We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveller rating
706
409
178
115
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
409
178
115
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar next door waffles a pet friendly hotel beach bar clayton's bar tortillas made to order omelets pool area small balcony beach front north side omelet station ocean view free breakfast birding center beach access fourth floor
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We have stayed at this hotel several times and enjoyed each trip. This time Matt at the front desk was especially helpful by giving us another room, and being very courteous every time we requested anything. Jorge in the outside bar was great also with outstanding service and friendliness. The housekeeping was very good with constant cleaning going on in the common areas.

Our only problem is not with this hotel, but with La Quinta's policy of allowing pets at no extra charge. We have found that on our last couple of stays at these hotels it seems that the pet owners by far outnumber the non pet owners. We love dogs even though we do not have one, That said, when you are hearing dogs barking and running into them every time you turn around is not our idea of a relaxing stay. I am sure that corporate management with La Quinta feels they can make more money by attracting pet owners than they will lose when people do not want to stay there for the reasons stated above. We have stayed at La Qunitas at least 10 times a year for several years, but that will no longer be the case.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalP, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi John J,

We appreciate your loyalty and time taken to leave us details of your experience. Thank you for recognizing our staff on the great work they're doing, we're disappointed your stay was not as relaxing as it could have been. We hope you let us show you a much better experience with another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Fast check in and check out, the room was super clean, bed and pillows was like a cloud and sheets were clean and smell good, beautiful view,great and helpful staff, i will defenetly book this great hotel again actually i already did for november 8

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalP, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Abigail H,

We are very happy you had a perfect stay with us and thank you for leaving your great feedback. Out staff works hard to make a difference in your stay and we look forward to hosting you again on November 8th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This hotel is Exactly the same as LaCopa except LQ has a bigger bar and snack food area. If you like a lot of people with Clayton's next door and Hilton on the other side this is the place for you. Suggest top floor as hotel caters to ALOT of families with kiddies running all over the place.....especially in the room. Unfortunately we had a 2nd floor room with children above.....it is amazing how small children have such heavy feet!! Poor sound absorption on people walking above you. The breakfast is OK as long as you enjoy fighting/screaming children all over. I doubt I would stay here again and I'm a LQ member! Was pretty disappointing. I'll stay at the other end of the island like I normally do....but thought I would try LQ. I've stayed at the Hilton next door....suggest you spend a little more for a nicer hotel!! I will in the future if I decide to stay on the north end.

Room Tip: Request room on 4th floor facing North to see Gulf
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevC607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalP, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi BevC607,

We appreciate your time take to leave details of your stay and our apologies for all the issues you encountered during your stay. We have spoken with our staff on the value of creating a rewarding experience for you and we hope you allow us to show you a much better time with another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The perfect place to stay and relax at south padre island. Very nice hotel along with service plus every thing is very close by. And don’t forget the ocean view. It is amazing at night especially with the fireworks. It is the place to be in and enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Ruben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalP, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi Ruben A,

We appreciate your time taken to leave your nice comments and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our staff works hard to make a difference in your stay, we hope to be your preferred hotel on the Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great hotel; clean, and right on the beach. Wish I would have brought my dog, but was able to pet other doggos :) Breakfast was free and tasty, and there was an omelette bar where you could get a fresh-made omelette made to order.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank X150QFamandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalP, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi X150QFamandan,

It's great you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for leaving your feedback. We strive for you to have the best experience possible and please come back with your dog next time you're on South Padre Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews