We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Beach Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
Austin, United States
1 review
“Nice Beach Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel has great beach views and bayside views. The most friendly staff I have ever seen. Only Downside is price does not match what the hotel accommodations are. The hotel needs to be completed in renovations before the price is justified at $400+ a night. I would stay again at this hotel anytime and recommend it for $150.00 a night. A price that is worth the construction and older nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will consider another visit with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    398
    292
    182
    129
See reviews for
556
499
33
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel is in a good location but the property itself is in serious need of updating. Room rates are very high considering the quality and overall appearance. This is not a large hotel but waits for the elevator were exceptionally high. One of the elevators was down and it did not appears that any work was being to fix it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eugene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are undergoing some balcony renovations, new carpeting in the hallways, and receiving new furnishings for the rooms, we do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope we remain your hotel of choice on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel served its purpose and beach access, the main attraction of the hotel, was extremely convenient. But given the cost of a night's stay I expected a higher quality "fit and finish." The hotel staff, however, was incredibly professional and always very pleasant to interact with. The staff met expectations relative to the cost of the stay, but the building itself appears to be ready for demolition.

I realize that being that close to a large body of saltwater is going to be very hard on a building, but I don't expect to see concrete that crumbles at the touch with large sections of exposed rusty re-bar that make me wonder about the overall structural integrity of the building. I was amused at the sign on the room's balcony railing that advised guests not to lean on the railing. From the beach looking up towards the hotel the reason is pretty clear: Large sections of concrete on the leading edge of the balconies (where the railing posts attach!) have disintegrated to the point where rust from the re-bar has colored the damaged sections of concrete brown. This problem is readily visible from hundreds of feet away... why aren't more people disturbed by this and why hasn't the building been taken care of?

Less troubling from a structural integrity perspective was the condition of the room itself. The walls were stained and the bathroom tile had reached the end of its maintainable life. The air conditioning unit was relatively new, however, and worked very well. The beds were comfortable.

The rates being charged should support much better maintenance of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are undergoing some balcony renovations, new carpeting in the hallways, and receiving new furnishings for the rooms, we do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope we remain your hotel of choice on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We loved our stay at Pearl South Padre. We wanted a hotel with access to the beach and pet friendly. Our daughter who is in the Airforce brought her dogs so that they could have their first experience at the beach and your hotel was excellent in meeting our expectations. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 453lucym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your return on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Caney, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I decided to take a trip last minute. We decided on South Padre Island for the weekend. When we arrived at the hotel the staff was super friendly, greeted us as if we had been there many times before. Check in was seamless!
When we opened the door to our room I was disappointed! Reminded me of a college dorm room. Not very clean, floors were nasty and the bathroom tub was dirty. I won't say what we paid, I will let you figure that out on your own but for the money paid it was not worth it!
The beach on the other hand was a great experience, rented chairs and an umbrella for the day to just hang out on the beach. Location was good on the beach, close to the restrooms and the hotel. View was beautiful!
Overall rating of 5 out of 10

Room Tip: WiFi signal was very weak
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize regarding the cleanliness in your room. We take all comments seriously and we will make improvements so that this is no longer an issue. Thank you for staying with us, we hope that you keep us as your choice hotel and we sincerely hope you will consider another visit with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have stayed here for over 20 years, and love it. The staff have worked there for a very long time and love what they do! Great location and rooms. Swim up bar with Tony serving cold drinks is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our service here at Pearl South Padre was everything it should be. We are proud to have staff who take pride in serving our guests to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your return on your next visit to SPI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

nice and friendly staff but way over priced for the size of the rooms. No balcony, very crowded. kind of dirty in the hallways. Had to kill a roach in our room. Paid for upgrade to room. Not worth it. public beach access so all of city parks in hotel parking area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will consider another visit with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Property: Pearl South Padre
Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island
Pearl South Padre South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing