We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value on the shore.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Morganton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value on the shore.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were vacationing Texas for ten days and had a few days at the end of our trip that we had not previously booked. We looked on line and selected this property for its location and price. We requested a quite room upon check in since our previous three hotels were quite noisy. Our room was located on the top floor next to the elevator and quite suprisingly very quite. I'm not sure if that would be the case in high season but most importantly, we received what we asked for. Our room and bath were pleasant, clean and basically what you would expect at this price point. The beds were comfortable and HBO was free. Breakfast is served in a large room on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel. Waffles, cereals, bagels and a hot buffet were available as well as an omelet station. We had paid ten dollars per person for a similar breakfast the day before. The breakfast area was rather sterile in decoration and the guest rooms could use an updating but overall we felt this was a comfortable stay and a great value. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Veronica, who wanted to make sure our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear guest,

It’s been a great pleasure reading about your recent stay with us. We’re extremely pleased you loved your room, bed, and hot breakfast. We’re also very happy to read Veronica provided you with the utmost in quality service. We hope you will be thinking about us during the next trip you take to South Padre Island. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    354
    137
    91
    86
See reviews for
511
357
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grasston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here for one night the first part of April. Check in was great-the girl at the desk was extremely accommodating and put us in a very nice room with a good view. We got to our room, changed and went to the beach. The problems started when we returned to our room several hours later. As soon as we got off the elevator (we were on the third floor), we could hear a dog barking. As we walked down the hall, we got closer to the bark. It was right across the hall from us. A lady a few doors down came out of her room and said she had called the front desk several times as the dog had been barking for over two hours pretty much non stop. We called the desk then and we're told they were trying to reach the occupants, but had been unsuccessful. We waited about 30 minutes or so and the owners returned. Then the dog in the room next to us started barking. We went to the front desk and asked to be moved. The girl was very nasty and said they were pet friendly and they did not require guests to tell them they had a pet. She gave us what was probably the crappiest room in the place overlooking a rooftop and parking lot. We love pets, but it would seem like they would want to keep them all together on the first floor, not spread out all over the place. We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msgumby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

We’re truly thankful for the time taken to write this review about our La Copa Inn hotel at South Padre Island. We offer you our most sincere apology, on behalf of all of our staff, for your unfulfilled experience during your stay with us. We are constantly working to improve our guest satisfaction level, and we will take into consideration your concerns about the pet policy. However, please don’t let this incident ruin your perception of our hotel. If you gave us another shot, we’ll guarantee a quieter and more comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is our 2nd time staying at a LaQuinta Inn and it was as good as the first time. Good pool area and fabulous sun deck overlooking the ocean. Bar and Grill next to the pool was good and affordable. Housekeeping takes a long time to clean up the rooms each day (lucky to be done by 3:00) but otherwise a good place to stay. Breakfast was a good variety. Quiet area on the beach and the staff is constantly cleaning the beach, pool area, and common areas inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Greeting Melissa,

We appreciate you leaving a review of the La Quinta on South Padre Island. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as you’re first. We also delighted our staff went above and beyond to make sure you had a wonderful experience. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you the 3rd time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was really enjoyable and we were pleased with the choices. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel and grounds were kept clean. We had an awesome view of the fireworks. Our only complaint was the beds were a tad too hard but we would defiantly stay here again.


Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Leila,

We’re extremely pleased to read you have really enjoyed your stay. We’re overjoyed you loved our hot breakfast, clean rooms, superb staff, and the fireworks display right on the beach. Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to write an outstanding review of your stay at our hotel. We would be more than happy to welcome you back the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Beach Hotel is showing its age and is in need for updating and refreshing but for the most part my wife and I had a decent stay. The best features of the hotel is its location, room rates, breakfast, competent front desk staff and its proximity to the few attractions and restaurants on the island.
Now for some of the not so good experiences and tips to avoid at the hotel. Do not stay on the first floor, there is too much traffic and noise even during the late night. During the days we were there the beach has heaps of seaweed up and down the beach for miles.
This is a minor issue but my wife saw and killed a roach in the bathroom and one day I myself saw and killed a small spider in the bathroom.
I noticed small hair strains in the shower prior to our use and I noticed rust stains were in the tub plus the toilet has seen better days.
The closet had no hangers so I went to the front desk and stated I needed hangers, they did give me 4 however they didn’t fit the hanger railing.
Another issue was that facecloths were missing in the bathroom and the toilet paper was low some we had to go to the front desk and ask for those items as well.
This was my first stay at a La Quinta and I’m not sure if I will stay at another one. If I would come back to South Padre Island I may try the Hilton next time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelset25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

We’re happy you took a liking to our location, breakfast, attentive staff, and the island in general. However, we are really ashamed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. The conditions you mentioned are unacceptable to our standards and we deeply apologize about the inconveniences you experienced. I will report to the appreciate management to take care of this ASAP. Thank you for making the decision to stay with us, and we sincerely hope you come visit us the next time you come to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The staff was incredible very help in getting us check in and help planning our stay. You can tell they take pride in the work by how clean the hotel is not just the rooms but the lobby and halls look new. Breakfast was great lots of choice and the omlet bar was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Keith,

We appreciate your feedback and your nice comments you made about our hotel. We’re very pleased you enjoyed our stay with our amenities. It was an honor having you and your family and we hope to will choose us once again the next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Desarea Villarreal is courteous,friendly and poplite. the right person for the right job. From my reservations to stay with the hotel and even ararnging a shuttle to the Brtownsville Airport, she was helpful and performed all duities with courtesy and teh right professionalism. I wish La Quintaa Inn and Desarea, all the best in the days, months and years to come !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Greetings,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a very kind review. We’re delighted you loved your stay and the professionalism from our staff especially from Desarea. Thank you for choosing us and we wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing