We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Edinburg, Texas
1 review
“Excellant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Steve was my waiter on 12-06-13. Theservice was excellant. The food was great with a well stocked seafood buffet filled with crab legs, fried shrimp and fish, fresh salads and a fill of crab legs. Plenty of crab cakes as well. and did I mention that the service was excellant! Thanks Steve, great food goes with good service and makes new and old customers returning!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryaflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks for the 5-star review here on TripAdvisor. Sounds like Steve was almost as big of a hit as our seafood buffet. I appreciate your encouraging words on our food and service and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Until then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    470
    237
    123
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoy the buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We wanted to sample a variety of seafood on our visit to South Padre, and Louie's fit the bill. Their buffet was well stocked when we arrived at 5PM (off-season on a weekday). Crab legs, fresh and fried fish, good choices of sides. The Shrimp Bubba (a Louie's specialty) was really delicious. I could've eaten a full plate of just that. Service was good.

I would eat here again. The buffet was $18 when we visited, but with all the choices including the crab legs, it was a decent bargain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelWise25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Of all the places to grab seafood, we couldn't be happier you chose us! Sounds like we showed you a good time filled with delicious food and great service. Thanks for your kind words on our Shrimp Bubba – looks like you'll have to come back again and have more!

Looking forward to your next visit.

Until then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This place was excellent, I would not hesitate to eat here again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Where middle-age couple, but the daughter in college, and she came down to San Padre Island for spring break. She suggested we come here for a drink. Reluctantly, we listen to her. To our surprise, the food was excellent, our server tony was excellent, and we even got to talk to the owner , Dan. This place is a must if you're coming to the island.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
It was great speaking with you, David! Don't forget to thank your daughter for suggesting us. Glad we could impress (and surprise) you.

Thanks for this 5-star review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable and Fun Place to Eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We vacationed in SPI during the week of Thanksgiving. Since KU was having their tournament during that week, we ended up hanging out at Louie's in the Sports Bar area to watch the basketball games. We were in heaven. There were large plasma and DLP TVs all to ourselves in the large upstairs area. We befriended Jay, who took excellent care of us. Same goes with his staff. Very friendly and helpful - finding and changing the channels to find our game. The food was VERY reasonable, especially if you get their daily specials. We enjoyed the 1/2 rack rib plates, and LOVED the shrimp as well as the fish basket. Not only were we sad to leave SPI, but we were sad to leave Louie's. Until the next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ListyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! I'm excited to hear how much you enjoyed watching some basketball at our spot. Hearing that you felt as if you were in "heaven" truly makes my day. I look forward to passing this along to Jay and the team. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in SPI!

All the best,

Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coington,La.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service AGAIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were at Louie's Friday November 29, 2013 enjoying a pre-dinner cocktail, Then Dinner for four, with Three Birthdays. Our server Steve made our evening enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigmikeCoington_La_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for the great rating, Mike! Glad we made those birthdays all the more special — and tasty! I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Steve as well. Hope you'll grab another bite with us soon.

Cheers,

Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing