We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lowest budget, but great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“lowest budget, but great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

great island, great beach, great beach bar, great pool, awesome people, friendly staff. Definitive a low budget motel, but if you only need a place to sleep it´s fantastic. My wife and children liked it. We stayed a week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derChristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    7
    10
    27
See reviews for
24
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed there for one night - have stayed there once before - the place was dirty - we all slept in our clothes - that was after we went to the store and bought lysol and lysoled the whole place - no-one wanted to take a bath - no one wanted to get under the covers - there were french fries in the drawers by the bed - the mattresses were gross - spend a little extra and get something clean -

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Harlingen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The website displays pics that show a decent rooms. Once you settle in and take a look around it becomes a scene from a freddy kugar movie. The bathroom lighting will give you a seizure! 2nd floor walkway is slanted and not sturdy. Parking lot is littered and there are dirty puddles everywhere. The pool is tiny and probably "heated" with the 10 kids its holds, urine. Oh! There was also tejano music blasting from the trunk of a tenant at midnight. Also no hot water to shower with and door didn't lock. The manager Neal...Neo is rude and will definitely yell at you if you ask to be accomadated. HEALTH DEPARTMENT NEEDS TO SHUT IT DOWN.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatalieMDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This motel is not worth the money we paid....the bar service treated us so bad....at billy bars....the bartenders were so rude to us...maybe because we were hispanics....bathroom are so small...never stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petegonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Besides being dirty, broken windows, windows so lose we had to put clear duct tape over the cracks, microwave not working, no furnace only a space heater, missing lightbulbs, outlets that didn't work, stove where the burners decided what to do, 3 plates, no cups, 4 forks and 1 spoon, 3 bent fry pans you couldn't even use, no cooking utensils, smoke alarms with no batteries there were 10 possums that we trapped living under the unit--mice--cockroaches--sweet ants--and to top it all off a RAT!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanKA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've stayed here twice. It hasn't changed. It is exactly what you would expect for $99 at a resort city. We rented a kitchenette. It had no flatware, one plate, a few cooking pans. Period. Asked for and got flatware, one plate more, two bowls. Good thing I brought salt. Stove in a nook behind a counter. Good thing I'm not too large.
The "best" part was the beds. Both had a separate foam top that kept slipping off the bed. By morning, a quarter of it was hanging over. Sleep carefully.
The AC was moldy but worked well. The shower was fine, but very tiny. Second day, they left us one towel. Asked for and got more.
Staff is very nice and helpful. The bar and restaurant attached are great. The weekend singer, Leslie, is fantastic.
Sand on floor to be expected. Come on - it's Padre. Beach access if fantastic - just walk out the boardwalk.
I'm not sure if I would stay there again. I'd probably pay more for a nicer place next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

What do you expect? If you come to South Padre Island, you should be out doors at the beach enjoying the weather. This place gives you perfect access to the beach and a place to lie down after a long day. If you want to relax and have many amenities then you need to go some place else. There is nothing fancy about it and it smells. The only good thing about it is that is right on the beach. I will definitely go back for a quick get a way to the beach; however; if I am staying longer than 2 days the next time I will pay a little more to have a nice place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Padre Island
1.3 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Beach House
#3 of 4 in Port Isabel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#22 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.8 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2612 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6940
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel is a beach motel located directly on the beach with access to a long boardwalk so your feet wont burn walking on the hot sand, definately a bonus during our hot summer months! All of our rooms have two double beds, microwave, fridge, sitting area, phone, cable, free wifi, and air conditioning. We have complimentary grills available on our large sun deck right outside the rooms with mulitple seating areas. Our motel has two floors with a large balcony on the 2nd level with a great view of the Gulf. We also have a full bar and resturaunt located right on site, and live entertainment Saturday and Sunday (wether permitting) Swimming pool and beach volleyball courts located right on the beach and we are walking distance to the Islands Entertainment District (Louies, Laguna Bobs, Tequila Sunset, Coconuts), Dining and Shopping. We are smack dap in the center of the island and every where you want to be. The island also offers free bus rides (The Wave)and there is a bus stop right out front of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel South Padre Island, Texas
Surf Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing