We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place to stay!”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Infestation of roaches! In and outside the motel! Roaches were out side by the bar / restaurant area .... on top of the tables outside ....... A night the roaches were coming through underneath the door ...had to put towels on the floor to cover the cracks on the door and those damm things still came in ...The worst place ever ..don't try saving a buck $ by staying here it totally sucks!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Julio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This review is for the restaurant only. Attached to the motel is a beachfront restaurant/bar. We ordered carry-out a couple times as it was very convenient to the beach. The cheeseburgers and fries were hot and very well cooked. Just burgers and fries but delicious for what it was. Right on the beach - and get this - only $5, seemed like a bargain to us.

Room Tip: This place was great for hot convenient tasty burger and fries on the beach.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank rvtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

great island, great beach, great beach bar, great pool, awesome people, friendly staff. Definitive a low budget motel, but if you only need a place to sleep it´s fantastic. My wife and children liked it. We stayed a week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derChristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed there for one night - have stayed there once before - the place was dirty - we all slept in our clothes - that was after we went to the store and bought lysol and lysoled the whole place - no-one wanted to take a bath - no one wanted to get under the covers - there were french fries in the drawers by the bed - the mattresses were gross - spend a little extra and get something clean -

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The website displays pics that show a decent rooms. Once you settle in and take a look around it becomes a scene from a freddy kugar movie. The bathroom lighting will give you a seizure! 2nd floor walkway is slanted and not sturdy. Parking lot is littered and there are dirty puddles everywhere. The pool is tiny and probably "heated" with the 10 kids its holds, urine. Oh! There was also tejano music blasting from the trunk of a tenant at midnight. Also no hot water to shower with and door didn't lock. The manager Neal...Neo is rude and will definitely yell at you if you ask to be accomadated. HEALTH DEPARTMENT NEEDS TO SHUT IT DOWN.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatalieMDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This motel is not worth the money we paid....the bar service treated us so bad....at billy bars....the bartenders were so rude to us...maybe because we were hispanics....bathroom are so small...never stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petegonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Besides being dirty, broken windows, windows so lose we had to put clear duct tape over the cracks, microwave not working, no furnace only a space heater, missing lightbulbs, outlets that didn't work, stove where the burners decided what to do, 3 plates, no cups, 4 forks and 1 spoon, 3 bent fry pans you couldn't even use, no cooking utensils, smoke alarms with no batteries there were 10 possums that we trapped living under the unit--mice--cockroaches--sweet ants--and to top it all off a RAT!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanKA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Condominiums 302
Edgewater Condominiums 302
#13 of 35 in South Padre Island
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vista
Ocean Vista
#9 of 35 in South Padre Island
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2612 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6940
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £42 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel is a beach motel located directly on the beach with access to a long boardwalk so your feet wont burn walking on the hot sand, definately a bonus during our hot summer months! All of our rooms have two double beds, microwave, fridge, sitting area, phone, cable, free wifi, and air conditioning. We have complimentary grills available on our large sun deck right outside the rooms with mulitple seating areas. Our motel has two floors with a large balcony on the 2nd level with a great view of the Gulf. We also have a full bar and resturaunt located right on site, and live entertainment Saturday and Sunday (wether permitting) Swimming pool and beach volleyball courts located right on the beach and we are walking distance to the Islands Entertainment District (Louies, Laguna Bobs, Tequila Sunset, Coconuts), Dining and Shopping. We are smack dap in the center of the island and every where you want to be. The island also offers free bus rides (The Wave)and there is a bus stop right out front of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel South Padre Island, Texas
Surf Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing