We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else!! Consider yourself warned”
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Padre South Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!! Consider yourself warned”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

For the money you pay here you can find a better place to rest your head. If your under the age of 31 they make you fill out a "damage report" of your room and they can charge you if there is something wrong. The pillows were lumpy, beds were hard. Smells old and like mold. They are very serious about their towels. If any stains on them they will charge you $15 for them. Very dated. Showers were built for children sized people. Over all a gross place.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Venny_Here_and_There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    65
    42
    21
    33
See reviews for
97
50
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I will not spend a dime of my money on this hotel. Major security issues and they have a no concealed weapons sign on the door. This makes this a gun free zone that all the criminals target. Good luck with that.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Brownsville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

it was a great hotel not expensive had all the things necessary to make your visit super. the rooms very big & clean also they kept them that way , close to all the interesting sites (short walk ) no need for the car the pool very nice but the weather kept us from it most of the time the beach great also poor weather
only went a short time stayed 5 1/2 days would go back its a nice area & lots to do( if weather improves)
all the eating places served good tasty food from the simple to the fine great night life & the crowds were orderly all & all as i said super

Room Tip: make reservations early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was our first time to stay at this hotel. We were there the month of February 2014. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 4th floor. It has 2 balconies a living room, dining area, full kitchen and 2 full baths. Two walls are glass from floor to ceiling with a beautiful view of the gulf. The staff will bend over back ward to make your stay comfortable. They have a nice outdoor hot tub. The pool is not heated but is kept VERY CLEAN. The lobby has a big screen TV. They have happy hour everyday at 4:30 in the lobby. In the evening people gather in the lobby to play cards and dominos. The hotel is one of the oldest on the island but is kept up very well. It is right on the beach and has direct access to it. We would highly recommend Padre South Hotel as your home away from home in South Padre. Gary & Nancy
Minnesota

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38gnesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Another wonderful experience. The staff here are just great. Where else can you stay on the beach for eighty bucks a night with a full kitchen ocean front view clean room and great beaches where you can drive on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbound44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Two bedroom two bath kitchen. Ocean front, great view. We are going back for a five night stay in Feb. Hotel is right on the beach and just a few miles up the road is a public beach access where you can drive right on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbound44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galion, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for eight times for up to 2 months at a time. We always stay at a 2 bedroom suite which has 3 balconies a living room, dining area full kitchen and 2 full baths and 2 TVs 21/2 walls are glass from floor to ceiling with a beautiful view of the gulf. The staff will turn over back ward to make your stay as comfortable There is a very large hot tub but is hard to use on weekends when families arrive. The pool is NOT heated, about the only thing that is bad. The lounge has a big screen TV and very comfortable seating. The hotel is one of the oldest on the island but is kept up very well. They have 3 elevators to service the 8 floors of guests. It is right on the beach and has direct access to it.

Room Tip: The south side has views of the gulf and harbor. The north side has views of the gulf and the long b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertShroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,572 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
81 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Property: Padre South Hotel
Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6738
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island
Padre South Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing