We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumpy condo with ocean view”
Review of Florence Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Florence Condos
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Apt 704 has a great view but otherwise the condo was dated and dumpy. Old furniture, chipped dirty floor tiles, damaged walls, weak and unreliable wifi, old tv's, old bed, beat up dresser, poor kitchen counter space and junky cutlery. The patio furniture was junky plastic, the patio door cumbersome to operate and the window coverings very old. The AC/heater worked well but very loud and too breezy even on low and with the vents all closed off. The bathroom was very scungy and we had to go back to the office to get a proper kitchen garbage can. The staff were helpful and friendly and the parking garage convenient but the elevator was extremely slow. This place needs a thorough updating, gutted kitchen/bath and new furniture, floor/wall coverings and kitchenware. It is comparable to Motel 6 quality. We enjoyed our stay on SPI just the same because of the fine beach, good golf and great bird watching in the area. Shopping in the area is convenient and affordable. The weather was good half of the week and then turned cool, windy and cloudy.

Room Tip: Find a more updated building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

Florence I has an excellent location with easy beach access. The beds (even the little bunk beds were comfy) and furniture were very comfortable.
I did have the following issues though in #406: The coffee maker was broken (they did bring me a new one within an hour) and the speakers on the tv were blown out and distorted.

The main issue was cleanliness. The condo was filthy. Visible dirt on walls, doors and front of oven. Shelves in kitchen were gritty. The extra blankets in the closet had sand in them. There was dirt and hair in the bathtub. The bottom panel on the refrigerator is missing and the filth and debris underneath was disgusting.There were also little mites all over the place. So, basically it was a complete mess and when we returned the keys and let them know they were completely indifferent and didn't even apologize.
I'm not a high maintenance traveler and I didn't make a big deal out of it, but was really shocked by how little they cared.
It was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smilbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We just returned from a week stay from this one over New Years. Check in was great, got in early and condo looked just like pictures on site. The condo was decorated very nice, cabinetry throughout was beautiful. Full size stove and side by side refrig. Lots of pots and pans and pretty good quality. Was disappointed in selection of glassware. Had wet bar with all kinds of display cabinets and not one wine glass in condo. We left two we bought while there for next renters. Only one plastic glass to so would add more of them. Didn't realize there wasn't a dishwasher so get paper plates to, we left these some for next people.
Weather was not good for sitting on patio or would prefer the high bar chairs as to short ones there. We had tall ones over at Inverness and was great for enjoying the view. Other thing to think of is the shower was very compact. If large person, you will have trouble. Should do left out the wet bar and made shower bigger. Bed was very comfortable. Enjoyed the hot tub. Give this a 7 out of 10!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank TXtravlerGrapevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The Florence I was very nice. The condominium was clean and had a very welcoming tropical decor. I had to call the representative regarding the Internet service and she was very helpful. I'll stay there again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soul_O_Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in Florence #406 for 4 nights and loved it! The beach is right there so there is no long walk. My girls would swim and play at beach all day then at night swim in the pool. They loved it!! The rooms are small but just right for 3-4 people. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiedo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

It all started when we went to turn the TV on and found that it was not working. As strange as it sounds, apart from the wonderful view, we actually chose this particular unit because of the TV that was shown in the pictures. We looked at tons of websites of condos on the island when researching for this trip and read lots of reviews. Out of all the condos, this was one of the only ones that actually had a flat screen HD TV in it. This was an important feature for us as tonight was the first Dallas Cowboy game of the season and we are huge fans.
While my husband was messing with the TV, flipping breakers, and trying to get it to work I was getting a better look at the condo. I was disgusted to find dead roaches everywhere. In the kitchen area, behind the TV, in the corners, down the hall, inside the bathtub, on the rugs they were everywhere. This is disgusting.
The unit is furnished very nicely, and was a selling point in the pictures. Unfortunately, as far as aesthetics go, that is where the positives end. There is peeling paint throughout, especially in the living area where there are huge paint bubbles, and scuffs on the wall. The cabinets in the kitchen do not close properly. Those are just some of the examples of simple things that could very easily and inexpensively be taken care of by you as a management company.
The unit was also dirty. The windows were filthy making the beautiful view that the condo has impossible to see. The floors needed to be swept, the refrigerator wasn’t cleaned thoroughly, the dishes and pans that were put up in the cabinets were still wet, or dirty. It almost seemed as if it hadn’t been cleaned, or if it had it was done a while ago and had since been sitting vacant. This was obvious by the amount of dead roaches everywhere.
After messing with the TV and for a while, we called the management company around 4:30 to let them know that it wasn’t working and that were bugs everywhere. The representative told us she would let the maintenance guy know and send him our way. We waited for about 30 minutes before we decided that it was getting a little bit late and we needed to go grocery shopping for dinner. We figured as long as we were going to be at the Blue Marlin, we might as well stop by the office and ask them again about the issues we were having. Honestly, we were hoping that we would be allowed to either transfer to a roach free condo with a working TV, or refunded our money so we could just get a hotel room. When we got to the office Erica, told us that it was completely common to have roaches on the island because of all the water. She said that they probably had the unit sprayed recently, and that’s why there were dead roaches. She also said that as long as they weren’t alive there wasn’t much to worry about, but to give them a call if we saw any that were alive and she would be able to move us to another unit. She told us that that she would call the maintenance guy once again and make sure that he came out and fixed the TV, and check on the roach situation.
By the time we finished our grocery shopping and got back to the unit the maintenance guy was riding the elevator back up to our unit. He had already checked everything out and switched out some wiring in the wall and got the outlet working. We were very happy that the TV was up and running with just enough time to take a shower before the game started. Unfortunately, once the TV was turned on we were disappointed that the HD TV that we saw in the pictures was actually just a nice flat screen HD TV with standard definition that is very fuzzy.
When we pointed out that there were roaches everywhere to your maintenance guy he said that the housekeepers had already left for the day but that he brought us a can of raid for any roaches. He said that if we wanted them to that the housekeepers could come in the morning. So I ended up cleaning the unit myself. This was completely unacceptable.
After we ate dinner and watched the football game, we turned the lights back on and were disgusted to see little roaches EVERYWHERE. The Bathroom, the kitchen, living room, you get the picture. We called the management office and were told we had two choices A) Somebody could come spray in the morning or B) We could move to a new unit…IN THE MORNING. We also asked to have a manager call us first thing in the morning.
The next morning nobody had called by around 9:00 so we called and left a message with the office manager. We got ready, went and had breakfast and hours later they still had not returned our phone call. We ended up going to the office to try and get some sort of resolution. They handed us 4 keys to condos and were told to walk them and find one we would like to transfer to, but warned they may not be clean. We eventually ended up moving to #604, which was roach free, but by this time there was already a sour taste in our mouths for the building and the management company.
The only apology we received was when we returned the keys to #406, and it wasn’t much of an apology. The office manager was on the phone talking when my husband handed him the keys and he mouthed “Sorry”
I will NEVER recommend this condo, or management company ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FortWorthLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I thought this was an excellent place for the money. For $450 a week, we got to stay more nights than if I'd gotten a hotel. The view was awesome, even though we were on a side unit, we could still see the beach and hear the surf...that was priceless to me. The room had all my granddaughter and I needed and with the close beach access, I wasn't worn out. We divided our time between the beach and the pool. Also it was like having a private beach..most of the people near us were also staying in the condo. Take plenty of change if you plan to do laundry..it cost $1.75 to wash a load of clothes and $1.25 to dry it. You need a car, there weren't any nearby places to eat. But I thought it was a great deal. Would go back again in a heartbeat. The Furcron people were very nice. Only one complaint, there is no a/c in the elevator, but that was okay.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.7 mi away
Isla Grand Beach Resort
Isla Grand Beach Resort
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
974 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,617 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,587 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence Condos

Address: 5550 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7530
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Florence Condos Hotel South Padre Island
Florence Condos South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing