We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel on the Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel on the Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My hubby and I stayed at this hotel TWICE because it was so nice the first time! Try to get a suite, it overlooks both ends of the ocean. I believe that all the rooms come with a view though. THE SUNDAY BUNCH IS THE BEST!!! But make your reservations or you will have to wait long. The Staff was nice too!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the most view. The suites are like apartments!! very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATRICIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed the view and our Signature Sunday Brunch here at Pearl South Padre. Thank you for staying with us, we hope we remain your hotel of choice on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    402
    296
    185
    130
See reviews for
560
507
33
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

From check-in to check-out our stay was very pleasurable. We had a relaxing time around the beautiful pool area. Quick access to the beach allowed us a nice walk on the beach and romp in the surf. The room was very clean and the view from the balcony was amazing. Overall I would recommend the Pearl for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are ecstatic to know your stay was enjoyable and relaxing and you would recommend us.Thank you for staying with us here at Pearl south Padre, we look forward to your return on your next visit to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The photographs on the website do NOT accurately reflect the quality of the room. It was very old & out dated. I would not recommend this venue to anyone. Paying about $500 per night was NOT at all what I was expecting & was extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank 744rubyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you give us the chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

mcallen, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great service and great food at the hotel restruant. The Friday evening seafood buffet was excellent the rooms are somewhat small but the view from the balcony was fantastic. Somewhat pricey for an older hotel, but we had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank J.p. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to know you received great service and enjoyed the view during your stay here at Pearl South Padre. We are thrilled to hear you found our Friday Night Seafood Buffet excellent. thank you for staying with us, we hope we remain your choice hotel on your next visit to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas Ctiy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a great hotel - the staff is awesome ! When I apologized to a maintenance man because my 10 year old daughter was dripping water and sand in the elevator from her beach toy, he replied "don't apologize - you're our guest !!" and he MEANT it ! It is one of the closest hotels to the beach - no long walks over boardwalks - it is perfect for families !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our service here at Pearl South Padre was everything it should be. We are proud to have staff who take pride in serving our guests, making your stay more comfortable. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation or getaway to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our party checked in late Friday night and immediately went to the pool area. Saturday we woke up early and spent the entire day on the beach and out the pools the hotel has to offer. Saturday evening after an exhausting day I noticed blood streaks on our sheets. Disgusting! We assumed it was likely a stain and called for new sheets. Sunday morning we woke up and I noticed blood streaks again! After further investigation it was bed bugs!

The hotel staff was prompt in coming up to assess the situation. You could actually see the bugs crawling on the bed. The manager gave us trash bags for clothes because apparently everything had to dried on hot temperatures to kill the bugs. So I had to drag trash bags of dirty clothes and trash bags of still "clean" to separate floors to dry them. (Which isn't what we came on vacation to do).

They did comp our Sunday brunch expense for our party and move us to another room.

Overall, the staff was understanding about the situation except they apparently called in eco lab to confirm and tell them how to handle it. My husband had brought a carry on suitcase that could not be dried and I had asked for them to call me because I wanted to see how eco lab tested the bag, but apparently instead it was tested and sprayed with chemicals then I was notified.

When we return home we have to immediately wash all our belongings then bleach our washer.

Not something you look forward to. Especially during a vacation.

I've stayed in my share of cheap "we just need a place to sleep hotels", but certainly didn't expect it to have bed bugs at what appears to be a reputable hotel with significant nightly rates.

Our souvenir from SPI, my husband's bit up body from the bugs attacking him all night!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused during your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to give you complimentary brunch and discounted rate. We take all comments seriously and we will make improvements so that this is no longer an issue. Thank you for staying with us, we hope that you give us the chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I loved this hotel and how comfortable it was. The heated area by the swim-up bar was really nice. The suite was great and very clean. Great location, and the view was great! It was a great balcony but there was only one chair, we called to ask for another and waited the whole trip, when we finally called back the girl at the front desk said that if it had not been delivered they were out of extras. My biggest issue was being awakened by loud hammering and drilling that shook the bed. It is rare that I get to sleep in and being on vacation, I really wanted to sleep in a bit late, but was startled at 8:30. I called the front desk and they said they would call the engineers and see what was going on. The noise, and shaking did not stop. I couldn't even stay inside the room due to the noise!!!! Very rude awakening unfortunately, not a good way to start a day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFSUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our swim up bar, location, and comfort here ate Pearl South Padre. We apologize that you were missing a balcony chair on your balcony and that you were awaken by work being done. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Property: Pearl South Padre
Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island
Pearl South Padre South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing