We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,496)
Filter reviews
1,496 results
Traveller rating
696
406
175
113
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
406
175
113
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar next doorwafflesa pet friendly hotelbeach barclayton's bartortillasmade to order omeletspool areasmall balconybeach frontnorth sideomelet stationocean viewfree breakfastbirding centerbeach accessfourth floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,048 - 1,053 of 1,496 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

While the staff and location is great and I suspect this could be one of the better hotels on SPI, our experience was disappointing. Hallways are about 100 yards long and seem to amplify noise. Young kids and dogs running the floor not great for sleeping. Bed was uncomfortable and worst pillows I've had in years. I travel about 75-100 nights year on business and came away with back ache and neck worse than any other hotel.

Room Tip: About 20% of rooms are near road and face hotel to the East. This means your room has a view of brick wall and is over the other hotel's air conditioners. Stay away. West side has some view and best.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We'd like to thank you for choosing La Quinta South Padre Island and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. However, we are truly sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We hope that you choose to stay with us once again and allow us to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This property is one of the 'new' style of LQ Hotels (vs. the older style LQ motels). We stayed here one night because of the good reviews. It has very good beach front access and the beach is really nice. Has a small pool and tanning area and bar by the pool. The hotel looks really nice, although it is starting to show its age. They put us on the first floor and as I walked into the room I was awed by how pretty it was, with the 10 foot ceilings, nice fixtures and drapes, and sitting area in the room. The room was very nice and clean!

The "mixed bag" portion is the repairs that have been done to the hotel are done "second" class and quickly, i.e. the door stop on the wall was missing, they just "paint" over marks and the paint doesn't quite match the original. Also, did I mention that on the first floor, the hallways are all ceramic tile? Well, now that i've stayed a night, I know that the ceramic tile acts as a acoustialc enhancer, meaning everything is loud on the hallway. It was a terrible night of sleep because I literally heard everyone going down the halls. (When the a/c was running, it was fine, but whenever the a/c stopped, you could once again hear everything). If you stay here, be sure to pay for a second floor or higher room.

We walked next door to the Hilton Garden Inn. It is REALLY nice. MY TIP: If you can swing it, stay there instead of this LQ. Pool and common areas are much nicer and bigger and everything looks to be taken care of better than at the LQ. Would I pay $100 more for a room at the Hilton? No, but if it's the same price or close, definitely choose the Hilton.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room or higher. Don't let them put you on the first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFanXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you took the time to write such a thorough and informative review. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient and our rooms to be clean and very nice. We are very sorry you had encountered difficulties during your stay with us. We are going to look further into the tile issue. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope that you will consider giving us another try.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

IF YOU LIKE DIRT, LOTS OF KIDS AND MUSIC BLARING TIL 2 OCLOCK IN THE MORNING, This is the place for you! Planned a relaxing 3 days on South Padre. This was our first visit and we were really looking forward to it. Arrived late at hotel expecting to get dinner, relax and sleep. We had reserved the jacuzzi beach front suite. The room was ok, no decor, but you had to get past kids to get there. Balcony tiny and sand everywhere. Buckets of pine sol in lobby, obviously for show, because place was dirty. Right next door on beach was a band playing. It was so loud that the room vibrated! The front desk apologized but said there was nothing they could do about it. We kept tv on trying to drown out music. Needless to say, no sleep was had. My husband goes to get coffee in morning and opens door to a guy sleeping against it! that was it. We weren't staying. Went down to checkout and again was told they couldnt do anything about loud music. Didn't flinched when I told him about the guy sleeping next to our door. Asked to speak to manager. He wasn't in but they gave me his number to call. Have tried and all I get is a voicemail that the mailbox is full. BEWARE! Not what you would expect of a La Quinta.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are very sorry you had so much difficulty with your stay. Spring break during March can be a hectic week for anyone on South Padre Island. These types of incidents are not common here and can assure you a different experience the next time you visit South Padre Island. Again thank you for our feedback your opinion is appreciated.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is outstanding. Everything about our stay was tremendous. Not only is the hotel right on the beach but it has a nice pool and cabana area. In addition, the hotel is right next to Clayton's Beach Bar, which is dubbed the largest beach bar in Texas. Our room was clean and spacious with free Wi-Fi. The free breakfast was the best I've ever seen and they have it in a large conference room on the fourth floor. Parking is free. The staff was friendly professional and courteous and the hotel has security so it is quiet at night. I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Jack,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to express them. We are delighted to read that you found everything about your stay tremendous. Our staff will be happy to hear that you had enjoyed their presence. Thank you once again and please come visit us again the next time you are in South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We chose La Quinta due to the hotel being pet friendly!! We were able to enjoy our stay while having our pets with us. We hope to make this the hotel that we stay at again. We go yearly for the Spring Break Jam Car and truck show which was walking distance. Very nice and clean hotel and the hospitality from the staff was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Monica,

We appreciate you choosing La Quinta Inn and expressing honesty. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with your pets this spring break. Thank you for complementing us on our cleanliness and hardworking staff. We hope to see you again when you visit next year!

Best,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews