next year.

Room Tip: Garden view facing south is the most quiet. Ground floor was great and had most recent remodeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place was right on the beach. It had a great pool, tennis courts, and volley ball courts to have a great time. Housekeeping was also geat and cleaned the room very nice when we stayed there. However, the pool was a little dirty the 2nd day but soon they cleaned it up. It was a nice hotel on the beach. The bartender Rafeal was also very nice and attended our needs at the poolside bar. If you are expecting something like 5 start, this is not the place for you. Try looking some place diffeent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmy484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have been back two times since my last review. We still love this place. The food is great at the Windjammer along with the view of the beach. We enjoy dancing to the live music at the Quarterdeck. David Gracia makes our stay very relaxing. The entire staff are always very kind and helpful. Days are spent at the beach or pool area, and we always enjoy drinks and our visit with Rick and Rafael at the Whiskey Shak. This year our room had been remodeled and it was very nice. Its just a great place to relax and enjoy great food and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycoupletke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,506 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
640 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island
Isla Grand Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing