We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,493)
Filter reviews
1,493 results
Traveller rating
694
406
175
113
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
406
175
113
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar next doorwafflesa pet friendly hotelbeach barclayton's bartortillasmade to order omeletspool areasmall balconycomplimentary breakfastbeach frontnorth sideomelet stationocean viewbirding centerbeach accessfourth floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,042 - 1,047 of 1,493 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

room not bad, balcony is very small, maid service has a lot to be desired for, we stayed here for 7 nights, sometimes you get wash clothes, shampoo,soap,and coffee every day is different they through the bed covers over the bed and pillows looks like my 5 yr. old did it. The beach bar & grill has no operating hours posted it's a guess when they open or close. They do have a breakfast bar they make waffles with strawberries and whip cream, 2 to 3 different type of scramble eggs,ect...not to bad. We had 2 queen size beds they were pretty good the pillows not so good. Not a bad stay, I just could not believe how many people stayed here that had 1 to 2 dogs and they would bring them to the pool area and the fight among the dogs was on.

Room Tip: has a beach club next door great if you like to listen to bands on the weekends and it's right on the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience and for choosing La Quinta during your stay in South Padre Island. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your 7 night stay. We will take all of your comments serious and address them individually. We hope that you choose to stay with us once again and allow us to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The location of this hotel is great, short walk to the beach. The building itself is old and dated, and not very clean. The layout of our room was great, we had a balcony overlooking the pool and beach and a Jacuzzi tub. The king size bed was extremely uncomfortable and our backs were very sore by the time we left (we stayed 3 nights). The cleanliness of the room was ok, but the hallways and elevators and stairways were dirty and smelled horrible. The breakfast was just ok, they did have eggs and tortillas to make breakfast tacos which was a pleasant surprise. The bar and grill by the pool closed one hour early one night we tried to eat there, not sure why. Didn't even get in the pool as it was so small and crowded, same with the hot tub. Were kept awake at night by people in the pool/hot tub at all hours of the night. Wouldn't recommend a room overlooking the pool for that reason. We won't stay here again, the Hilton Garden Inn next door was MUCH nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a valued review and for choosing La Quinta South Padre Island. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, the short walk to the beach, and your room. We are apologize that our cleanliness didn’t meet your expectations and we can assure you will not find the same problem if you visit us again. Let us prove this to you and please give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Staff is very helpful for your special needs, esp Frank at the frontdesk. Being on the beach directly, only one on the island, it naturally is going to be sandy some of the time. Beds are comfortable, linen white. Breakfast is large and freshly cracked and cooked eggs. Very pet friendly but not much green space for the dogs. North end of the island had less traffic. The beach bar will bring in a younger noisy crowd for spring break. We have been there for 3 months every year x8 and enjoy it. Yes, the hotel is looking worn but each season things are getting updated.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your to the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for choosing La Quinta Inn. We are always happy to hear of a customer who really had enjoyed themselves. Our staff will be thrilled you like our large breakfast, pet friendly atmosphere, and the friendliness of the staff. Please come visit us again the next time you are in South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

While the staff and location is great and I suspect this could be one of the better hotels on SPI, our experience was disappointing. Hallways are about 100 yards long and seem to amplify noise. Young kids and dogs running the floor not great for sleeping. Bed was uncomfortable and worst pillows I've had in years. I travel about 75-100 nights year on business and came away with back ache and neck worse than any other hotel.

Room Tip: About 20% of rooms are near road and face hotel to the East. This means your room has a view of brick wall and is over the other hotel's air conditioners. Stay away. West side has some view and best.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We'd like to thank you for choosing La Quinta South Padre Island and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. However, we are truly sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We hope that you choose to stay with us once again and allow us to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This property is one of the 'new' style of LQ Hotels (vs. the older style LQ motels). We stayed here one night because of the good reviews. It has very good beach front access and the beach is really nice. Has a small pool and tanning area and bar by the pool. The hotel looks really nice, although it is starting to show its age. They put us on the first floor and as I walked into the room I was awed by how pretty it was, with the 10 foot ceilings, nice fixtures and drapes, and sitting area in the room. The room was very nice and clean!

The "mixed bag" portion is the repairs that have been done to the hotel are done "second" class and quickly, i.e. the door stop on the wall was missing, they just "paint" over marks and the paint doesn't quite match the original. Also, did I mention that on the first floor, the hallways are all ceramic tile? Well, now that i've stayed a night, I know that the ceramic tile acts as a acoustialc enhancer, meaning everything is loud on the hallway. It was a terrible night of sleep because I literally heard everyone going down the halls. (When the a/c was running, it was fine, but whenever the a/c stopped, you could once again hear everything). If you stay here, be sure to pay for a second floor or higher room.

We walked next door to the Hilton Garden Inn. It is REALLY nice. MY TIP: If you can swing it, stay there instead of this LQ. Pool and common areas are much nicer and bigger and everything looks to be taken care of better than at the LQ. Would I pay $100 more for a room at the Hilton? No, but if it's the same price or close, definitely choose the Hilton.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room or higher. Don't let them put you on the first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFanXP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you took the time to write such a thorough and informative review. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient and our rooms to be clean and very nice. We are very sorry you had encountered difficulties during your stay with us. We are going to look further into the tile issue. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope that you will consider giving us another try.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews