We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Complete disappointment!”
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
Reviewed 28 July 2014

There are millions of dollars of deferred maintenance needed on the building. There is mold everywhere, broken tiles, poorly patched ceilings where there was water damage, broken light fixtures, terrible smell, rusty plumbing, broken elevator, etc. The hotel does not provide chairs at the beach unless you want to pay extra, and even then, you cannot use them after 6:00. They have towels available to use, except you can't take them out to the beach. We ordered a chicken sandwich in the restaurant and it was unquestionably a frozen and microwaved piece of chicken. We stay at hotels 4 or 5 times a year and this one was one of the most disappointing ever. So much potential, but falls VERY short of the expectation. We will NOT ever go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimInTheATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. We do provide pool towels but unfortunately cannot provide beach towels because the sand can ruin our washers.Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will consider another visit with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We chose this facility because we were attending a wedding in the hotel. We booked a two night stay at the wedding rate of $259/night (!). We were expecting something much nicer for the money. It's a beach hotel...and only a hotel because of the amenities on the property (room service, spa, poolside towels, bell service)...I would call the rooms motel rooms. $259 a night is too much to pay to stay in a motel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank 40janc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are undergoing some balcony renovations, new carpeting in the hallways, and receiving new furnishings for the rooms, we do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you give us the chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is the most expensive hotel I've ever stayed in, including New York and London. The pool had mold growing around the edge near the tiles and the swim up bar, the bath rooms were not clean, mold around the tub as well. You were extremely short staffed at the pool bar and bell hops. For the price we paid I expected a wonderful room and bed. The hallways looked old and shabby, needed painting in all areas. The bed was saggy and the room was always damp due to high humidity. The AC system was unable to keep up and puddles were always on the floor in the lobby. We have stayed here before but this place is run down. We will not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Mctwqc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will consider another visit with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I truly enjoyed the service. My view of the beach was wonderful. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay. I appreciated being able to have my coffee in the morning on the balcony listening to the waves. Beach access was easy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBStillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beach view from your balcony and that our staff helped make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for staying with us here at Pearl South Padre, we hope we remain your choice hotel on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our stay on this hotel was not that long but rather short. During the three days we stood the service was perfect. In the restaurant the person who helped us is named "Aramis" and he seriously is the best person to look for when you go to the restaurant. The rooms are clean and very nice. The hotel overall is pretty nice and it's service as well. Good job Pearl!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our service here at Pearl South Padre was everything it should be. We are proud to have staff who take pride in serving our guests to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your return on your next visit to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is our last night of a 7 night stay at the Pearl...thank God. If you'd like to do a beach vacation in Sleepy South Padre, find another place to stay. While the room was clean, paint was peeling and chipping, and mold was growing all over the balconies. There are signs everywhere saying they're improving, but we sure didn't see it. The pool and swim up bar were the biggest disappointment. The swim up bar water is as hot as the hot tub, as it's never changed, and I don't want to say what all was floating in the pool with us. The water from the swim up bar isn't circulated AT ALL...so it just sits and stews. The pool water hasn't been cleaned during our trip, and while it's cool and refreshing, it's filthy. I do have to say that the service staff has been amazing with what they have to work with...but this property insists on all cash up front, including incidentals, so you pay for everything before you step foot in your room. In it's current condition, this property is not worth what you have to pay to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are undergoing some balcony renovations, new carpeting in the hallways, and receiving new furnishings for the rooms, we do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope we remain your hotel of choice on your next vacation or getaway to SPI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There were only two working elevators for HUNDREDS of guests. Stairs are for emergency only. We had an item missing from our room, and management has still not addressed the issue FIVE days later. Rooms are humid and smell like mildew. Not worth the price!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lissa G, Executive Office Staff at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do continue to grow and improve on our product and service and with time we are positive that you will see this as well. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you will consider another visit with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
525 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
209 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £77 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island
Pearl South Padre South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing