We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected...average at best”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It looks cool (from the outside) as you drive up, has a great view and beckons you to drop in. Our group of fun loving ladies missed lunch due to a noon flight, so we arrived famished at 4:45, but they didn't open until 5pm. We felt like old people not long after we sat down. Why? The clientele, their "famous" all you can eat seafood buffet, dated indoor decor (think Golden Girls) and just barely average cafeteria tasting food. My friends seafood platter was all frozen food that was refried to serve, my snapper was under cooked, the seafood buffet drew quite an interesting mix, and although I didn't eat it, a few in our group expressed concerns about the quality and freshness of the selection.

To be fair, it was 5pm when we sat down, but it was a Friday, and at that time on the island, you'd think it would have a little bit of life and vibe. Maybe it is different on Saturdays/Saturday nights. I must give props to our server, a gal who was very nice and did her best to overcome what must have been very apparent disappointment in our faces. We tipped well, but won't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank confetti70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I hope you'll reconsider and come back and see us! If you're looking for a more lively time, come join us at the bar after 8. Did you end up saying something to your server about your disappointment with our buffet? We're always eager to make things right immediately. Our food is fresh, and I'm disappointed to hear it didn't taste as such.

Again, I hope you'll give us another chance to wow you. I'm confident we can step up to the plate!

Best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,581 of 2,049 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Steve C. was our waiter while watching the Pacer game last week. Steve made me an incredible margarita and took such good care of us while we were there. Wonderful service from Steve C.!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Jane, thanks for the 5 stars! Steve really took care of you, huh? Hope we'll see you soon for margaritas and more!

'Til then,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went with my sisters for a Friday night meal and had the buffet. The food was good and the atmosphere was fun. Our server Michael R. was awesome! Loved it, even though it was a bit pricy.

Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Happy to be a part of sisters' night out, Laura! Thanks for swinging by and sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Hope you ladies will come see us again soon!

'Til then,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This restaurant always offers a great view, great service and an awesome view. We always make sure to eat at the buffet anytime we go to padre island. There's a great variety of food. This is a great place to watch the sun set. We also always get amazing service. Our server this time was Raven. She kept our drinks refilled, frequently checked on us, and was very friendly. I would definitely recommend eating here. The buffet was fantastic and Raven made the experience even better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynnleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for the awesome recommendation! So happy to hear you make time to come see us every time you visit SPI. We appreciate the kind words on our service and buffet, and we're looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Sheldan was just awesome. She made sure that we were well taken care of. Loved her. There should be more waitresses like her!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jessren25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Wow -- Sheldan will be so happy to hear about this awesome review! Thanks for sharing. See you soon! - Dan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing