We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for beach and fireworks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed July 4th weekend, great price for a beachfront hotel. Can see fireworks from the parking lot and avoid traffic. Breakfast was a joke, plan to eat out and there's no restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear guest,

We’re very pleased you loved your stay us! We’re glad you enjoyed the beautiful fireworks during your July 4th weekend stay. Thank you for sharing your experience! We would love to have you back another day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Security in the front parking, Jose, was extremely rude as I came in to hotel, not allowing me to even check in. After calling relative to bring in parking permit, security threatened both of us to have cars towed since only one car is allowed per room. We had rented two bedroom beachfront room, with two permits allowed. Worst experience ever at SPI, instead of a security harassing me after paying booking, please put a valet even if I have to pay to greet me, low blow no class hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dwjav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Greetings,

Thank you for writing your review, we share our guests' comments with our staff on a regular basis. We are so sorry we didn't provide you with the best hotel experience, that is always our goal as a group. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again, so we can leave a better impression with you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Do NOT stay here if you want the smallest ounce of quiet time! We came for our honeymoon and about an hour into our stay, we were really wishing we had read the recent reviews because they were right! There's constant noise every second of the day, seriously! Adults & kids shouting/screaming & running down the halls & it sounded like the people above us were rearranging their furniture every time we were in our room, even at night, and forget about the free breakfast unless you want to wait in line forever for cold food, that is, if you're able to get any food at all, because anyone can come in and out of the hotel and do since it's right off the beach and eat YOUR free food and take YOUR free parking. Yes, the hotel gives you a parking pass but they obviously don't ever check the parking lot and don't even waste your time trying to tell them about all of this because we did and it goes in one ear & out the other! Seriously the WORST hotel experience we've EVER had!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SxAxNxDxI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

We deeply apologize you weren’t 100% satisfied with your stay. We’re very sorry you had many inconveniences regarding the noise, breakfast, and parking. We can assure you these issues are not common for us. We will address these issues quickly and assure you we will get to the bottom of these bad experiences you had. We would love if you gave us another shot. We are constantly improving and adding new amenities to enhance our guest’s experience. Thank you for addressing your issues and we hope to see you again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just finished a 3 night stay at La Copa. I chose it because of the Trip Advisor reviews, as we wanted a budget friendly hotel with beach access. We got all of this and more. The hotel was clean and friendly. We found people cleaning all the time and the front desk staff were friendly. The room was spacious with two super comfortable queen beds and a sofa bed, which was perfect for us. The room also had a ceiling fan. We chose a room with a balcony and no view but found we had a slight view of the ocean through the buildings. I would not recommend the ocean view rooms because they are right above the pool, which was crazy busy throughout our stay (which was Sunday through Wednesday in June). The boardwalk led us right to the beach and Schliderbaun was less than a mile away. The breakfast was adequate but being a germ-a-phob, we opted to eat out after the first day. The omelette station was good but the employees were difficult to communicate with due to a language barrier. The bar downstairs was convenient and the margaritas were very good. We did rent an umbrella and chairs one day, which was well worth it. Overall, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get an ocean view room if you want piece and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHANNON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

We’re delighted you had a fantastic first time in SPI during your 3 night stay! It’s very rewarding to know we have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for complementing our staff and our hotel. We appreciate you choosing us to stay with and happy you will be back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First and foremost for the hotels age it has been upgraded well. There are improvements that still need to be made and it is a work in progress. The issues I had were that I had booked a room with a balcony and beachfront view 2 months in advance and called the hotel twice in between to confirm this was the room I would be given and told "yes" that they had me registered for the room I requested. I arrive at the hotel only to find they placed me on the first floor next to their restaurant and window facing the pool. If I wanted to hear people cheering on the FIFA soccer games or the bodies of kids and adults at the pool through my window I would have asked for this. The excuse I was given was they accidently double booked because they converted into a new computer system which I cannot believe was true since I had called in a week before my trip to confirm my reservation, but because their staff was curtious and polite I accepted the excuse. I was moved into the room I originally had booked the following morning and was even given a phone call when the room was ready. So for the inconvenience I still think they handled my issue very well and made the rest of my stay pleasant. Their continental breakfast on the fourth floor was great and the aroma of the omelettes being made along with coffee was welcoming. The few things I would like them to fix are the vending machines that were not operable and the shower in the pool area to be fixed other than that their washing machine and dryer worked very well and the atrim was a beautiful area to drink your starbucks coffee and watch some television. The pros out weighed the cons and I will definately use this hotel again. I have already advised my friends this would be a great place to stay. La Copa keep up the upgrading!!

Room Tip: Do not accept room 141 and if you reserve a balcony view and don't mind carpet ask for room 443
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dora Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello Dora,

We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and advice! We understand how frustrating your situation can be when you have booked in advance. We sincerely apologize about the inconvenience during your first night and though we did go through some system changes, there is no excuse for this to happen. We are currently taking measures to handle these issues and the few others you mentioned in a timely fashion. Overall, we glad everything did work out in the end and happy you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your patronage and we can’t wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights at La Copa with my children over spring break and I found the hotel to be clean, well maintained and the staff very friendly. The pool was heated and my children enjoyed it immensely!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ameliasmama2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your visit in April. We are extremely happy you and your children enjoyed their time in South Padre Island. We appreciate you praising your stay and our hotel. We would love to have you back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This was my family's first vacation, La Copa helped to make it fantastic. The lat morning were there, we reserved a room for 2014. The staff were amazingly helpful, the rooms were unbelievably clean. The whole week we were the was awesome. Cannot wait to go back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank a2bkgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Copa Inn Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your review and comments! We too are very happy you had enjoyed your first family vacation here at La Copa and glad to hear our staff contributed to your fantastic stay. Thank you for choosing La Copa and we will look forward to seeing you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,617 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Beach Hotel

Address: 350 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £52 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Copa Inn Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas. Our beachside hotel across from Queen Isabella Causeway offers an affordable vacation experience in South Padre Island, with five-star resort amenities. We have Spacious Hotel Rooms all with balconies and most with ocean view. All of our rooms feature Tempur-Pedic(R) mattresses, HD Flat Screen TV with premium cable channels, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and iron board, hair dryer and in-room safe. Other conveniences include complimentary High-speed Internet access and local calls. We have guest rooms for every taste, from standard king or queen beds to our three-room family suite. All rooms are nonsmoking. Our hotel offers an outdoor pool surrounded by a sundeck with a spa tub, chaise lounges, gazebos, and a walkway to the beach. For your convenience we have complementary Wi-Fi High Speed Internet access available through the entire hotel. A staffed activities desk to assist in planning excursions, coordinate sports-equipment rentals, and sell discounted tickets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your La Copa Inn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Padre Island
Best Western La Copa Hotel
South Padre Island La Copa Inn
La Copa Inn Beachfront Resort
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing