We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal, rooms need renovating.”
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Padre South Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

As a lot the reviews say, this hotel needs a major facelift. The rooms are still stuck in the 70's. Tv was old, buttons didnt work. Remote also broke. Only one burner on the very old stove worked. But at least the rooms did had a stove, fridge, with plates and utensils. We stayed on the 8th floor with a great view. Pool was nice. And of course the beach access was awesome. There are lots of things to nit pick here, but we paid $66 a night, so im not gonna complain much. Cant beat the price for a hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickygunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Staying in this hotel is a BIG MISTAKE. We got a 2 bedroom suite ( were a family of 6), at $350 / day. Here's the problems - the room was dirty and smelly, toilet flush is not properly working (it took them forever to fix it), air conditioning is weak, room service is BAD, the worst part - the staff are really rude (it felt like they are not happy that you're there). I honestly felt "scammed". We are never coming back to this hotel. It's a nightmare!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

I don't understand people that complain about this place. Yes its a bit old but it's a beach hotel. We stayed for 9 days and the views are amazing. Decent room. Loved the kitchen and staff. Definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punkinbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, Texas, USA
15
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The room was humid, out dated and had tiles in the ceiling that would displace every time a door was opened due to the vacuum effect. The room service was awful and we could tell that sheets were not replaced nor was the room vacuumed or the toilet cleaned. The air conditioning was very weak. The whole hotel needs a renovation because it looks like it was built in the 1960's and has never been maintained. Staying in this hotel was a BIG MISTAKE. We'll spend the extra money next time and stay in a nicer place even if it means we won't be on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel could use some updating but the rooms were clean and well maintained. Had a great time and trip. Will definately be returning to South Padre Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YoungGun8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

The view was awesome 8th floor and through room was perfect for our needs.we had a blast and would disregard all the negative posts. its the best bang for your buck. we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funnergunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3x. The rooms are clean, the pool & huge outdoor jacuzzi are kept clean. The staff is very friendly. One reason I stay here is that the rooms are $10/night cheaper if you walk-in or call first, rather than booking online, the hotel is on the beach with outdoor showers to rinse off, a change house next to the huge hot water jacuzzi, the pool water is cold, refreshing & clear, the restaurant/bar next door has live entertainment on the weekends, a meeting room for 75 people, every room has a balcony with partial to full ocean views, fully equipped kitchens in all rooms. The downside is that although it is very clean, it seems a little shabby (old carpeting, dated furniture/bedding). You have a short walk to get onto the beach & the rear elevator & steps are usually wet &/or sandy from people coming in from the beach or pool. One major drawback with this hotel is that there is no breakfast. There are vending machines & hot coffee in the morning. Although there is a bar/restaurant beside the hotel, it is not open early, & the hotel is quite a few blocks away from any place serving hot food in the morning.

Room Tip: The Two-Bedroom/Two-Bath Suites are well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antchralx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
244 reviews
2.3 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
711 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,350 reviews
1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6738
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range: £45 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island
Padre South Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing