We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 South Padre Island
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The motel was nicely updated but really small rooms... And about 2-3 blocks from the beach

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

I have always been a loyal customer of the Motel 6 franchise. Every Motel 6 that I have ever stayed at has been clean and comfortable to sleep in. While I saw many negative reviews before booking this Motel 6 for only two nights, I still felt it would be like every other Motel 6 I have stayed in. Boy was I wrong! It was supposed to be a romantic get away for my girlfriends college graduataion for only two nights! As soon as we walked in there were roaches popping up from the cracks of the walls. The first night we were able to sleep there since we were extremely intoxicated after a night out at Tequila Sunset. The second night we were completely sober and decided to leave a night early due to roaches all over our sleeping area. I would recommend this hotel if you want to just go party at SPI and don't mind having roaches go into you mouth while you sleep. If you want to have a decent night sleep please do not book!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed for two nights on a Monday ad Tuesday and the when we got there the front desk guy was very friendly and helpful. He got the room squared away in no time and let us know that the ice machine had broken so if we need ice just to come to the office. The rooms and been updated with modern designed wash areas and nice faux wood floors. The bathroom is spacious but the shower is rather small. All in all it is a good deal if you don't plan on being in the room too much. You can walk to the beach from the hotel but it is better just to drive. The hotel does have a small pool but it closes at 9 or 9:30pm. There no private balconies or water views. * For the drinkers: There is a good margarita joint right next to the hotel and a liquor store and gas station right across the street. *For the non drinkers he hotel is rather quite.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1979guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Great hotel for the price....with an innovative contemporary look. One of the reviews below lambasting the interior design is really off, doesn't seem like that reviewer understands 'design' hotels. This Motel6 feels like an inexpensive 'boutique' hotel. Very interesting concept. Comfortable, attractive bathroom vanity, really clean and modern--almost European design sensibility. Really refreshing for South Padre Island and a great find in an otherwise unfortunate $30 category. Surprised that Motel6 had the foresight to put this type of room into the market--inspired and a pleasant, no-frills, and actually design-savvy place to stay. Basically the 'Target' of inexpensive hotels. Very cool and should appeal to younger travelers and the design-conscious. I've been seeking these renovated Motel6 hotels out in other locations, too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mundial_iah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

K, so the room doesn't include a coffeepot, a microwave or a small fridge but with 2 beds at $30/night on the weekend I didn't care! I liked how they were remodeled, it was clean & overall not packed/noisy. I'd definitely stay there again... but I'll be sure to bring my shampoo/conditioner(they only had soap in shower) and an ice chest.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morningstargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Rooms were just a little larger than your standard coffin. The air conditioners were a joke. They even changed the original, and the replacement was just as bad. I will never stay at another Motel 6 after this.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vercettitx911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

the bed frame was broken and there a lot of very drunken, loud "locals" trying to climb the palm trees at 3 am, and management did NOTHING to quiet them down. We had already switched rooms due to broken items and unsasfe conditions in the 1st one.

Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank MistyP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#25 of 32 in South Padre Island
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Suites at Sunchase
Suites at Sunchase
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 South Padre Island

Address: 4013 Padre Blvd, Island Causeway at Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7231
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range: £26 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Motel Six South Padre Island
South Padre Island Motel 6
South Padre Island Motel Six
Motel 6 South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing