We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy good time”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our family had a great day fishing and a even better night at Louie's, they cooked up our fish for us and we had a feast! Thank you for a super dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

You're welcome, Lisa! Thanks for joining us for dinner and taking the time to write about it here on TripAdvisor. Sounds like we were the perfect end to a great day.

Come see us again soon!

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,768 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great buffet. Prime rib, shrimp ma ny ways., crab legs ummmmmmm good have been eating there since the late 1970's. Never disappointed. Great view of the bay andsunst.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We love that you've been dining with us for more than 30 years! That's amazing, Kay, we really appreciate the support. Thanks for recommending us here on TripAdvisor. We're honored to hear our food, service and views have never disappointed you. It means we must be doing something right!

Thanks again, and we'll see you soon!

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My family and I like to try different restaurants at South Padre Island (SPI). I have always heard about Louie's Backyard and decided to try it out. As a result, it was a wonderful experience. The food was delicious from the fish to the side dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quentin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We're happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us, Quentin! Thanks for taking the time to write this. We're looking forward to seeing you and your family next time!

Until then,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I recently visited Louie's during a trip to south padre with my wife and two children. It was off season so very quiet but still was an excellent night. We were thouroughly entertained by the waiter Abe and our girls loved being able to feed the fish off the varanda. The setting right next to the bay is great for an evening meal eating outside. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Any season is a good time to visit us, Phil. Now you know! Happy to hear your family had an excellent and entertaining experience with us. Sounds like Abe was the perfect server for all of you. I'll have to let him know of the nice things you've said about him. Thanks for sharing here on TripAdvisor. We can't tell you how grateful we are for your recommendation!

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have been going to Louie's for years now and the service that we enjoyed this past Saturday (Nov 16 2013) was exceptional. The food was even more exceptional than normal too. We really enjoy the atmosphere, scenery and location.
Steve, our server was really attentive and looked after our needs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

I'm not sure what we did differently, but I couldn't be happier to hear your last experience with us was an exceptional one. No matter, I'll be sure to share this encouraging review with Steve and our kitchen staff.

Thanks for taking the time to write this wonderful 5-star review, Ray. We're looking forward to your next visit.

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing