We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay but has Beach Access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel is an average stay. The breakfast is average (scrambled eggs, tortillas, waffles, bagels and toast, re-fried beans, apples, oranges, bananas, muffins, juices, and coffee). The hallways are not air-conditioned. My room had two queen beds.The room was big and has beds along with a little sitting area with two chairs and a small sofa). The room itself is fine however, the bathroom is a different story. When I first arrived, the toilet bowl was not as clean as one would expect it to be. If you want maid service, you have to put a little door hanger on your door handle. I thought the bathroom would be cleaned a bit better after the maid had left but when I came back it hadn't changed much. Like I said before, this hotel is average but the only good thing about it is that it is along the beach and has beach access. This is definitely a plus. The hotel also gave us complimentary happy hour (3-6pm) drink passes per person. The choices for this complimentary drink are limited: draft beer, margarita on the rocks, wine, or soft drink. The margarita on the rocks was more water than margarita on the rocks. Also, do not call the front desk and ask for something to be brought to your room. We requested towels to be brought to our room but they were never brought. Your best bet would be to just go to the front and get them yourself. Furthermore, upon arrival we asked the front desk what time breakfast would be served and his answer was "I don't know." But it appears to be 7-10 am. In conclusion, it is an average stay with an average breakfast, alright room, and a big plus is the beach access.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nazy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are delighted to note that you had a great stay with us during your visit to South Padre Island. We are glad you found your room comfortable and roomy and had a good breakfast in the morning. We hope you choose us again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Had a great time in South Padre Island. The hotel is clean and had good beach access. Room is comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was good but they could use a bigger area. Parking lot is a little small, but we never had any problem finding a spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Location is great, right in the beach. Our room was nice and big, but we didn't get any maid service at all.

They have a big poster inside the front door that says they have a "full" breakfast with homemade omelets. Complete lie. Just a regular hotel breakfast with waffles, fruit, cereal and scrambles eggs. They have a large clientele from Mexico, so their breakfast had a Spanish style offering of scrambled eggs with sausage, salsa and tortillas which was pretty good.

In the room there is instructions that say to call the front desk to get their Wi-Fi password. Don't bother because they won't answer. I tried 4 times and finally just went down to the front desk to find everyone just sitting around doing nothing. They were happy to give me the password though.

Their Bar and Grill is a joke. Not resort quality at all. Our second night we went out to eat and when we returned about 7pm the bar was closed.

It's not a bad place, it just seems to be very poorly managed. I doubt we'll go back. Even in the off season it wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbretlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took a 3 day weekend with out the kids for a romantic stay in South Padre. We got our room for $199 for a 2 night stay from travel zoo. This hotel is very pretty once you pull into the driveway. Lots of palm trees and plenty of flowers. The lobby is average looking. The elevators seem a little old. I didn't eat the free breakfast cause I don't care for the type of food anyway. The room is large and very spacious. I am actually typing this up in the room as we speak. Lol anyway the floor was not mopped and the bathroom needs some paint in some areas. Overall I loved the location. We went to the Coral Reef down the street for karaoke and the walkway that leads you to the beach is convenient. If I had to pay original price I would not be as happy about it but since I got my rate on a special, I can say I would definitely recommend this hotel. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiemeri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We just stayed at this hotel and it was ok. The good - the room was pretty nice...was a good size and clean, slightly outdated but good anyway. Convenietly located, decent pool and hot tup. You can walk to the beach via their walkway. They have a fitness center and WiFi.

The cons - their complementary breakfast location is a nightmare. The line was so long each morning we elected to go elsewhere. The room is crowded with tables and folks were squeezing in to get to the coffee and food items. The layout was horrible...If they just put the stations in separate areas the flow could be improved greatly.

Another con - their "bar & grill" is a tiny place with slow service and limited hours. It has the potential to be so much better! We also bought our stay as a package that was to include a free drink each day - the so-called drink was the size of a dixie cup! Not kidding. We were also disappointed that there was no parking spots when we returned to the hotel Saturday evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina78934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I bought a Groupon for this place and it was great. Pool hours were posted but not enforced we swam until midnight and there were still people hanging out by the heated pool.

My kids 5 and 6 had a blast!! Free Continental breakfast was ok but not great. Room had a very small balcony but it had two chairs that were good enough to sit out and watch the sunrise and over looked the pool.

The staff was ok and we did not have any issues. I really liked the personal safe in the room and it got some use.

Room Tip: I would recommend a beach view room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I just visited South Padre Island for the Labor Day weekend and stayed at La Copa. The hotel was very conveniently located, walking distance to most popular attractions and shopping, or take a taxi for a measley $3.00-5.00. We loved how close it was to the beach, just a walk away on the hotels privated boardwalk. The room was very spacious, could have been a little cleaner, but overall nice enough. However, we do plan to go back to SP - as we had such a wonderful, rejuvenating time there, but we most likely will stay at a hotel/resort that facilitates a restaurant. It would have been nice to be on the beach all day and just come in to order room service, rather than having to get ready and drive to go eat! Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The king deluxe, ocean view, corner suite was great!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grannaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,598 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,549 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
187 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £66 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing