We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royale Beach and Tennis Club
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the Royale. My brother and sister-in-law came down for 4 days. Rooms are dated, but clean. Could use a little work. Parking was terrible. Only one vehicle per reservation. Pools and grounds were clean and well kept. I will consider this as a future destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Royale Beach and Tennis Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

An absolute disaster. Booked a room via Interval Exchange for a week. Left after staying 1 day. Had an effeciency room in the hotel. 1st room we had to move from, when we tried to use the hide a bed it was completely broken and could not be slept on by my daughter. The next room they moved us to, the toilet did not work. Overflowed all over the bathroom. The 3rd room they moved us to we finally got to spend the night. The bathroom had globs of hair in the corners of the floor and wall...at least the bed and toilet worked. When we got up in the morning, there were several roaches crawling on the wall. The entire place was overrun with "locals" from Brownsivlle and Mexico, and they were loud and ignorant. That was it, we left and will never return. The worst experience I have ever had at a "resort". The place is a pit.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MJBxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Building is old, but functional and very well located. The beach location is also good.

Room Tip: Don't get a studio (room for 3), those are located in the west side, you don't get any view...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmggdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed three days at this property. The property was built in the 80's as the decor reflects. However, the construction (in those days) provides the sound barrier between rooms for privacy. Security was fine. The staff was always cordial. We found the outside bar staff at the kiosk, Karen and Kelly, to be quite friendly and locals for a long time. It was a pleasant stay although on business. The value was great for the time that we spent there.
A security entrance into the property is a plus.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Royale section have a better view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-Norma2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Royale Beach and Tennis Club is a resort located in an ideal location.... Has 3 swimming pools which are spacious in size and pretty clean, a shuffleboard and 4 tennis courts. Beach access is right behind pools. Great view and location. However, appliances are old and some of the walls, closets, and doors are chipped, broke and kind of ghetto looking. Only one elevator worked and is very slow. Overall value was pretty good though.

Room Tip: Rooms with 6-8 occupant space need major upgrading/updating. Recommend 6 and under guests suites whi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

An older property but it is well maintained. The one bedroom units are large and spacious. Our only complaint is the extra charges to get fresh towels and supplies between housekeeping scheduled days.
You also need to provide your own beach/pool towels as these are not provided.
Overall a great property with excellent tennis and pool facilities in a great location by the beach!

Room Tip: Best accomodation is the one bedroom unit as a minimum.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShepVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I'm just now getting around to adding a review of this hotel. We stayed back in September (2011). It was after school started so the island was at its BEST - deserted! I had read the reviews of this hotel long before we stayed and I had primed myself for a dismal stay. Overall though we had a great time. Yes the rooms are VERY outdated. The air conditioner clanged all night long and when we opened the unit door to see if was something we could fix - it was completely covered in rust - quickly closed the door and requested another room - which the front desk did for us very quickly. The kitchen was old (even in the 2nd room) and it seemed things were hanging on by a prayer. But this is south padre and having grown up there I know what these units go through with spring breakers. It is a prime location with easy access to the beach and the pools were very nice. Not the best place I have stayed at by far but not the worst either.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr40210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites at Sunchase
Suites at Sunchase
#19 of 32 in South Padre Island
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Isla Grand Beach Resort
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
962 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
#4 of 35 in South Padre Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 400 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6617
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range: £111 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royale Beach and Tennis Club 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royale Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Beach And Tennis Club Hotel South Padre Island
Royale Beach And Tennis Club South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing