We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went for an overnight stay. Found this hotel to be an excellent place to lay back and enjoy the beach. It was through the week and after a holiday weekend. Not crowded and very restful. Location was perfect. Could lounge by the pool or outdoor patio. Had direct access to the beach. Guests could bring pets which we enjoyed seeing. Great family place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank tonib32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us to stay with. It was a pleasure having you with us! Throughout the year we are constantly improving and adding new amenities to enhance our guest’s experience. We’re delighted to read you really enjoyed our location and staff. We appreciate you writing about your experience and hope it won’t be the last at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was an okay place if your have a dog and want to stay on the beach. If not, I would stay at the Hilton Garden Inn right next door. Definitely not worth the price if you don't have to bring your pet. Security won't kick people out, even if there is a fist fight. There was a fist fight in the hall and 3 rooms called security, and security just told them to go in their room. You could still hear the fight.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. However, we’re saddened to hear of your bad experience at La Quinta and deeply apologize. We have tightened up our security and can assure these problems will no longer be a factor in a guest’s stay with us. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope it didn’t tarnish your perception of our establishment. We hope to see you again for another great time in SPI.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderful stay in a fine hotel and ocean beach. Great service all around. Great breakfast on 4th floor, with broad selection of food and a special order grill for omelets, etc.. Hotel is pet friendly, with control of pet expected. We will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Ralph,

We appreciate your awesome review and taking the time to write it. We're excited you enjoyed our great service, breakfast, and the beach. It is very rewarding to know that our staff made your stay special and memorable. We all look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Next to a LOUD bar!! Pumps music all night long. Dirty pool. Dirty beach. No extra pillows, blankets or towels. Do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Tiny hallway. People who checked us in barely understood English. It's not like any other LaQuinta I've ever stayed in. Bad experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Rhonda,

We deeply apologize you weren’t 100% satisfied with your stay. We understand Clayton’s (the bar you are referencing) can be very lively at times as we are aware of this situation. We’re very sorry you had many inconveniences regarding our pool, the extra pillows, blankets, and towels. We can assure you these issues are not common for us. We will address these issues quickly because we do provide extra pillows, blankets, or towels and our maintenance crew is regularly scheduled to clean our pool every morning. We assure you we will get to the bottom of these bad experiences you had while staying with us. We would love if you gave us another shot. We are constantly improving and adding new amenities to enhance our guest’s experience. Thank you for addressing your issues and we hope to see you again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family (2 parents, 2 kids, 9 and 12) stayed at the South Padre La Quinta for Memorial Day weekend. While there were positives and negatives, overall I was underwhelmed.

Hotel
The lobby was very nice and welcoming. The hallways seemed outdated and well worn even though the hotel isn't very old. The rooms were nice in that they slept 4 or 5 people well with the love seat that pulls out into a bed. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave and good views of the Gulf. The elevators were very slow making it more useful to use the stairs, even from the 4th floor. The ice machines worked. Free towels were handed out at the front desk, they never ran out.

Breakfast
The breakfast dining area is huge! No worries with finding a table at this hotel. The breakfast overall was above average though the lines got long at the waffle station (4 waffle irons). There was also never any bacon any of the 3 days we were there, I find that odd. With that said, there was a good variety and they never ran out of anything. The omelet station was also a hit.

Value
We paid a hair under $200/night over Memorial Day weekend. It was a good deal for a holiday weekend on the island, though I wouldn't pay that much for this La Quinta anywhere else. The hotel had some deal with the Hilton Garden Inn next door which was much nicer. We were able to use their pool which is easily 10x better than the very small pool at the La Quinta. There was also a great lunch/dinner deal at the Hilton restaurant which has surprisingly good food. Take advantage of this deal. If you can find a similar price for the Hilton I would book it over the La Quinta every time, however I don't think you'll find a similar price. Also, the Hilton does not have the free breakfast.

Pool/Beach
The La Quinta pool is heated. That's it. There is nothing else good to say about it. It's tiny. It's crowded. It's sandy. It's nothing compared to the Hilton pool. Do yourself a favor and go next door, they told us La Quinta guests were welcome. The beach was great, it got real busy over the holiday weekend but we claimed a prime spot at about 10:00-10:30 each day with no problem. Much later than that and you would end up in the second tier behind others. I have a feeling that was just due to the holiday crowd though. The beach was nice, the seaweed was plentiful but didn't bother us. Waves were great. The water was a bit cool still and the constant wind kept it from ever feeling hot. A few times we would even get a chill. The kids were fine though.

Clayton's Bar
The bar next door was exactly that, right next door. That can be good or bad. We really enjoyed the music as well as the extra dining option. However, it got really crowded and it is where the day use party crowd goes. If you want quiet, be sure to get a room facing the opposite side. Also, they have a great 5-8 minute fireworks show on weekend nights throughout the summer. We really enjoyed this show, it is well done for free entertainment. Most of the music played by the DJ or live bands was country or recent pop hits. I noticed that the bands made an effort to stay PG which we appreciated with our kids.

Room Tip: If you don't want to here the music from Clayton's all the time, get a room facing north. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPBonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize you didn’t feel fully satisfied with your stay and we will address all concerns in a timely fashion. We hope to have you another time in the future and again sorry for the inconveniences.

Sincerely,
Aaron R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not all of the rooms have a direct view of the gulf, but I got exactly what I wanted...a direct view...and have no regrets! Hotel is next to a great night spot, Clayton's, so it was easy to have a good time. I will definitely visit this La Quinta in the future!

Room Tip: King bed, ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Rod,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We’re glad you enjoyed your gulf view and Clayton’s next door. We appreciate you choosing us and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed a couple weeks ago for Mother's Day and weren't disappointed. the staff with great, room clean, and location good too. King size bed, plenty of space and a jetted tub, with being able to walk right out to the beach from the hotel made it simple. Look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrDmay580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your recent Mother’s Day getaway experience! We’re thrilled you had a fun time staying with us enjoying your room, our location, and staff. We appreciate you choosing us and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
242 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,633 reviews
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
343 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £65 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing