We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUBSAN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“RUBSAN”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

i Stayed at the Isla Grande at South Padre Island and was not very impressed. The only thing that was nice was the view of the ocean. No hot water in our room. No bulbs in lamps in rooms but in one lamp Called maintence a few times and still no one came to replace, bed was real hard , I also did not like the idea that we would go outside as soon as you would step out of our room.,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We sincerely apologize about all the issues during your stay. We can assure you we take all these issues very seriously and they will all be addressed with the appropriate department heads. We really hope you will give us another opportunity to prove ourselves as the top resort in South Texas. We appreciate that you took the time out of your day to give is this valuable feedback on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    207
    127
    86
    88
See reviews for
345
215
11
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 5 days in December. We found the room to smell musty and was dated. The Select Comfort bed did not work. It was completely flat on one side. The ice maker did not work (nor did the ones in the vending area). The TV reception was intermittent at best. The beach outside the property was full of crushed beer cans and even some broken glass! For the most part the staff was indifferent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KOLDMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We sincerely apologize about your experience us during your stay. We have been working hard to improve our property. During the time of your stay we were actually in the middle of upgrading our internet and Satellite services. We have also addressed all the other issues with the appropriate departments. Hope fully you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future. We really appreciate you taking time out of your to this most valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We just got back from staying a week in one of the condo units in the tower at the Isla Grand. We had a great time and we will probably go back, but there were issues. Here is a list of the good and not so good.

The Good

The grounds are the best on the island. The pools are beautiful. The smaller pool is heated during the winter and it is about as big as the main pool at most of the hotels on the island.

The location is just right over the causeway so it is very convenient to go to Port Isabel to HEB or Walmart.

The staff was very friendly. The maids and front staff always had a smile.

The staff that kept up the grounds were always working. They started first thing in the morning and kept improving things all day.

Our condo was pretty good. The space was big enough and the kitchen was well stocked. The TV in the second bedroom didn't work though, and the main TV went out quite a bit.


The Not So Good

The gym SUCKS!
I saw this on an earlier post but I didn't really believe it. It is really bad. The hotel is very large and there were only 2 treadmills, and one didn't work. You also have to walk outside a ways to get there, which is a problem in bad weather. This could be a deal breaker in our decision to return. The gym in The Pearl is so much better. Working out for me is a must on vacation. If the weather had been warmer I would have just gone running, but the rain and cold meant the gym was the only option. And the gym was also dirty. Cleaning it and stocking it with towels seemed to be an afterthought.

There is only one coin operated washing machine and dryer on every third floor. The hotel was only about 10% full while we were there, but I can just imagine the crowds during the summer. Condo vacations for me usually mean easy access to a washing machine and dryer. For the winter it was fine, for the summer probably not. The area was also pretty dirty.

The ice machine on our floor didn't work. We had to go 3 floors down to get ice.

The common spaces in the hotel need a serious update. I have been going to Padre for years and the common spaces in the Isla Grand still look the same as they did many years ago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank houston1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We sincerely apologize that we were unable to fully satisfy you during your stay with us. We are glad to see there are more positives than negatives. However we want to be your place of choice when coming to South Padre Island. We are taking all your negative comments and we will address them with the appropriate department heads. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you very much for this valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was my fourth time to stay here but first time in a condo. There was 11 of us in 2 condo's. The service was great, rooms clean and comfortable. Price was excellent. Checked in in less than 15 minutes, breakfast was wonderful. The pull out sofa mattress left a little to be desired but overall an excellent place to stay for the price. The view was absolutely perfect even in the dead of winter.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, General Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are even happier to hear you will be coming back in the future. We continue to work hard to improve our property and services. We have made so many improvements since your last stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back in our resort in the near future. Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to provide us with this valuable information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Great, clean hotel, happily situated, clean beachfront and excellent restaurant. Friendly staff, helped me with our bicycles that we brought along. Our suite is very spacious and comfortable, with kitchen and all what is needed, everything very clean. We'll def come back again! Thank you from a German family!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We arrived in the early afternoon and were promptly checked in. Although our reservation had only a room with 2 double beds (the only room configuration available at booking), we were given a room with a king bed with handicapped access (another request during booking, but unavailable).

Our room was facing the tennis courts near the beach, and parking was just around the corner from the room. The room was spacious and uncarpeted, which was, in my opinion, a bonus. The shower was a walk or roll in, wide and had fantastic water pressure. The king sized bed was Sleep Number bed, something we did not expect, but were pleased to have, as we have a Sleep Number bed at home. It worked perfectly and we slept quite well. The free wifi was great and we had no problems with internet access anywhere on the property. The flat screen TV was new and we had a good selection of stations to watch.

I was there for a conference, while my husband spent the days relaxing near the pool or on the beach. The conference rooms were comfortable, but, as most conference venues, the rooms are usually cold. I always bring a jacket and have no problems.

We had a couple of issues when we first arrived. (1) The flat screen TV was showing everything in shades of pink. My husband called the Front Desk and a maintenance man was at our room in about 5 minutes. He was able to re-set the TV and we had no further problems. (2) The first morning, after I left for the conference, my husband was watching TV and heard water dripping in the shower. He went to investigate and found water dripping from the light fixture above the shower stall. He called the Front Desk and maintenance men came within a few minutes, looked at our shower, then went upstairs. The water stopped and there were no further issues with water leaks. In both instances, the staff were prompt, courteous, and, most importantly, fixed the problems.

This is my second stay on SPI, and I have loved both my stays at the Isla Grand Resort. I can think of no other place I would rather stay when visiting South Padre Island.

Thank you, Isla Grand!!!

Room Tip: Cabana rooms or pool view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I recently spent one night at the Isla Grand Beach; this was my first trip to South Padre Island.The location is excellent. I found the rooms to be lacking: primitive tub/shower, no coffee maker and unavailability of coffee before 6:30 AM, and very inadequate "fitness center." The fitness center had a few pieces of equipment, all of which were outdated. While probably acceptable to a vacationer, it was not acceptable to a business traveler.

Room Tip: Get a cabana room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,572 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and TravelClick so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island
Isla Grand Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing