We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pearl South Padre
Nearby Hotels
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Beach(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beachside Inn(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$195
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Grand Beach Resort(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveller rating
558
436
323
206
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
436
323
206
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barpool areaoff seasonhotel restaurantbedroom condohot tubgreat poolbeach accessocean viewmercedesvaletislandpadresheratonbellmanspisapphire
Filter
Updating list...
1,115 - 1,120 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our party checked in late Friday night and immediately went to the pool area. Saturday we woke up early and spent the entire day on the beach and out the pools the hotel has to offer. Saturday evening after an exhausting day I noticed blood streaks on our sheets. Disgusting! We assumed it was likely a stain and called for new sheets. Sunday morning we woke up and I noticed blood streaks again! After further investigation it was bed bugs!

The hotel staff was prompt in coming up to assess the situation. You could actually see the bugs crawling on the bed. The manager gave us trash bags for clothes because apparently everything had to dried on hot temperatures to kill the bugs. So I had to drag trash bags of dirty clothes and trash bags of still "clean" to separate floors to dry them. (Which isn't what we came on vacation to do).

They did comp our Sunday brunch expense for our party and move us to another room.

Overall, the staff was understanding about the situation except they apparently called in eco lab to confirm and tell them how to handle it. My husband had brought a carry on suitcase that could not be dried and I had asked for them to call me because I wanted to see how eco lab tested the bag, but apparently instead it was tested and sprayed with chemicals then I was notified.

When we return home we have to immediately wash all our belongings then bleach our washer.

Not something you look forward to. Especially during a vacation.

I've stayed in my share of cheap "we just need a place to sleep hotels", but certainly didn't expect it to have bed bugs at what appears to be a reputable hotel with significant nightly rates.

Our souvenir from SPI, my husband's bit up body from the bugs attacking him all night!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to give you complimentary brunch and discounted rate. We take all comments seriously and we will make improvements so that this is no longer an issue. Thank you for staying with us, we hope that you give us the chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to South Padre Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I loved this hotel and how comfortable it was. The heated area by the swim-up bar was really nice. The suite was great and very clean. Great location, and the view was great! It was a great balcony but there was only one chair, we called to ask for another and waited the whole trip, when we finally called back the girl at the front desk said that if it had not been delivered they were out of extras. My biggest issue was being awakened by loud hammering and drilling that shook the bed. It is rare that I get to sleep in and being on vacation, I really wanted to sleep in a bit late, but was startled at 8:30. I called the front desk and they said they would call the engineers and see what was going on. The noise, and shaking did not stop. I couldn't even stay inside the room due to the noise!!!! Very rude awakening unfortunately, not a good way to start a day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFSUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our swim up bar, location, and comfort here ate Pearl South Padre. We apologize that you were missing a balcony chair on your balcony and that you were awaken by work being done. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you are going to expect resort style living don't waste your time its a normal hotel, with a spa next door, way overpriced, with nothing included. No shells on the beach the bull doze it daily, doing construction on the property so they had the kiddie pool blocked off, in the hot tub swim up bar beware of broken tile on the seats you will cut your hiney on those if not careful. They had a lot of teenage school groups there so not for the older generation to go if you want a nice peaceful time alone. make sure if you do go you specify view for your room or they will stick you in a room overlooking a big pile of dirt. with no view. The beds are really lumpy and woke up with backaches every morning, so take your asprin you will need it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope we remain your hotel of choice on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Peal is a great place on the island. Loved the balcony and view of the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The group I was with had a hospitality suite that was gorgeous. I only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the view from your balcony and the hospitality suite. We are please that our staff helped make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for staying with us here at Pearl South Padre, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed at the Pearl in South Padre Island a couple of times.
We get the ocean front view suit. The view of the gulf is unobstructed.
That is the best feature of the hotel, it is at the front line.
Another great feature is the Sunday brunch. It is really good. There is a great variety of food. Of course they make you omelets to your taste. There is a desert station where they can make also wonderful desserts.
The employees are very nice and attentive to the customers.
Now the minuses: The building is getting old. There are chunks of concrete missing all over the building. The basic structure appears solid, but the building seems to start falling apart. The décor of the rooms has not been updated since the Hilton sold it. The hallways do not seem to be vacuumed.
The place is on the expensive side, but it feels like a cheap, old, poorly maintained hotel

Room Tip: The south side offers a view of the swimming pool area. The Gulf unobstructed view suites are spacious and the view of the ocean is great, but at a price
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view here at Pearl South Padre and our Signature Sunday Brunch in our restaurant. At the moment, we are undergoing the reconstruction of our balconies and unfortunately this process is not pretty. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and we are positive you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope we remain you choice hotel on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews