We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right next to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Right next to the beach”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We traveled to South Padre at the end of July and stayed at the LA Quinta South Padre. The room was ok; had a smell to it. But you somewhat expect that from a hotel where the carpets are constantly getting wet. The breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful. Wi-Fi was not very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDubDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Hi Dan,

We're happy you chose to stay with us this month! We’re glad you were able to experience South Padre Island as well as the convenience and luxury our hotel has to offer. We're always looking for ways to improve our processes and I will ensure that your comment is passed along to the appropriate manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    357
    139
    91
    87
See reviews for
515
361
40
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My family & I stayed here. We had a room facing the beach. This hotel is well taken care of, clean & spacious room with a comfortable bed! It did have the smallest refridgerator I had ever seen but it worked along with a microwave. Every morning we woke up and had the best breakfast we have ever had from a 'continitial breakfast' from a hotel, they had everything you could think of. The only thing is the ocean view room isnt worth the price. The balcony was barely big enough to sit in a chair.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a very very small balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 28 May 2015
Dear Maggie,

Thank you so much for the review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as well as the property as a whole. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Arriving at 5 p.m., I was informed that the room that I had reserved was not available. It had been given to another guest. I was offered the option of a different room. Since my card had been charged for the first night regardless of their error, I had little choice but to accept the offer. Accommodations were to standard. The logistics of moving around in the hallways were challenging as the hotel was fully booked. Elevators need some type of ventilation as even the short trips a few flights up or down were a chore. Nicest amenity is that is is on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank C1253MVrichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry for the problems you endured during your recent stay with us. We’re appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been brought to the attention of our management for review. Again accept our apology and we hope you consider staying with us again for your future travels to South Padre Island. It would be an honor to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I went to South Padre Island for one night. I went with my sister and my oldest daughter. Our room was awesome. We had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. We also had a small balcony. The customer service was wonderful! Access to the beach was easy. We brought our own beach chairs and beach towels.
Our continental breakfast was not the best. The waffles were decent. Coffee was so so. Not many choices for breakfast. That is my only real complaint!
Go to the local tourist shop and purchase your beach towels or better yet bring your own towels from home. Beach chairs purchased at Big Lots for 5.00. Buy your own umbrella from Walmart, Target or bring your own beach chairs and umbrella from home.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the elevator and the stairs. The elevator is always busy and crowded. Take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ada62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Dear guest,

We are so glad that your experience with us was everything and more. We are honored to have you choose our property for your hotel accommodation needs. We look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Family of 4 stayed at hotel for only two nights. Planned on staying four. Hotel smells of mildew and mold. Did not feel clean. Pull out sofa was very worn and desperately needs replacing. Squeaky and the most uncomfortable. Only a very small patch of grass near hotel for pets to use. Otherwise, had to walk a ways down hill from hotel entrance to larger area of grass. Loud air conditioner and seemed to cool only in one area; no way to adjust vents. Continental breakfast was horrible and tasteless. Breakfast served on the fourth floor in dingy, not so inviting area. Waffles prepared by staff and placed under warming light and no where near warm; guests are not allowed to make own waffles. Dish of eggs, believed to have sausage, uncovered. Muffins cold as in just defrosted or removed from fridge. Pool area is small and cramped. My husband killed a roach in the BR. Will NEVER stay at this hotel again and not likely to return to South Padre any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is with great disappointment I read your review and learned that we were not able to meet your expectations. However we are looking into the details of your experience and we will proceed with the improvements and training where possible.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 4 days with 2 teenagers and we had a great time. The staff was awesome everyday and everywhere we went in the hotel. Location is great and walking down a few steps to the beach was fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Genise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Genise,

Thank you for choosing us to stay with! We’re very happy you had a wonderful experience and loved our beach access. We would love to have you back! Thanks again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

There is standing water where dogs pass through next to the yellow cloudy pool water wear my daughter swam in and got an ear infection from. The General Manager refused to admit the conditions were unsanitary. The staff was excellent. A hotel that allows dogs should not be carpeted. I have nothing against dogs it the smell and cleanliness I am against. avoid he pool if you go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. Please rest assured that we are taking your feedback serious and are looking into the areas of possible improvement. Thank you again for the constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LaQuinta, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing