We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Beach(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beachside Inn(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl South Padre(South Padre Island)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Grand Beach Resort(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
217
158
83
40
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
158
83
40
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkindoor waterparkseaside grilltorrent rivermain parkswim up barheated poolshrimproom keybreakfast tacosfamily vacationice chestoff seasoncarouselloblollybeachisland
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would would recommend as a beach resort with mini water park opposed to a Waterpark with a beach...Arrived on a Sunday, 7/13. We were a party of 5, two parents, 20 yr old, 14 year old and 11 year old. As other reviewers have noted, it is surprisingly difficult to find. I would suggest they invest in better and more visible signage. Check in was a breeze, but parking was hectic. We had a King suite with two pull outs with beach side view on the 1st floor. Room had two 40 inch TVs and was quite comfortable. While we could see the beach, we had a better view of the pool. I would say skip the view and save some money. Let's discuss Water parks first. Our stay included access to all of the waterparks each day. We just got bands for entry each morning. It is not a typical Schlitterbahn Park, so there are no mega slides at all. There are two 4 story rides adjacent to resort. Short walk up and ride was fun, but quick. The rest of the Slides are all tied to the the Lazy river. Not very tall, but fast and fun. There is a Lazy river right by our room, which turned into "El Torrente" and boy was that fun!!! Fast, scary river ride!!! The kids loved it. There were a couple of pools, but they are on the smallish side. Food was typical resort pricing. 5 burgers and drinks came to $85.00 and one eatery. The Beach on the other hand was fabulous. Silky sand, temperate water with beautiful blue tint. We loved it. Highest praise I could say about the beach is that when on the beach, you could not tell you were not on South Beach Miami. The Hotel staff was always pleasant and helpful. I would say if your are early teems or younger, they would love both the beach and water parks. Older kids probably would like the water park and love the beach. I would recommend that they enhance their pools. They are too small. I would like to see a larger serenity pool area for just adults only. with a swim up Bar, cabanas and not so shallow as the two main pools. I enjoyed the resort this time, but see no need to ever go again to this resort. I look forward to going to another Schlitterbahn Water Park in the future as my kids are getting older

Room Tip: Beach front room is nice, but not needed as beach is just a short walk and you want to be outside
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigDogAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Unfortunately, we hear about signage quite frequently and trust me, we are hard at work trying to change the ridiculous local ordinance that prohibits anything bigger than what we currently have...it is frustrating for us as well.

We provide the two four-story tall slides, plus four uphill water coasters, multiple other chutes and kid's areas, plus one of the largest inland surfing rides (Boogie Bahn) around.....and Texas' most beautiful beaches are the icing on the cake.

Multiple swim-up bars are also provided for our adult Guests and many enjoy the private cabanas we have available for the extra special vacation perk.

Thanks again for coming!
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We took our 4 yr old and a 3 week old baby. Compared to other hotels the price was excellent considering that the water park entrance was included. Room was ready when we arrived around 2pm. I loved the key system made it easy to hold things and open the door easy. Room was very clean and we had an excellent view of the indoor water park. Very friendly staff. The only 2 downsides were that the restroom was very small and I asked for a crib and got a playpen instead. But overall had an excellent time and looking forward to staying here again soon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for staying and bringing the family!

We hope you can continue visiting as the kids grow and are able to experience even more of the fun we have to provide.

The "wristband" key system is an easy way to access your room and not have to worry about where that darned hotel credit card key is!!

Thanks again,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Disclaimer: We do not in anyway want people NOT stay here but I just want to give words of advice and we won't be staying here again but we will be back to SPI.
Entrance- not marked very well and being such a LARGE resort you’d think there were will be more than just some colored flags…
Front Desk- Friendly and upgraded room and view (for free)
Room- large but lacked hooks to hang towels and needed more hangers
--Beds were comfy and the room was really clean (bonus for a germ-a-phobe)
--Bathroom-small, so small that you really couldn’t lay a towel down without the door taking it off the floor, thus WATER everywhere…
--Missing the clothes line mentioned in other posts, and stated by the manager that was in each room, NOT in 444, Tower B (needless to say we have A LOT of wet clothes and towels)
Food- Seaside Grill was delicious and the staff working that day were nice and wonderful
Sea4Ever Rooftop Restaurant, service was extremely slow, food was meh, cold and WAY overpriced. We are foodies and thought we would check it out…not worth the time or money. Only High Notes: The view was amazing and the bartender made wonderful drinks.
NOTE: if you are staying in Tower B, do not get the 4th Floor---you are going to be awakened at 1030-1100 by the moving of Giants and stomping of feet (the front desk asked them to be more quiet but that lasted about 10-15 minutes) by that point we were asleep.
Beach Access: AWESOME, the best money we spent at the resort was for the chairs and the umbrella only $20 and they moved everything—woohoo!
Note: when you have only ONE shower and a line of 20-30 people it gets crazy with the caking of sand “puddles” and people….a second shower would do wonders ;o)
Waterpark—indoor part was really cool, especially to use it before the rest opened
However: we are not familiar with the park or how it works and we literally walked around lost, and we were NOT the only people to be “lost”. Yes, there are maps but when staff look and they see we are lost, could they lend a hand? 99.9% of the staff were friendly, courteous and helped when they could but observation skills go along way when you are paying that kind of money for a resort…

Room Tip: Tower B, Best Views of Beach and Pool
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for the comments and we certainly hope you will consider staying with us again soon.

Unfortunately, the local city ordinance currently prohibits larger signage (we are fighting it and agree it is ridiculous!)

We appreciate the items you mentioned in your critique and rest assured they will be addressed as this is how we have quickly become one of the most popular and highest rated properties on SPI.

In park maps help guide you around the property as well as the ability to receive one from our front desk anytime.

Thanks again for visiting us and South Padre Island!!
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights an the kids had a blast. Rooms are very clean, hotel staff is extremely nice, with that being said the guards treat people staying in the hotel like prisoners at the gates in the morning. It's funny to see outside ticket holders already on rides while you wait on the other side of the fence(that is if you have spent hundreds of dollars for this exact thing not to happen)!! I had to ask for a manager 3 times and half the day later I finally spoke with a lady at the front desk in a pink shirt. She was very nice and apologetic. I told her there was about 40 people waiting after 10am with rude lifeguards. She let me know they would look into it. All in all my kids had a blast and so did we!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew_Goe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for visiting and glad that you had a good time and also shared your kind words and critiques.

I have shared your comments to ensure that both the plaudits and corrections can be made to ensure better customer satisfaction.

Thanks again,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The resort is SUPER clean and attentive to every need. They have a great staff! Denise, the manager there was super helpful to get us into our room early when we checked in with our sick 3 year old nephew. The indoor park is not very big but it still has a great river. The little ones loved the indoor kiddie areas. The outside pool is heated in winter and has a great swim up bar. There is a shuttle that takes you to and from the outdoor water park and to the hotel. There is also a walkway tunnel you can walk to and from water park through there as well.
Whether you come with kids or just adults... this is a great Hotel to stay at. The food at the Hotels cafe is really good too, especially their pizza and I am a picky pizza eater.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a room with a view and if you do not want to hear the kids running to and from their rooms... maybe ask for a room where there are not many kids around or a room at the opposite end of the elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for the nice words and coming down from the Houston area to visit....

If you enjoy the easy access of the walking tunnel, wait until you see the newest addition to the park....the first underground waterslide in Texas....coming soon!! Imagine floating from the indoor park to the outdoor park.....

We look forward to seeing you again real soon!

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews