We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper and it shows”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've stayed here twice. It hasn't changed. It is exactly what you would expect for $99 at a resort city. We rented a kitchenette. It had no flatware, one plate, a few cooking pans. Period. Asked for and got flatware, one plate more, two bowls. Good thing I brought salt. Stove in a nook behind a counter. Good thing I'm not too large.
The "best" part was the beds. Both had a separate foam top that kept slipping off the bed. By morning, a quarter of it was hanging over. Sleep carefully.
The AC was moldy but worked well. The shower was fine, but very tiny. Second day, they left us one towel. Asked for and got more.
Staff is very nice and helpful. The bar and restaurant attached are great. The weekend singer, Leslie, is fantastic.
Sand on floor to be expected. Come on - it's Padre. Beach access if fantastic - just walk out the boardwalk.
I'm not sure if I would stay there again. I'd probably pay more for a nicer place next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

What do you expect? If you come to South Padre Island, you should be out doors at the beach enjoying the weather. This place gives you perfect access to the beach and a place to lie down after a long day. If you want to relax and have many amenities then you need to go some place else. There is nothing fancy about it and it smells. The only good thing about it is that is right on the beach. I will definitely go back for a quick get a way to the beach; however; if I am staying longer than 2 days the next time I will pay a little more to have a nice place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed one night for $242. There were no towels or washcloths, the floor was covered in sand, no light in the room & we had to take the shower head off to get any water to take a shower. When we went to the front desk to get towels we were treated as if it was our fault there were no towels because we didn't check them when we checked in. The woman at the desk was a real [--] about it. After listening to partying all night long we were getting ready to leave at 11 am when someone knocked on the door & told us we had to check out. Checkout was at 12 so why we were told to leave an hour early is beyond me. All in all it was a disgusting room with extremely crappy service. I would sleep in my car before I stayed there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bratgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

From the moment we got there and talk to the staff, we knew what kind of place it was. The lady was very rude and first said one price and then raced the price.The only thing good about the place is the location right in front of the beach. I would never stay there again or ever recommend that place. It is HORRIBLE! It is dirty place even from the out side. There wore bugs in the rooms. This place is just old and run down and dirty. I don't know how they are in business.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deshon0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

39 dollars a night on the beach is a good price.Otherwise I agree with previous reviews,the rooms were unclean and the bugs quite disgusting(cockroaches).It seems business is geared towards locals who like to stay for the weakend.The beach bar is great so stop at Boomerang Billys for drink or two but stay at another place.

Room Tip: I really can't believe there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millelacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The only thing that makes this place have any business is that it's located next to the beach.. Other than that, HORRIBLE!

Bed mattress is ridiculously old, out dated and uncomfortable.
Stains on the sheets, small restrooms, dirty toilets, super small showers (my boyfriend is 6'0 and 250ibs and he couldn't even sit on the toilet and let alone couldn't get into the shower.. we left and didn't stay the night)
Stains on the doors, mold on the walls, it also had a very unpleasant smell like mold (I don't think that's safe to inhale)
Dead roaches, dirty kitchen, and main door wouldn't lock.

Definitely not worth even checking out.
The owners don't care and won't bother fixing or renovating the place.


  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Checked in this hotel for a couple of days because of its location. That's about all that wad good about this place. Located right on the beach with a nice little bar and grill. The rooms were very out dated and not very clean. Bugs in the room, shower was disgusting and made for people under 5'5 inches tall. It did have a kitchenette and cable tv. Can't complain to much for 40 a night. Bar staff was great, especially Jennifer. She was the best the hotel gF to offer and full of great info. Great place to drink, just not the kind of place you wanna sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sendbrianamessage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#10 of 32 in South Padre Island
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
694 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
281 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2612 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6940
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £42 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel is a beach motel located directly on the beach with access to a long boardwalk so your feet wont burn walking on the hot sand, definately a bonus during our hot summer months! All of our rooms have two double beds, microwave, fridge, sitting area, phone, cable, free wifi, and air conditioning. We have complimentary grills available on our large sun deck right outside the rooms with mulitple seating areas. Our motel has two floors with a large balcony on the 2nd level with a great view of the Gulf. We also have a full bar and resturaunt located right on site, and live entertainment Saturday and Sunday (wether permitting) Swimming pool and beach volleyball courts located right on the beach and we are walking distance to the Islands Entertainment District (Louies, Laguna Bobs, Tequila Sunset, Coconuts), Dining and Shopping. We are smack dap in the center of the island and every where you want to be. The island also offers free bus rides (The Wave)and there is a bus stop right out front of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel South Padre Island, Texas
Surf Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing