We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable...ON THE BEACH” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanna Wanna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wanna Wanna Inn
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
San Benito, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable...ON THE BEACH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This small beach front hotel is great. Rooms are clean and comforatble, nice pool, they allow pets ($10.00 night), good bar and grill. I would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Room 118 upstairs has a direct view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelandycwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    37
    20
    9
    18
See reviews for
16
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Everything about this hotel was great! They have a kitchenette with Microwave and Refrigerator and hot plate. It was clean and the murals on the walls is a particular plus for me. You are already on the beach and they have a bar and grill so you don't have to go far.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and they were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is not a five star resort, it is a simple down-to-earth little hotel on the beach. it has a beach side bar/restaurant.... rooms are simple, clean and really an all around value. One kind of sticking point, you got to have reservations in advance, maybe two-three weeks or more, because location, price, location, price. Will I stay again, you betcha every chance I get, I don't need no fancy smancy hotel, a good clean room and let's go to the beach.
Give it a try next time you are at SPI

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend get-a-way.
Pros: Beach front property and a short walk to the beach. They have a sports bar/grill and you can eat food on the patio. This small hotel is lively at night and has a good view of the Gulf.
Cons: Small plainly decorated rooms. Very noisy on weekend due to some rowdy
individuals at the on site restaurant/patio and the parking lot. Very few parking spaces for guests because visitors eating at the restaurant took up most of the parking space. The Wireless Internet worked at the front office but not in our room. Appears the signal not strong enough to cover the entire hotel. No lobby, only a small office. No free breakfast.
Summary: Ok place for the hardcore beach and party crowd, but not what we were looking for. Since our stay at this hotel, wife and I returned to South Padre Island twice and stayed at a different hotel and were much happier.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macbobTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springtown, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last min trip to the beach after other vacation plans were canceled. I have never been to South Padre and had heard great things , but was unsure where to stay. During a search for a hotel/bar , I ran into the Wanna Wanna. DONT PASS IT UP. It was perfect. We stayed in 110, the best room they have, our balcony doors opened to the view of the ocean and the cabana hut area. We literally walked down the stairs and the walk to the perfect place to relax. We sat for 4 days at the Wanna Wanna bar and grill just enjoying the view and people watching. This place has great drinks and great food. All the locals were there, and tourists alike. The bartenders knew our name after the first day, and knew what we were drinking.
The room was spotless and cleaned every day to look like we just arrived. The front staff was full of information and always had a smile. This may not be a 4 star resort, but deserves 4 stars from us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsparker2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

At the Wanna Wanna, your door is literally 50 feet from the beach. The rooms are typical motel style with a kitchenette and the bar attached can either be a great thing or a poor choice depending on the type of vacation you are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room to keep noise down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migvazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

over priced!
the showers didn't work properly not enough water came out of the shower head!
the water was soooo cold!
we got charged an extra $50 cause our WHITE towels had "black and red stuff" that wasnt going to come off when they washed it!
$9 for the big towels and $5 for the smaller ones!
the hotel is on the beach how were we not suppose to get sand on them???
the bar and grill closed at 10pm on saturday!
the rooms are like a cheap motel!
i wouldnt not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drenee0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#19 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanna Wanna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanna Wanna Inn

Property: Wanna Wanna Inn
Address: 5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7440 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wanna Wanna Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Wanna Wanna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanna Wanna Hotel South Padre Island
Wanna South Padre Island
Wanna Wanna Inn South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing