We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Book Store” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paragraphs on Padre Boulevard

Paragraphs on Padre Boulevard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Paragraphs is a full-service independent bookstore handling a broad selection of new and gently used titles. We have a well-stocked children's section, games and puzzles for all ages, and a variety of other book-related sidelines. Watch our website for a schedule of book signings and other events. Browsing is welcome and we can special order any title for delivery within two days. Chairs and tables available for customers use and free WiFi provide an environment to work, study, or catch up on email. We also have game boards for your enjoyment.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Brownsville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Book Store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Love this independent book store. Great selection of books, owners know which books to recommend based on your questions. Provide reading time for children and host authors to speak about their books.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A treasure on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Paragraphs is a wonderful throwback to a different time but with modern conveniences. Joni and Griff are a wealth of information not only about the Island but entire area. I never miss author nights when I am in town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bettyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A shining star in their community.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Paragraphs is the closest thing I've ever found to a perfect, small town, independent, bookseller.
Their selection will surprise you, and of course they can order anything you don't find on the shelves. They go out of their way to support local and regional writers, and they invest in the local community in more ways than I could even mention here.
These are good, "book people" (and book doggies, as well), that make you feel welcome in their shop.
I highly recommend Paragraphs on Padre.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great bookstore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stopped by Paragraphs for my 14 year old daughter who is an avid reader. What a cozy, nice independent bookstore with fantastic owners, Joni and Griff, who are eager to help. Both Joni and Griff made personal book recommendations after learning of my daughter's interests. Books for all ages available. My daughter walked away with a stack of new books and I enjoyed a great cup of coffee on the house. We will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Missouri
1 review
“Can't miss place to visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Paragraphs will order any book you want, if it is not on hand, already. The store has a wide variety of books,a section for children's books and puzzles, beautiful surroundings in which to shop, or to sit and read,including an outside patio. The owner and staff are friendly, and always make customers feel welcome. A visit to Padre is incomplete without a stop at the beautiful Paragraphs book store.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tracy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paragraphs on Padre Boulevard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Paragraphs on Padre Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing