We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, okay accomodations, NO wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We rented a two bedroom condo in the tower the week after July 4th. View is great, beach is clean. Condo was expensive and not very clean. Carpets in bedrooms gross, housekeeping not great. Basically made beds and sprayed Lysol. Biggest complaint was no Wi-Fi in room the entire stay (four nights). We complained several times to front desk and they acted like it was the first they'd heard of it each time. Said they would call the tech. My husband had to work a few mornings while we were there and had to go sit down in the lobby to get a signal. Complained heavily at checkout and was told the manager would call. Never got a call, no one took anything off our bill. Considering we had to pay $30 per day for two chairs on the beach with an umbrella, I think we had the right to expect Wi-Fi when it was supposed to be included in a very high priced rate.
On a positive, Pool Bar had a great staff. Very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmilyWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear EmilyWK, Thank you for your review. I apologize for the issues with your room and that you were not able to connect to our free wi-fi network. We have multiple wireless routers thru out our resort. The Isla Grand Beach Resort does not own or operate the beach rental service. Thank you for staying with us. I hope you enjoyed the pools, free live music, and other amenities. I’m glad you had a nice time at the pool side bar with our great staff. I hope you come back and visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I have been going to Mexico for this type of escape for many years, we thought we would try and find a place closer to our Texas home. We were disappointed on so many fronts that it is hard to list them all. The facilities are tired, run down and falling apart. The pools were dirty and most guest were ignoring the pool rules. There was no one enforce the rules so kids were running and diving at will. On two morning my wife and I removed the empty drink glasses from the pool. The beach was fair however the chairs and umbrellas for rent at $60.00 per day were horrible. They are in dire need of replacement. It is sad that we have to leave the country to stay in a first class facility.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Isla Grand is a beautiful hotel that is clean, modern, and up-to-date. It has a wonderful beach front, 2 pools, and fun opportunities to enjoy water sports. We loved the restaurants and music groups playing there as well. The staff was helpful and friendly and our rooms were always clean. We enjoyed the fireworks each evening over the Laguna Madre, too. I'm sure you will have a fabulous vacation if you stay at Isla Grand on South Padre Island.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the main tower and on the ground level. I like the ground level rooms for easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Madeline K, Thank you for your review and your kind words. It’s great to hear you found our hotel beautiful, modern, up-to-date and clean. Our newly renovated pools are a major attraction. Thank you for mentioning our helpful and friendly staff. I’m glad you enjoyed the fireworks display over the bay and that you had a fabulous vacation. I look forward to your next stay with us at the Isla Grand Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was disappointed in the too-bad-so-sad mentality of the desk personnel. Checking in was met with confusion and contradictory info. No atonement was ever offered. Upon checking out, I reported to the desk several malfunctions in the condo. (The ice maker in the frig of the high priced condo didn't work. Reply: "well, we have an ice machine on the 3rd floor.")

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitzmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Bizmar, I apologize for any delay at check-in and any inconvenience you experienced. The 2 bedroom condos are privately owned and not all refrigerators have built-in ice makers. We do provide ice dispensers, laundry, and vending machines on the 3rd, 5th, 8th, 10th, & 12th floors of the tower. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us at the Isla Grand Beach Resort. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Grew up on S. Padre. Was excited to go back. Isla Grand made me feel like I was right back home again. Went with my wife and four kids. We all agree that the pools were excellent, staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were top notch. I would recommend Isla Grand as the ONLY choice if you're heading to Padre.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdparker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islagrand, Front Office Manager at Isla Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear sdparker03, Thank you for your kind review. I’m so glad you and your family felt right at home at the Isla Grand. I’m pleased to hear you were also able to enjoy our excellent pools, extremely helpful staff & top notch rooms. Thank you for choosing us and for recommending the Isla Grand Beach Resosrt. I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I just net Raphael. I have been around the world to snow if the best hotels and resorts in Europe but Raphael at the isla grade is the most amazing person I have ever met. He was sweet, conversational, and intelligent all at the same time!! He tends bar in the beautiful waterfall and wave pool setting that they have am designed to give the experience of the beach without the sand!! If is an oasis in the midst of a desert. While breakers offers many pool experiences the isla grande offers the beauty with convenience please visit here and tell Raphael that you 'heard it through the grape vine! He will definitely help to make your day a better fat wether it is with his smile, whit, Ir drinks. ☺️☺️☺️☺️☺️ Is how I feel once I left here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Isla Grand Beach Resort is a wonderful gem located on South Padre Island, Texas. The views from this resort are incredible. The people there are friendly and helpful. They know how to make a vacation special,unique and restful. It is nice to find a resort like this to take a few days off or even a week. Plus the Isla Grand Beach Resort is in a great location on the Island. One of the best kept secrets about South Padre Island is the fall season on the Island. The water is still warm and the beaches are so pretty. I like the seafood at the Isla Grand Beach Resort restaurant too.

Room Tip: Just ask the desk to help you out. They are always willing to give suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAMELA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,604 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,326 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
209 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Grand Beach Resort

Address: 500 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £80 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isla Grand Beach Resort is the premier resort along the Texas Gulf Coast. Located right on the beach, in the southern portion of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort is easy to find and conveniently located near all of South Padre's top attractions. This beachfront resort has great onsite amenities such as two swimming pools, hot tubs, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, restaurants, a nightclub, gift shop, coffee shop, activities and more. With such a prime location in the heart of South Padre Island, the Isla Grand Beach Resort offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting resort atmosphere and top-notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Be sure to ask about our special offers and package deals! From the Grand Bed & Breakfast to the Hole in One Golf package, you're sure to find one that fits your needs and budget. We're the perfect choice for your next business conference featuring 10,000 square feet of conference space. Excitement is never far at Isla Grand Beach Resort. The nearby nightclub has liver entertainment every day of the year featuring bands and musical guests from all over the United States. Whether it's business or pleasure, we're sure that you'll find what you're looking for when staying at our beautiful beach front resort. It's like a tropical getaway that's not too far from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Isla Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Grand Beach Hotel South Padre Island
Hotel Isla Grand Beach
Radisson South Padre Island
Isla Grand Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing