We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No, just no.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanna Wanna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wanna Wanna Inn
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No, just no.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel was awful. No water pressure, room wasnt clean,ac dripped everywhere,ABSOLUTELY NO PARKING, if you leave dont expect to repark. Front desk was no help, all they could manage was Im sorry. Was put in an upstairs room, even tho we specified handicap,the door wasnt secure. Overall, it was bad, real bad.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindy2944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    37
    20
    9
    18
See reviews for
16
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our family of four stayed for five days. We absolutely loved it! Room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in room #102. There is a room air conditioner, and we turned it on when we arrived. It kept the room nice and cool the entire stay. No, it's not the fanciest place in the world, but for going to the beach and sightseeing, it was perfect. Our room was away from the band and we never heard it at all. Even so, they end at midnight, so it was never even an issue for us.

Our water pressure was great, both early in the morning and late at night. Water was nice and warm, and bathroom was clean. We ended up with a lot of sand on the floor, but there was a broom and dustpan in the room, so we just swept it up and all was well.

Pool required a wristband to show that we were guests. We just made them loose and wore them while in the pool, and removed them when not using the facility.

Free internet wifi was included, it was good for surfing the internet but not strong enough to rely on for anything else.

The Beach bar was fantastic. Great smoothy type adult beverages. There were kind of pricey at $9.75 each. I loved the Cerviche! There was a singer on the weekend from 2-6 and he was quite good. The bands were from 8-12 and were also decent. It was nice to sit out at the bar and look at the beach and the waves and listen to the music!

The beach was also great. Well taken care of in front of the inn and bar. Chairs and umbrellas could be rented.

Room had a microwave, toaster, coffee maker and refrigerator. We went to the local grocery store and bought snacks and drinks, which was handy after being at the beach all day.

My suggestion would be to RENT A CAR!! We weren't sure about it before we came, and we definitely would have been stranded without one! There is no shuttle from Brownsville airport to here, and it was almost as cheap to rent a car for five days and it would have been to have a taxi make the trips. Smartest thing we did! It would have been a long walk to restaurants because the only thing even close is the beach bar. Everything else is on the main strip, which would be a pain to walk to everyday to find a restaurant. (probably a mile minimum..)

We would definitely like to return! After driving around the area, this is one of the closest places to the beach, the best bar near the bear, and seriously the friendliest best attitude, both from other guests and from the employees.

Room Tip: RENT a CAR!!! Also room #102 was easily accessible and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank parisresale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We didn't stay here at Wanna Wanna but had lunch outside with the view of the beach and rented chairs & an umbrella. The staff, atmosphere, and food was good. No complaints at all and will be back during our next vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisymae408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I booked my room for this inn on February 4th for our trip on May5th for 4 days on a Monday through thursday. I requested two specific rooms upstairs (the end room with the one next door). I was told they had a large group staying the weekend before and they had already booked one of the rooms I wanted but the other room was not a problem as this group had only booked the rooms with double beds. The group would be leaving the next day and we could move up to the second room on the following day. That was ok so I booked and paid. When we arrived on May the 5th, I was told the room I requested upstairs was not available. I explained to him that I was told we had booked that room and that it was available 3 months ago. He said he was sorry but that someone was in that room and what if something had been wrong with the room and they were repairing it (they were'nt, he has just rented it to someone else). He told me they were leaving the next day and we could move then. Not ideal but I said ok. At this point what choice do I have. I had to pay a nonrefundable(because now it was the day of our arrival) deposit 3 months ago. So he gave me a key to the room I was now going to get (a room downstairs under the stairs). I have wanted to stay here for years and don't get to go to SPI a lot, so this was very disappointing. I got a call the next day at 11:10 thinking I was going to be told we could now move upstairs to the room with the ocean view, instead told they had requested to stay another day. Our second room we had was also downstairs, but also without a view. Instead of sitting outside looking at the ocean we got to sit outside in what was a walkway with a view of the fence to the pool. I have to say the housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a great job. The rooms were clean. We had to request housekeeping on the second day because they had not been to eiher of our rooms by 5:30 pm, but they came right away. I was looking forward to relaxing on the patio in the evening enjoying the view instead got to spend each evening sitting in a hallway. Many other places we could have stayed with a patio with a view had I known what would happen once we arrived. If you have requested a specific room don't count on that happening. Another reason I have wanted to stay here is because they have a good bar that also serves food that was pet friendly on the patio. That is not the case anymore (not their fault) but could have salvaged the trip had we been able to hang out on that patio with the dog. Many other great places to stay on the island. A lot of money spent without any of the perks of being at the beach.

Room Tip: You cannot reserve a room even with your paid deposit and 3 month request with availability. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were about 20 guys on a fishing trip and this place was excellent.
Clean, nice rooms with beautiful murals in each room. Kitchen had a fridge, microwave and dishes. The bathrooms were clean and adequate.
Had a good bar with live music and lots of people, but the rooms were still quiet. Good outside bar with good food and lots of room for everyone.
The only problem was the unpredictable wifi, literally went days without a connection.

Room Tip: Order early and get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater,Mn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just got back from a month at Wanna Wanna, can;t wait to go back next year for 2 months. It is small, clean, quiet, comfortable, riight on the beach with kitchenettes and a bar/rest. right on site. Unbeatable!! Free public transportation to the door, a person can fly down and get along without a car. The sceanery is breathtaking and the staff very helpful, the best.

Room Tip: A room on the 2nd floor overlooks both the pool and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monroe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I read the reviews and heard good things about the Wanna Wanna, but was terribly disappointed when I had to cancel my reservation. I checked their website again and could not find the 3 day cancellation policy. I tried to cancel the day before our arrival and management refused to credit our card. SO, JUST A WARNING !! Our booking was only for 1 day, what if we had booked for 3 days. Most motels have a 24 hour cancellation policy and some even less than that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanna Wanna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanna Wanna Inn

Property: Wanna Wanna Inn
Address: 5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7440 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wanna Wanna Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Wanna Wanna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanna Wanna Hotel South Padre Island
Wanna South Padre Island
Wanna Wanna Inn South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing