We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Padre Beach”

Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“South Padre Beach”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I took a mini-vacation down to South Padre Island Beach and then to Corpus Christi Beach, I live about an hour away from Galveston Beach. First off S.P.I. is fabulous and Galveston doesn't even come close to the beautiful water that South Padre has. I can't believe they are on the same coast line. The weather was perfect, the water was fabulous. The beach line was extremely packed, miles of cars lined along the coast. Our only mistake was going on the 4th of July. We went to see the fireworks, which was pretty cool, but OH MY GOODNESS, we sat in 2 1/2 hours of traffic barely moving leaving the island. However, it was worth the trip and time. We will go back, just not during any holiday.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    61
    19
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Texas
2 reviews
“Seaweed”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Everything was great, except Sea Breeze, which had construction around the pools and ruined our trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wiley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg MB
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“So nice to see and walk the ocean again!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A nice area to spend the day walking the beach, loved it! Will definitely go there again when visiting Texas next year!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyrodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The drive was peaceful”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

You have to pay a $10 deposit in order for you to get into the beach but if you leave before 7 you get $5 back. I personally enjoyed driving on the beach and ours was a spur of the moment decision so we didn't have towels or anything to sit on. We drove slowly with the windows down and it was a peaceful experience. However if you don't want to drive on the beach and just want to relax many of the locals just drive until the road ends never actually going into an access point and park there and just walk over the dunes. This saves you $5 or $10 if you plan to stay all night.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank RachyRay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“2 of 4 got BAD sand flea bites walking on south padre island. They pustuled up, itched, lasted a few days.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I walked barefoot in water n sand n on dunes at end of island. Other person wore long pants n shoes n socks. We didn't get bites. Other two people got BAD bites, tho wearing long pants n shoes, From buttocks to ankles. We also walked on beach same way.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank yup2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Padre Island Beach Driving also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Beach Driving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing