We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 kids + 1 dog + La Copa = pretty satisfying stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We decided for whatever bizarre reason to take our chihuahua with us on a family post-Christmas vacation, along with a 2-year-old, a 4-year-old and a teenager. Chihuahua loved the pet relief station downstairs. Teenager loved the epic Texas-shaped Belgian waffles (oh my goodness, those were good). Come to think of it, my husband did, as well. What we were after was exactly what we got: A clean (but not amazing) room with everything we needed, a good breakfast, a quick jaunt to the beach (out the back door and across a wooden walkway, and you're there!), and a price that made it worthwhile. We got oodles of drink coupons when we arrived and used precisely zero of them, but that would have been a nice perk. The concierge was helpful pointing us to various area attractions, as we'd never been there before. All in all, we had no complaints about, well...anything. We were on the 4th floor, but not beach-view side, and there was no noise to speak of. Everything seemed in good shape - comfy beds, nice little balcony, neat bathroom. Again, we had no complaints at all and would not hesitate to return to La Copa if we hit South Padre again. In fact, it's not always easy to find places that are dog-friendly, so that's a rather big plus if you do find yourself traveling with your pooch.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room facing an adjacent building, and could look to our left to see the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

La Copa doesn't bill itself as a 5 star resort, nor did we expect one, but did expect things to be as advertised. Most places we stay either meet or exceed their advertisements, but La Copa fell short. We requested a 4th floor beach view room which at the time of booking they said ok. Upon arrival no 4th floor rooms available, but was offered a 2nd floor beach view. Good view, but more noisey as it sat over the pool area. They advertise wifi in all rooms, but to get internet we had to go out of our room, and about 30 feet into the main hallway. When we asked about this just got a blank oh well stare. Nice flatscreen TV, but most channels fuzzy. The room was nice, clean, and staff friendly although most had very little grasp of the English language, so each question was an adventure. On our next trip to South Padre we will be looking for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Disappointed that we prepurchased a two night beach view stay and instead got a first floor pool view room with in a very high traffic area ; by ice & vending , bar & service entrance. Staff said beach view reserved for guests staying at least 3 nights! Never stay there again! Too bad as beach access great & room was decent.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Texicanbybirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My husband and I gave our grown children the option of getting Christmas gifts or getting a free vacation to South Padre. Three of the five chose vacation - and we chose La Copa Inn as our hotel. What a wonderful place! They had a fairly good selection of free breakfast items; the pool was always warm and crystal clear - and it overlooked the Gulf; the staff was extremely friendly; the rooms were always clean; the beds were extremely comfortable; and the rates were reasonable. Rooms include a small microwave and fridge so you can keep snacks on hand. The hotel also has a couple smaller meeting rooms and allowed us to use one each night to play board games and cards. I'd highly recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: I didn't have any bad experiences so as far as I'm concerned, all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bunnyzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HershalP, Owner at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Thank you for your kind words about the La Copa. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed for two nights in November at the Copa. The place was nice enough, but seemed to be going through a remodel or something. When we got to our room, we noticed right away that the couch was really dirty and had stains from prior guests. We called housekeeping and they actually brought up a "new" couch and took the bad one out. Complaint handled without a problem and the staff was friendly. Lots of rooms on the bottom floor were left open and paint work appeared to be under way. We got a king size bed with a room on the 3rd floor with ocean view balcony and upgraded it to a jacuzzi room. The ocean view and balcony were great, but the jacuzzi was not worth the money. If I had to do it over again I would not have upgraded to the jacuzzi. The pool area was nice and the outdoor hot tub was good and toasty during the cold windy weather that we experienced while there. There was a nice boardwalk down to the beach front with easy access to the beach and the water just a few feet away. The weather was cold and windy when we were there so only strolled on the beach one day, but the beach was clean and patrolled. They have a breakfast in the morning with waffles and a variety of other things to get your day started off. The hotel was not very busy when we were there so parking was plentiful. It is pretty close to the causeway and lots of shops nearby. We ate at Blackbeards for lunch and for dinner and it was really good. Their shrimp platter was awesome and the service was great. This seemed to be where a lot of the locals hung out as well. They have lots of outdoor seating as well as inside and they have a nice bar inside. We also ate at Louies Backyard. Great place that has been there for years and pretty reasonable for the buffet. We got there around sunset and the view across the bay was cool as the sun went down. The food was okay, but I expected better as we had eaten their years ago. Check out the Ridley Sea Turtle recovery and rescue center. Pretty interesting place with a lot of turtles there to see. The island was easy to get around while in the offseason and still plenty of shops open for your shopping and tourist needs. All in all, the Copa was okay and if the price was right I would stay there again. Padre Island is a cool place.

Room Tip: Upper floors 3 or 4 will get you the best view of the ocean. It only has 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 77timeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

It's located right in the center of everything and walking access to the beach!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NORMA ELIZA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The hotel is undergoing some renovations and is overall pretty nice. The staff is very helpful. They let me have an early check-in as well. A short walk to the beach. I was able to negotiate a lower rate. Not a luxury hotel but nice enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,620 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,600 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 32 in South Padre Island
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £56 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing