We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary family trip”
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Padre South Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Pharr, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Anniversary family trip”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I was just there this weekend, April 27 thru 29. This hotel is one of the older hotels at south padre, I had never stayed here, and after reading the reviews I was a bit concerned. But Im happy to report that it was not at all what I expected, yes the hotel fittings and appliances are old, no LCD here, but why do you go to the beach, to watch TV? the room is spacious, clean and fresh, I have stayed on newer hotels where there is a musky smell for the humidity, not here. I did not saw any bugs on the hotel or the room, which is always a good sign. The hotel has an excellent location, right at the beach. It has a fully equipped kitchen. One more thing I loved was the balcony, most hotels have open railings which was concern for me with two toddlers, not here, it is a completely closed railing, with a view to the ocean. If I have to be picky, definitely bring your own pillow, but that is me I cant sleep without my own. In conclusion, this is not a hotel to impress or brag about, but it is in an excellent location, clean, well maintained budget hotel. I will definitely return here, and can safely recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    65
    42
    21
    33
See reviews for
97
50
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Before you book this hotel decide what you want from your vacation. If you enjoy instant access to unbelievable ocean views and to the beach, without breaking the bank this is the place for you! The best time to stay here is off season. The staff is polite and go out of their way to accommodate you. This is the second year we have come done here, and we knew before we booked our airfare we wanted to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shermansbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

STOP!!!! DON'T STAY IN THIS AWFUL HOTEL...We asked to see the room before check-in and the room was old, it stunk. Everything was old; carpet, etc. My husband was not going to stay in such a nasty room. She still charged us $136.00, even though we called and asked not to stay in that room...it was their policy.

Room Tip: Renovate...the whole building is old, old, old and stinky
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank dianaga51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We arrived around 11 pm the Friday of July4th weekend. Family of 4 with two boys ages 10 and 9. Our room had several issues. By the following morning we realized there was no hot water, the patio door would not open and there was something wrong with the humidity in the room (beyond normal for the beach) as the floor was visibly wet, towels damp etc. We requested another room and were accomodated with another room without any problems. The next room was perfect. The hotel is older, clean and the employees were responsive. The location is right on the beach. The pool and spa area was great. Lobby area has a microwave (as there is not one in the room), coffee, screen tv, couches, pool table, and many tables and chairs that allow you to watch out of the pool. Walking distance to CVS, Denny's and other eateries, shopping. Each room has a kitchenette with basic dishes for 4, pots\pans, dishwasher detergent,silverware. It was reallly a great vacation and we saved tons of money eating in our room. We will likely opt for the larger room next time. It was a bit small for the four of us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasBOB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolita, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This Motel seems to be an older hotel...but we had no complaints at all! We were right in the middle of all attractions. It was the best place for the money. We could walk to beach and kids had a blast in the pool and hot tub! We will stay here if return to South Padre again!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I was very scared after reading all the reviews people put on here. But when we got there we were treated nicely they gave us lots of free samples of things left from spring break like shampoo and stuff. The rooms were nice yes this is a old hotel and you can tell that its not fancy at all. Our room had a kitchen in it and a bed and pull out couch all very nice and clean. The location was excellent couldwalk up the street to where the shops were or right in front of the hotel was a stop for the wave the island free buses. I really enjoyed tge view of the ocean from our room. I have nothing bad to say about this place. If you are looking for a fancy place than this isnt your place if you want to go relax with family at a great price then this is the place. I wouldstay there again next time we go.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megan1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,572 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
81 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Property: Padre South Hotel
Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6738
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island
Padre South Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing