We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Copa Inn South Padre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The La Copa Inn is a good hotel with great access to the beach. They provide beach towels and also have a small pool and outside shower near the pool. They also have free breakfast which is the standard hotel breakfast with eggs, cereal, bagels a little fruit and juice. The star of the breakfast line up is the cooked to order omelets. There is a medium size window where you can see the beach however there is only one table which really gets the good view of this. I don't know if any of the rooms actually face the beach however they do have a small balcony where you can step out and listen to the waves or leave the door open to let the cool breeze flow in. Unfortunately there was a thunderstorm one night I was there and the electricity went out. This is when I found out that the hotel does not have a generator therefore we were in the dark for about 1 hour. Hence the three stars. Other than the generator part the hotel was decent and clean with some expected wear and tear. I think they have started remodeling some of the rooms so there is a difference in some of the rooms décor and flooring. If I were to return on the same budget as this time I would book La Copa again.

Room Tip: the breakfast room is on the 4th floor which is also the top floor of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atxgrl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us! We’re delighted you enjoyed our breakfast omelets, our cleanliness, and your stay overall. We apologize about the electricity inconvenience and are now taking precautions to be more prepared during the next storm. Thank you for choosing us to stay with and we hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Some friends and I stayed here for the weekend as we were visiting South Padre to Run the Jailbreak South Padre 5K. It was a great hotel for the price. Starbucks in the lobby, and a bar accessible from the pool out back as well, appropriately named La Copa Cabana (I was singing the song to myself pretty much all weekend, haha). We were given a room on the fourth floor. Two large beds and a sleeper sofa, with access to a balcony. Our room was on the side of the hotel, but you could still see the beach, which was very nice. There was a bar of soap stuck in the toilet. We immediately let the front desk know as we were heading out to the beach, and they quickly took care of it in the time we were out.

This hotel has direct beach access, which was very nice. It's on the southern end of the island, and the beach was not overly crowded. Parking is available (1 car per room) and there are plenty of stores and fast food/ restaurants within walking distance.

Free breakfast was included, with great options. It was served in Copa Cabana while we were there since they were hosting a basketball clinic, otherwise it would have been served up on the fourth floor. Only issue we really had was low to no water pressure in the mornings,, though I am assuming this was due to being on a higher floor.

Spent some relaxing hours reading in a lounge chair by the pool. Overall, great value for the price, and I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Rita,

It was a pleasure reading your review filled with wonderful comments! We’re pleased you had an amazing time in South Padre Island enjoying the beach and our hotel amenities. Thank for choosing La Copa Beach hotel for the weekend and hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel was under renovation. It smelled heavy of paint. The hotel is dated. The staff was courtesy and moved our family to another room. We still had a great view of the ocean. You can walk right onto the beach from this hotel. The price was definitely right. The pool is kept warm in December. The breakfast was nice with a cook there to prepare food. It is an easy drive to everything on South Padre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Aaron R.

Thank you for sharing your review! We apologize about the renovations going on but glad you were still able to enjoy your time in South Padre with your family. We’re delighted you enjoyed your ocean view, our breakfast, location, and overall satisfied with your stay. Thank you for choosing us and we would love to have to back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

this location is right on the beach and right off the bridge so it was easy to find. the staff was friendly from the moment we were checked in by Ale. Later on in the day my boyfriend and i realized we had a broken phone charger and Richard at the front desk just gave us an extra one. Staff is young and eager to please. Hotel bar had limited hours, but happy hour was worth the wait. Breakfast bar in am is really great. not much organization to the omelette station but we had no issues with it, i imagine it can get pretty hairy during a busier time of the year. Room was clean, large, had blackout curtains and a really comfy bed. we also got the one with the tub, couldn't figure out how to turn on bubbles but i don't think it made any difference. The only real downside was that it was very noisy. ac unit in room was loud. also there was a gap around the door and no carpets to absorb the noise of rude noisy guests yelling in hallway. i am a light sleeper and none of this bothered my bf at all. Lots of good food within walking distance. overall very nice experience and great happy hour!!

Room Tip: if you want a view you get the pool which can be very noisy. rooms on bottom floor are remodeled bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbryant284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate you leaving an outstanding review of your recent stay with us! We couldn’t be happier with our staff accommodating your every need. We’re delighted you liked our breakfast, comfortable beds, and our happy hour. We hope you will come see us again for another great stay in South Padre Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We love it !! We had a beach front room. Amazing view, clean room, friendly staff. The only problem was the wifi wasn't working on the 3rd or 4th floors. Minor problem.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear William,

Thank you for selecting us to stay with while visiting South Padre Island! We’re very pleased you had an excellent experience all around thanks to our accommodating staff. We appreciate you leaving your feedback and hope to see you back for another great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I had a bad experience at this hotel a couple of years ago and we reported it on Trip Advisor. The hotel was under renovation which we discounted and gave high marks except for management. The management responded and promised the problems would be resolved. We decided to see for our self and returned on April 21-22, 2014. The renovations were mostly completed and look great but the biggest improvement was in management. Now I give them a 4 star rating! I love the convenient location, the boardwalk, the free hot breakfast and friendly rates. I plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenfults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Greeting valued guest,

Thank you for choosing us once again; it was great to have you back! Also, thank you for giving us another shot and we are glad you did in fact change your mind about us which is a really rewarding feeling! We’re ecstatic you continue to love our location and our hot breakfast. We appreciate you selecting us again and then taking the time to write your review. Thank you and we’ll see you next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel based off Photos and price. Was not expecting much for the price, but were we wrong. While no place is perfect, we were impressed. The room we stayed in was large, fairly clean (May need a heavy clean, dusty light fixtures and dust behind the bed), bed was comfortable, and the jetted tub in the room was a great bonus (recommend the jet tub upgrade). The hotel was nice, service was excellent, and the beach access was great! The biggest surprise was the free breakfast. We were expecting the standard free continental breakfast, but wow, breakfast that I would easily pay $10.00 a plate for. Waffles, tacos, made to order omelets, muffins, cereal, bagels, juice, etc. This was an added bonus that I hope they will not change. On site bar and a Starbucks. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to South Padre, it sure made our stay nice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Boo811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hello,

It was a great pleasure reading your comments regarding your recent stay at the La Copa Inn SPI! We are very glad you really enjoyed our free breakfast and our newest hotel amenity, Starbucks. It was a great honor having you here and please visit us again the next time you’re on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,626 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,344 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,618 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £57 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing