We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great getaway vacation ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great getaway vacation ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a little getaway for the family to be able to explore south padre island beach and enjoy the waterpark. When checking in around 4:30p, one of our rooms was not yet cleaned, and they need more luggage carts. We waited at least 30 min to retrieve one. The rooms were a good size, however the bathrooms were extremely tight. The access to the beach was right outside our room, definitely a plus. I wish the waterpark was open longer to the guest of the resort, however they did have the boogiebahn open for an hour longer after the park closed and opened the indoor waterpark a hour before. When going to the beach, you have to pay to rent beach chairs, as opposed to the other resort, they had umbrellas and chairs setup as a part of the stay. This should be something they consider to include as part of the nightly fee when staying at their resort. The resort and waterpark were clean and my family had a wonderful time during our stay. Definitely would recommend!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMO86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for staying and all of the compliments....we look forward to having you again and I appreciate you mentioning that we keep our Boogie Bahn inland surfing ride open unitl 9:00 pm duirng the summer (the last hour is hotel guest exclusive) and we open the indoor park at 9:00 am (an hour before it opens for other patrons)....so resort Guests have up to 12 hours of fun in store when visiting...that doesn't even include the fact you are just steps from the beach!

Thanks again for recommending and we look forward to your next stay!
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    129
    64
    31
    36
See reviews for
282
39
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Took my grandkids here for vacation.Great room overlooking spectacular beach. Water park access was great. Will definitely be making this a yearly trip. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Convenient restaurans in the park -- good food and very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nana1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words and glad to see that you are making us part of your annual plans with the grandkids! We love the fact that we have so many returnees already to our new resort.

Make sure you are in the water with the grandkids! Everyone can let their inner kid come out here!

Thanks again,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ck in was at 4 we finally got to our room at 5:45 so they moved our ck out time to 2 instead of 12 (kids said yea) room was very spacious (very)small bathroom elevators broke down a couple of times thank goodness we weren't on them at the time.!! Staff were very friendly would help in anyway possible.!! Would go back for sure.!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waynette-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for the comments and glad you had such a good time...hope you took advantage of the extended ride time we offer exclusively for our resort Guests! Hope to see you again real soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We checked into this resort on Thursday and will be checking out tomorrow (Sunday). Overall, the resort has been nice. The staff is friendly and helpful, our room was great, the beach access was wonderful. Our main complaint is with access to the outdoor water park. We knew that today would probably be a busy day being Saturday, so we planned to get over to the water park right at 10:00 when it opened. However, our access from the resort to the water park was closed. We waited with a group of other resort guests and finally decided to go through the blocked entrance on our own when no one came at 10:00 to let us in. Once we got into the water park (at 10:05) it was already so crowded that we had trouble finding even one chair to put our stuff down. It was very frustrating to know that others had been allowed in to the park before 10:00 while resort guests were stuck waiting. A family we were waiting with even said they had tried getting in shortly before 10:00 and were sent back. The water park was so crowded by 11:00 we ended up going back to the resort pool to swim. It's very disappointing that we paid so much to stay at the resort, but we weren't allowed to enter the park early like others (who were not resort guests). Luckily, we did get a good water park day on Friday when it was not so crowded. I don't recommend this water park on busy days unless you really don't mind crowds. Basically, our room rate each night included water park access that we really only used one day. The resort pools are nice, but also get crowded since water park guests are allowed to use them as well. It would be nice if there was a pool area that was only available to resort guests. The walls to the rooms are also very thin so you can hear a lot of noise from other guests, but we brought a large box fan that drowned out all the extra noise so it did not bother us.

Room Tip: Our beach front king room had a great view and was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krispix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for visiting and posting about your stay. Sincerest apologies about the tunnel access as our General Manager (upon my asking around) noted that we were a bit late that morning in opening the access from the indoor to outdoor parks. Even the busiest days allow you to stay in the water, relaxing in a tube, instead of climbing stairs all day. The particular day you refer to was particularly busy to the annual Island of Praise Christian Festival that waas held. We hope you enjoyed the wide variety of music provided throughout the day and hope to see you back soon.

We always recommend Sunday - Fridays to avoid peak crowds and try to hit the most popular rides first thing in the day and later in the evening to find the smallest lines....also, make sure to take advantage of the exclusive ride time at the indoor park in the morning and at the Boogie Bahn in the evening (resort Guest exclusives)!

Thanks again,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took a trip to celebrate 10 years of marriage. When we first got to our room we discovered we had no running water. My husband went down to talk to the manager to see what was going on. The staff behind the counter was not real helpful. They claimed the city was working on the water and we should have water by 8 pm. Finally a manger sent my hubby over to check tower 2 to see if they had water...and they did. So they ended upgrading us from our room that over looked the park to a room over looking the beach. Of course we didn't turn it down. The room was very nice and big. I LOVE that key to the room is on the wristband ( no forgetting your key here!!) The staff in the park were always professional and polite. I don't think I ever walked by a staff member that didn't smile and say hello. The park was very nice too. I enjoyed being able to ride in the rivee to the rides. It was also nice that we had access to the beach. It was a very nice experience and I look forward to going back again sometime.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Appreciate the comments and the time you took to post! Thanks so much for the compliments as we work hard to ensure Guest satisfaction and making everyone feel at home and welcome.

The City of South Padre Island was working on the water lines during your stay (lines run from the mainland to the Island) and the 1-2 times a year this is done does adversely affect water pressure on the Island for a few hours.....glad to hear our staff did everything they could do within our power to accommodate you and turn a potential negative experience into something memorable.

We hope to have you back soon!!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our family stayed three nights and will do it again! You can't beat the convenience of being connected to the water park and of course the beach!! Loved the atmosphere of the Beachside Grill and the staff there was the best! !

Room Tip: Room says slept six…space was in the room but no sleeper and cots were not available. Plan ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasRocks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for allowing us to provide smiles and good times to your family! The staff comments are especially appreciated as it reinforces what we train and teach to our several hundred employees...I will gladly share with our team and thanks again!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

So the hotel seems run down but in working condition, room had a weird smell when we walked in, the bathroom is very small. We stayed in the king suit. It was $303 after taxes included the water park tickets I would have expected a bigger bathroom. You can't even sit on the toilet and close the door. The window curtain didn't close all the way. It did have a white sheer on it but we didn't feel comfortable just having a sheer curtain so we used a blanket and hung it on the bar and the sun showed all the stains on the blanket. That was kinda gross and not reassuring at all. So needless to say we just didn't want to know what our sheets looked like so we left that alone. It was nice to see a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Alarm clock didn't work and I missed the sunrise. I'm a photographer and really wanted to photograph the sunrise on the beach. Shower pressure was low (but aren't all hotels like that). The bath faucet leaked and got water on the floor but we were only there one night. Probably why it smelled. Like wet towels. Other than that the room was ok. The park seemed ok. They were fixing up some things. People tried to be nice but were really not good at it. Front counter guy spoke like he was an auctioneer. The girls were really nice and friendly. Everyone else just didn't try. It's ok. Good location on the beach. I say your just paying for location more than anything.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drea1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and hope your next stay better meets your expectations.

I wish we would have been informed about a leak so that we could attended to it during your stay and/or moved you into another room. The curtains are actually a three-part system with a sheer curtain, a decorative "half" curtain and the back, blackout curtain. Waterpark savings of 40% - 70% are extended to our Guests and even includes extended ride time (for resort Guests only) at the indoor park and Boogie Bahn.

Thanks for mentioning the amenities such as the mini-fridge and mcrowave. In room safes and Wolfgang Puck coffee (plus popcorn!) are also provided on a complimentary basis.

Once again, apoligies that we did not meet all of your expectations but certainly hope that you join the many others that have returned and provided such glowing reviews.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Property: Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing