We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel/great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel/great location”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Hotel staff were extremely friendly and thoughtful. Our room was spacious (2 queens/beach view) and very clean. Plus there is a nice pool area and easy access to the beach. The complimentary breakfast was very good...made to order omlettes! The hotel isn't 5 star but it's really a nice value. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone going to SPI!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hi Jackie! We would like to thank you for selecting La Copa Inn and leaving your well valued review. We are thrilled you had a great experience here and hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    331
    134
    67
    76
See reviews for
426
325
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed at the La Copa Inn on the beach in SPI recently. The hotel is right on the beach. Nice pool and hot tub area and a boardwalk to the beach. Our room was clean, nice beds, enjoyed having a small seating area with loveseat and a couple of chairs. Patio had 2 chairs, but small area, best to sit at the pool, as most rooms have a side view. Given option of what floor and requested 4th floor for better viewing. The breakfast was better than average, served eggs, beans, and tortilla's, along with your cereals and fruit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CactusCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Hello Carol! We appreciated you taking the time to leave kind comments and furthermore thank you for choosing La Copa Inn. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room, pool, and breakfasts. We hope to see you again here and once again thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Thanks to the Promoter of the event and the reason we were in S.Padre...the accommodations were great. You have to love a room that does not have carpet in it (tile), not that it would make any sense being so close to the beach. All balconies are on the N or S sides of the hotel, you can see the beach (leaning out from your balcony) but as far as beach view rooms-none. Memory foam mattresses, wonderfully soft comforter, mini fridge & microwaves, plenty of room and the rooms smell great too! Large baths with large towels. Morning breakfast goes fast, but the homemade waffles (by staff) were great & lg. portions. Tip jar for the breakfast room staff, so leave something for them. Clean, well-staffed, would stay again. DO take a walk down the wooden walkway from the hotel to the beach in the early morning for some great sunrise pictures....

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor, too much traffic, quieter on the third.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southtxshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at La Copa Inn and that the accommodations were as expected. It was a pleasure to our staff to have had you. Thank you again for choosing La Copa Inn and we hope see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Love the beds. They are so comfortable. The hotel was clean and everyone was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was crowded though. The hotel has a convenient boardwalk to the beach. Great hotel for the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starla33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Starla33,

Thank you for choosing La Copa and taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to know you loved our comfortable beds and our friendly staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see your again soon.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel is an average stay. The breakfast is average (scrambled eggs, tortillas, waffles, bagels and toast, re-fried beans, apples, oranges, bananas, muffins, juices, and coffee). The hallways are not air-conditioned. My room had two queen beds.The room was big and has beds along with a little sitting area with two chairs and a small sofa). The room itself is fine however, the bathroom is a different story. When I first arrived, the toilet bowl was not as clean as one would expect it to be. If you want maid service, you have to put a little door hanger on your door handle. I thought the bathroom would be cleaned a bit better after the maid had left but when I came back it hadn't changed much. Like I said before, this hotel is average but the only good thing about it is that it is along the beach and has beach access. This is definitely a plus. The hotel also gave us complimentary happy hour (3-6pm) drink passes per person. The choices for this complimentary drink are limited: draft beer, margarita on the rocks, wine, or soft drink. The margarita on the rocks was more water than margarita on the rocks. Also, do not call the front desk and ask for something to be brought to your room. We requested towels to be brought to our room but they were never brought. Your best bet would be to just go to the front and get them yourself. Furthermore, upon arrival we asked the front desk what time breakfast would be served and his answer was "I don't know." But it appears to be 7-10 am. In conclusion, it is an average stay with an average breakfast, alright room, and a big plus is the beach access.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are delighted to note that you had a great stay with us during your visit to South Padre Island. We are glad you found your room comfortable and roomy and had a good breakfast in the morning. We hope you choose us again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Had a great time in South Padre Island. The hotel is clean and had good beach access. Room is comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was good but they could use a bigger area. Parking lot is a little small, but we never had any problem finding a spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Location is great, right in the beach. Our room was nice and big, but we didn't get any maid service at all.

They have a big poster inside the front door that says they have a "full" breakfast with homemade omelets. Complete lie. Just a regular hotel breakfast with waffles, fruit, cereal and scrambles eggs. They have a large clientele from Mexico, so their breakfast had a Spanish style offering of scrambled eggs with sausage, salsa and tortillas which was pretty good.

In the room there is instructions that say to call the front desk to get their Wi-Fi password. Don't bother because they won't answer. I tried 4 times and finally just went down to the front desk to find everyone just sitting around doing nothing. They were happy to give me the password though.

Their Bar and Grill is a joke. Not resort quality at all. Our second night we went out to eat and when we returned about 7pm the bar was closed.

It's not a bad place, it just seems to be very poorly managed. I doubt we'll go back. Even in the off season it wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbretlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,508 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
641 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Property: La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing