We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On beach, multi-story, ocean view room w/balcony has wonderful view, next to LOUD bar, full breakfast, allows pets.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“On beach, multi-story, ocean view room w/balcony has wonderful view, next to LOUD bar, full breakfast, allows pets.”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights right after the summer peak time. Paid extra for gulf view room with a balcony. Very nice view. Minor gripe is that a/c unit vents heat onto balcony making it hotter to sit out there. Full, hearty, breakfast offerings - scrambled eggs, waffles, "make your own" breakfast tacos. A few healthy items as well: cereal, yogurt, etc., but some fresh fruit besides the typical apple & banana would have been nice - especially considering the nightly rate - $200+ on a Sat. night. The room had several maint. and housekeeping issues when I checked in, but were fixed promptly after I reported them. So, I compliment the management and staff for that. The room was well stocked with towels and clean - based on the location. Everything had that "humid, salt air feel". Upon check-in, you get a few coupons for beer/wine at the bar during happy hour. The major problem that I encountered was the LOUD bar right next door. The band played 'till midnight on Sat., and the music was very annoying even with the windows closed. If you're a "party person" - this is the place to stay. If not, I'd recommend staying elsewhere. Finally, they allow pets, so be prepared for that "coastal wet dog" smell when you get on the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texastravelfan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    368
    146
    95
    88
See reviews for
548
370
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We had an oceanview room with a jacuzzi and the room was huge! Clayton's beach bar is right next door and we could hear/see the music/band on the balcony! More secluded part of the island, great location! Did not like la quintas beach bar at all

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnstolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed recently @ the south padre la quinta. Everything was great. The only
downer was our room was extremely overwhelming with the smell of
mold & mildew. We stayed for 4 nights, and by the 2nd night we somewhat got used to
it. The bath tub had a few hairs in it upon arrival also. Other than that, the location was excellent! The breakfast was very good & filling. They offered 3 different kinds of make ur own breakfast burritos, waffles(they are huge & texas shaped), fruit, bagels, toast, cereal, & 4 types of juice. Along w/ milk & coffee. We would most likely stay here again, if the price was right. we paid $68/ night. It was the start of the off season, but we really enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank busymamaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 September 2012

was great, I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Rooms are clean, service is amazing, and the location is right on beach, with plenty of good restuarants and entertainment near by. enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I helped with a wedding this weekend at this hotel. My friend, the bride, bought the wedding package this past May and had been making payments since then. She finally made the final payment the day before the wedding and also had the foresight to book an extra night for one of the rooms she reserved so that she could have easy access to the event area early on.

As her maid of honor I stayed with her that night along with her brother so that we could set up early the next morning and be able to rest and dress well ahead of the start time. She had been told months before that she was allowed to do this and that it would be no problem.

That night when she was checking in she was told that there had been no payments for such a package and that the hotel didn't offer that kind of deal. My friend was a little frustrated because then who was she making the payments to? Finally a supervisor took over and confirmed the package after all. She was then told that she could not set up until noon. She was slightly upset but accepted it.

We decided to sleep in a bit before we went to breakfast seeing as how we were not going to be able to set up early anyways but when we arrived at the breakfast area we were shocked to find out that there was a pageant going on in half of the room that she had reserved for the night and it didn't look like it was only a morning event. Her brother spoke to the workers in the area and confirmed that the pageant was not going to end until 3:40 pm! She was extremely upset by that time and when we arrived in the room she dressed and went to meet with the manager.

We were given the run around all day.

The maintenance workers finally set up the tables and took down the divide by 4 but we still had to set up the decorations and set up the chairs on the beach for the ceremony.

When the groom went to set up the chairs he found that there was no space reserved for the ceremony. He had to get slightly aggressive with some people to make room and had to rush to get his relatives and himself dressed.

We finally started the ceremony almost 30 minutes late.

When it was over the bride took pictures on the beach while the rest of us cleaned up and I went to check the event area.

There was NO CAKE and no waiters in the area or people setting up the food in the kitchen next door. I didn't think it was too odd because it was still a little early so I went ahead and helped the bride.

By 7 there was still no cake or food. I was at a loss and the groom again had to go and find out what was going on.

Finally he confirmed that there was no food or cake...they FORGOT about us. We had been talking to them all day and no one thought to confirm with the Hilton about the large food order that was supposed to be made that night! The couple was very upset as were most of the guests. Fortunately they were understanding.

So while the rooms are actually pretty good and the area is nice, the customer service of the place leaves a lot to be desired. Someone needs go in and retrain all those people because forgetting a food order for over 100 people is just unacceptable.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet's night sleep stay away from the rooms near the elevators, South Padre Islan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,523 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
336 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing