We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such fun place for young and old !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such fun place for young and old !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Treated granddaughters to fun trip & stay. So memorable. They were sooooooo happy and pleased.. Then granddaughters & their mom and dad went home......I stayed behind and had two sisters join me for one extra day of just grown-up fun...sunbathing, having lunch and drinks at beachfront restaurant there @ Schlitterbhan.....then we actually did the water slides at the hotel....crazy sisters having a great time ! loved the whole day, and ended with great dinner @ the Shrimp Haus. Trying to get reservations to get back there!

Room Tip: be honest in your needs/expectations at time of getting your room...they accommodate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marikita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
There is always plenty to do for all ages here at the Schlitterbahn Beach Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write such a remarkable review. You can call 956-761-1160 for direct reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    136
    70
    33
    37
See reviews for
296
46
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel view is great, the waterpark is fantadtic we really had good time there.the staff are freindly and we you need room service they come fast.they have a free playing area for kids.also there is a restaurant at the roof top of the building named sun 4 ever, the food is good, the dessert is super nice and the view is marvelous. We would definitely repeat this trip

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The water park is ok if you have very young kids... up to 9 or maybe a couple years older if they can't swim... The slides are not as cool as the location in New Braunfels.... But it's the beach and it's wet.... Now the hotel rooms... We stayed in a Deluxe, Ocean View -- the room is OK, but the bathroom is very small and there are no balconies which I think is a must at the beach (for drying your wet items) especially if you pay more for the ocean view ... hard to enjoy the view and breeze without a balcony... Service was just OK... 3 stars at best.

Room Tip: Any room is OK... don't pay the upcharge for the ocean view... No Balconies available to enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gap F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a response and will use your feedback accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in the beachfront rooms. There is an amazing roof top restaurant and bar here; the only one on the island. This hotel is the best of both worlds: schlitterbahn and the beautiful beach on south padre. The water is beautiful and clean. The kids can do the water park for a while
And then go to
The beach. The rooms were excellent size and design. Brand new last year and very clean and tidy. There are four restaurant on premise, so you really don't have to leave unless you choose to. We will go again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holliharrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to having you and family back with us on your next visit to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our first stay at the resort. I urge you to read the website very carefully! Check the calendar to make sure the outdoor water park is open on the days you want to go. I found the website tricky especially since initially it charged me full water park prices for indoor and outdoor parks (a mistake later corrected) leading me to believe that we would be able to attend both indoor and outdoor parks, when in reality only the indoor park would be open during 2 of our 3 days there. Also keep in mind that the price for the parks (per person) will be added on to your rate, and you have to pay that wether you actually go to the park or not.

We have a 10 year old son, and while the Torrent river and the two slides in the indoor park are really fun, they are not enough to keep you entertained for a day. The indoor water park is about 1-2 hours of fun for school-aged kids, so keep this in mind when you plan your trip. Also, we thought the early access to the park promised to resort guests was for both the indoor and outdoor parks, but it's just the indoor park. It would be really nice if guests also got an hour extra at the outdoor park. The outdoor park is fun, but not as large as the New Braunfels park. The staff and lifeguards in the water parks were not as friendly as they are at the New Braunfels Schlitterbahn, but most of the rides feed directly off the lazy river and that's a neat design.

The hotel itself is in good shape, especially since it's pretty new. I'm not sure how well it will age. I really appreciate that they made a lot of effort to keep the construction green, reusing water slides from other parks, reclaimed wood from around the country, and even light fixtures from old hotels in Vegas. There's a nice explanation of these things in the welcome packet. Because of our confusion and disappointment about the outdoor park hours, and since the hotel was not crowded when we were there, the management switched us to an ocean view room. We appreciated that customer service. The view from the room was beautiful! But I don't understand why they made it so the window would not open - so no listening the the waves or feeling the ocean breeze. Also, there are no balconies. Either or both would have been nice. The room had a king bed with a sleeper sofa, and the room was a large size with plenty of room for the three of us. The bed was comfy with many pillows. There is a large mini fridge and microwave in the room so you can bring your own snacks and light meals. There's also a large flat screen tv. One complaint about the room is what others have pointed out, the shower/toilette room was absurdly small! You can barely open the door!! The sink it just outside that room. The room would really benefit from some extra hooks on the wall by the sink to hang towels and suits to dry. Since there's no balcony, it would help to have some place to hang wet suits and towels besides the shower rail, which may already have bath towels on it. The "key" is a handy wristband that works on all the security doors. That's a smart touch so you don't have to worry about your keys in the water park.

While we found the staff responsive to any requests we had (like sending security to quiet the sudden loud music that came blasting from the bar below us at 10:30 at night long after the bar had closed) in general the staff was stoic and unsmiling, except at the front desk where they were always friendly. Maybe it had been a long season? I can only compare it to the New Braunfels staff who is super friendly in our experience. I'm sure these folks deal with a lot of hassle, but we were a bit surprised. One other thing to note is that check out time is noon and you are welcome to continue enjoying the park until closing time, but they have no place to store your luggage. We had driven so we could put our bags in the car and then rent a locker for valuable and electronics, but if you have flown in, I'm not sure what you'd do. Also, it would be nice if there were some outdoor showers so you could rinse off before changing and leaving. We walked over to the beach access and showered off there.

The beach outside the hotel is beautiful, and if you walk south it's pretty undeveloped. They rent chairs and umbrellas. The resort is located to the south end of the town, and it's a short drive to lots of restaurants. We didn't eat in the resort so I can't comment on the food.

Overall, this is a decent choice if you have kids and the water park is your priority. But do look over that calendar carefully to make sure the hours suit your schedule, and remember to add on the price of water park tickets per person to your room total.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruvkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for the feedback about our Hotel. We do urge everyone to consult our park calendar when they make reservations. We are installing a clothes dryer line in the restrooms for our guests to hang their swimwear on to dry. We do also have several washers and dryers our guests to use as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This resort was a hit with the kids in our party. Having the in-door park available to the hotel quests from 9-10 am was a real plus. Since we were there on a weekend and the room price included daily tickets to the water park, the rates were competitive with other hotels on the Island; however, other hotels drop their rates during the week, making this hotel overpriced during the week. Check in was extremely unorganized. We arrived early and were given wristbands for the watermark, but we had to return at 4:00 and stand in line to check in. Since I had reserved 2 rooms, the person in the second room then had to "Go to the back of the line!" and do it all over again. Why couldn't we have filled out the hard copy information form when we arrived and had an express line to pick up our keys when the rooms were ready? Luckily this hotel is new, so, in most cases, the appearance is fine, but it seriously lacks basic maintenance. For instance, the elevator was dirty first thing in the morning. Kudos to the towel staff. They offered the best customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
I am glad to hear your children had such a great time. We are looking into ways to streamline our Check-in process as well. Thank you for the comments about the Hotel and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Rooms were right on the indoor Park wave pool. Swim-up bar for adults was nice. Everything was within a short walking distance. Great experience for our family. You can pack your own picnic, which saves you lots of money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edubbs0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
We appreciate your feedback about our Hotel. Thank you for staying with us. It's great to hear that your experience was wonderful and we look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Property: Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing