We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor food, good view, terribly slow service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Hacienda - CLOSED

La Hacienda
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
dallas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Poor food, good view, terribly slow service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The food was bad. Some in our group thought it tasted like chemicals, maybe dishwasher detergent. It took 2.5 hours to get through dinner. 45 minutes just to get our first drinks. Maybe we had terrible service because we had a group, and the gratuity was automatically included. We will never go back. If you go, don't go with a group, and stick with tex-mex dishes. The fish and veggies in particular were bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    11
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Undiscovered restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Loved it! Outside seating right on the bay, delicious meal, great waiter, beautiful restaurant. Spotless bathrooms. Great atmosphere. Restaurant located in prime spot for the summer fireworks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Meh - maybe we caught them on an "off" day?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We went to La Hacienda because the Yelp reviews were high, but we were disappointed. We had a waitress who was brand new (first day), so that didn't help. We were there for a late lunch and were the only customers in the restaurant, but service was still slow, even coming to get our order. The food was okay, I had the beef fajita special and the meat was cut into thick chunks and cooked individually. Maybe I'm used to a different style of fajita meat, but I'm used to the whole skirt steak being cooked, then sliced thin.... oh well! Maybe they're better at dinner time?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klanicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful bay sunset view and excellent Mexican dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ventured to this fairly new restaurant after deciding we wanted to go somewhere with a nice view and we were not disappointed!! They have a beautiful floating deck for outdoor seating however we decided to sit inside right by the huge windows that overlook the bay with a nice view of the bridge. The table side guacamole was fresh and very tasty which went along great with the thick crunchy homemade chips. I ordered the blackened fish tacos which came with white rice and grilled veggies. My husband had the Monterrey plate which consisted of a beef fajita taco, cheese enchilada, beef fajita enchilada and rice and beans. Both dishes were delicious! We capped it all off with tres leches cake which could have been more moist but was still pretty tasty. Overall this place was a great new addition to our usual restaurants we have been going to over the years in South Padre and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is THE place to watch the sunset, have a meal and drinks. David was our waiter and was quite the character. He was funny, attentive, and just good people. I had the fish tacos and my husband had a combo plate. The margaritas were a little watery, but everything else was spectacular. The sunset was gorgeous! We highly recommend La Hacienda.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmlaw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Hacienda also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing