We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service with Abe”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Coington,La.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service with Abe”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We eat here often . Friday night buffet . We have a vacation home on the Island and eat out every weekend.
Our sever Abe is simply GREAT.. He knows how to treat you and make you want to return for another visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigmikeCoington_La_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Glad to have you here often! Thanks for this review. We're happy to be a big part of your vacation here on the Island. When will you be back? We're looking forward to seeing you again soon. Our buffet is waiting for you!

Until then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    477
    240
    124
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Had some friends playing in the Coyote Brothers Band so decided to come out for dinner as well. We've never been here and were both quite surprised.
Decided to try the buffet. Well worth the decision. The prime rib was perfectly cooked. All seafood entrees were tasty. The fried shrimp are outstanding. It's a small buffet, but what I liked about it is the fact that they keep it small so fresh items are constantly being brought from the kitchen. They also have servers at the buffet so you're not getting a lot of contamination from other customers. Well done!
We sat out on the deck overlooking the Laguna Madre and watched a beautiful sunset as we ate.
Our server, Ray, was very attentive and personable. I will ask for him again when we return.
The Coyote Brothers Band didn't disappoint either. We listened to them till they quit for the night and had quite an enjoyable evening.

Helpful?
Thank billb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We couldn't be happier that you were so pleasantly surprised by us. Sounds like you had a night filled with great food, great views and great music! I'll be sure to let Ray know you mentioned him in this review, and we're looking forward to your next visit!

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

See you soon,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best food and service on the Bayside”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed awesome food, prime rib and super fresh crab legs, for dinner with a bunch of friends. Our server Steve was awesome and so attentive. We had a great time and will definitely visit again. I highly recommend Louie's!

Helpful?
Thank Wanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for the recommendation, Wanda! We're glad y'all had a great time with us. I'll be sure to let Steve know you gave him a shout out. Hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leander, Tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hadn't been to Louie's in several years, shouldn't of waited so long. Business was a little slow being off season, so we were seated right away..then it started... Our server approached, a wonderful young lady named Tamara. With a huge smile, and a extremely happy personality. And the night only got better from there. The food came quickly and was wonderful, the wife and I both had the Surf and Turf, mine with fish hers with shrimp. It all tasted wonderful. Tamara was constantly checking on us, making sure we were content, she was so sweet! Her help made the evening, thank you. The wife had a Mexican Martini, which was quite tasty, I had beer, which I thought, was over priced in a can, a tall frosted mug would of been much better, especially since I had some in the car. And that was the only little problem.
Once again, Tamara, now that you can remember your name (inside joke) thank you for a fantastic dinner!
Jay & Terri

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jntntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
When it comes to us, you can always expect the unexpected! We're glad you came back after several years away. It sounds like from the food to the drinks to the service, you and your wife had a great time with us. I'll be sure to pass this review onto Tamara and let her know how much she helped make your experience with a fantastic one.

Several years is too long! We hope to see you again sooner than that. Thanks for your review.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo West, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Key Lime Pie”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had dinner at the buffet downstairs and it was okay, good service, food good then we went upstairs to check out the Local's Sports Bar and ended up staying 2 hours. Steve was our bartender and Jay, the manager, both spent time with us explaining our gluten free options. They were both outstanding in customer service and we are going back tonight. Jay had us taste a shot he came up with and we named it Jay's Key Lime Pie, it was very yummy. Very knowledge, friendly, great experience. Can't wait to try the red snapper tonight.

My ratings below on food, value, atmosphere are based on our buffet dinner downstairs, not the sport's bar. My service rating is based on the Sport's Bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Linda, we look forward to seeing you as many times as possible during your time here in South Padre! It's great that you were able to spend time in both our dining room and sports bar.

Can't wait to hear what you think about ths snapper. Thanks for taking time to share your experience. We really appreciate it.

Here's to more Jay's Key Lime Pies while you're here.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing