We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Paragraphs on Padre Boulevard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Paragraphs is a full-service independent bookstore handling a broad selection of new and gently used titles. We have a well-stocked children's section, games and puzzles for all ages, and a variety of other book-related sidelines. Watch our website for a schedule of book signings and other events. Browsing is welcome and we can special order any title for delivery within two days. Chairs and tables available for customers use and free WiFi provide an environment to work, study, or catch up on email. We also have game boards for your enjoyment.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Loved stopping in this cozy yet modern bookstore after all the junk beach stores on SPI.
Great selection and lovely place to spend some time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Independent Book Store and MORE!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If they don't have it, Joni and Griff will get it! The bookends(Sadie & Sophie) are a delight(dogs). This is a community center of activity, book discussions, authors, always good coffee. Best book store in South Texas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice little store”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We try to go to this store with every South Padre Island visit. The owner is very friendly and they have a wide variety of materials, including stuff for the kids. I appreciate that he tries to get in as much local material as possible, which really makes this shopping experience unique.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“South Padre a Place to Play”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Come Play at South Padre Island....we have sun, sand and sky!!! There are great beaches for walking, surfing and shell collecting. You can do it on the Cheap or on the Expensive...it is all here for eating, drinking and PLAYING!!! Daddy's is good for eating and entertaining, go across the Causeway and try out Lost Gallion for Fish and Shrimp....Stop by and climb the Lighthouse! Watch the birds migrate and the fish change seasons and schools. Golf courses available for a few rounds...Sr. Adult living and Playground of the South, very affordable. Spend a day, spend a week or spend a month...if you like it "Stay Year Round".

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“LOVED this place”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I stopped by and picked up a few books for our trip home. The proprietor was really great and offered some suggestions regarding college spring break trips gone wrong since I'd joked with her that the only other time I'd been to South Padre was a college visit I don't speak of. We also purchased a lovely picture of Texas lighthouses drawn to scale that we accidentally left behind in the Harlingen airport. So now we have an even better reason to visit South Padre again aside from the weather and scenery (and I think I'll ship the picture home this time rather than try and keep up with it on my own!)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paragraphs on Padre Boulevard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Paragraphs on Padre Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing