We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Alamo, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent one night here and it was more than enough for me...sounded wonderful to have a sleep number bed, but when it won't hold air and you're sleeping in a "hole" all night, it doesn't cut it. There was no way to make coffee in the room, so when we tried, and tried, and tried to call room service and got no answer, we tried the front desk, who transferred us to someone who said we needed to call the front desk. We were more than a bit disillusioned by our stay. On the other hand, we've stayed at another hotel chain (Staybridge) during our trip, paying roughly the same amount, and have been super impressed. This resort could learn some lessons from them. The last straw was when we checked out and we let them know how disappointed we were and their response was a blank stare, sort of like maybe they were thinking "And your point is???" Needless to say, we will not be returning here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERNEST M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ernest M, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to learn your sleep number bed malfunctioned. It could’ve been easily repaired had it been brought it to our attention. We offer complimentary coffee, “To Go” for our guests at our Windjammer’s restaurant. Thank you for staying with us at the Isla Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    198
    123
    84
    83
See reviews for
336
206
11
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We love to stay at this hotel and on this island. The tropical grounds are immaculate. The hotel itself is not ultra modern, but management does a good job. The pool has a very friendly feel and the staff keeps everything and everyone safe. Excellent beach front location. We enjoy long walks up and down the clean island beach.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie_Czerniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Jackie_Czerniak, Thank you for your kind words. It’s wonderful to hear that you loved your stay. We work hard to maintain our rooms and grounds due to our harsh environment. It’s nice to know you appreciate it. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed walking along our clean beach and found our staff very friendly. Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland Springs, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great place to stay but since we had never been to the beach we did not know certain laws. Well we got a $500 ticket because this resort failed to post any rules. Other hotels we visited had huge posted signs about beach rules. The manager basically told me sorry for my bad luck and did not even apologize for his failure to post signs with regulations. Also this hotel would be in trouble with OSHA. This was my daughters graduation trip. She was just certified and found multiple violations. I suggest being an expert on rules or staying somewhere else. Also you are not allowed to bring your own drinks into the pool area. They have security for that and sign posted for that as well. This place put a big damper on our celebration.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebethchambers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ebethchambers85, Thank you for your review. I do apologize that you were cited for having glass bottles on the public beach by the Park Rangers. I’m sorry the citation placed a damper on your celebration. You are correct regarding drinks not being allowed in the pool area as per TABC regulation. We are TABC licensed premise. Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation. Thank you for staying with us and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We loved everything about our stay, including accommodations, restaurant food and service, the view, the pools, and hospitality of the staff.

We plan to return every year to celebrate our marriage every year, same time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank seyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear seyk, Thank you for your review. It is our goal to deliver a great experience thru our amenities and our staff. I’m glad you loved your stay with us at the Isla Grand. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I love isla grand its an awesome place to stay. Awesome access to the beach and the best management in town! The bar and restaurant are the best! Live band and excellent service in both. Rooms are confortable and clean, what else could i ask for. I really enjoyed this experience and would love to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrylov3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear adrylov3, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so glad you loved your stay at the Isla Grand. It is a great place to stay. It’s a great place to work as well. I’m pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. It’s great to know you enjoyed the Windjammer restaurant and Quarterdeck bar with the free live band. On behalf of the management team and staff, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recommend this place because you are close to the beach and the place is so clean. You have a bar on the 2nd floor "The Quarter Deck" live band every night. You can't beat that. Shops are also located in the lobby area. There is also a cafe in the lobby. You can also have a party in one of there ball rooms. The rooms are so comfortable and cozy. It is a must stay place and then you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4zunigafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear 4zunigafam, Thank you for your review and for recommending the Isla Grand. I’m glad you enjoyed our clean beach and the live band at the Quarterdeck. We are constantly renovating our rooms. I’m glad you found them comfortable and cozy. I hope to see soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

No hot water. No water pressure. For a rate of over 200 per night, it seems that the water would work.
Plus, you can't pet the parrot anymore, that's probably the most disappointing thing.
Not a bad experience overall, but the hotel had some previous glory. They shouldn't let it go Dow like that

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JacobBynum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear JacobBynum, Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the lack of water pressure on Friday. That was a municipal issue that affected most of the island. We are in the process of relocating Rad & General our Catalina Macaws. Their new home will be in a more natural setting. I hope you had a relaxing and pleasant stay regardless of the items you mentioned above. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Property: Isla Grand Beach Resort
Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island
Isla Grand Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing