We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is fresh!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uchi Restaurant - CLOSED

Uchi Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese, Sushi, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It is fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Small place but you will be surprised about the freshness of the food
Is not that frequent that you have fresh sushi in the RGV

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great carry out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The closet we have to chinese food on the island. The staff is friendly and always very good carry out with large portions for the cost.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank weinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good pad thai, ok sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Went a couple times on my trip to da island, had the pad thai and a platter of vegetable rolls. The pad thai was good but a little overpriced. They do give you a lot tho. The vegetables rolls were just ok, nothing spectacular. The waitresses were very nice and the sushi chef did a good job with what he had. It's kind of a neat little place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Surfjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isabel, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Winter Specials are $5.95.

Specials include Soup (Miso or Crab Egg Drop)

We had Mongolian Beef and Thai Coconut Chicken . Good portions and choice of Fried or Steamed Rice.

Saw other customers eating sushi and enjoying. I do not do sushi.

The building is very unique. Odd angles. Have not seen anything so unusual on South Padre.

I recommend on shear value. I would go again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank coxcanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
320 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Sushi & Chinese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Enjoyed lunch here today - the sushi was fresh and tasty, and the Chinese Kung Pao Chicken lunch special was good too. They served a crab soup before getting our main entrees, and although it was imitation crab, it was delicious. It is a nice place with cute decor, and the waitress was very helpful although could have been friendlier. Definitely will come back here for Asian food next time we are on South Padre Island.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uchi Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing