We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant on South Padre Island!!!!”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
“Best restaurant on South Padre Island!!!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This our first visit to your restaurant. We were thourghly impressed with the food, service and the restaurant. Our waiter George took excellent care of us, the best waiter we have ever had! We certainly have plans to return to your restaurant and bring some friends. Thanks so much!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meckle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Sounds like we really wowed you on your first visit! I couldn't be happier to hear it. I'll be sure to let George know how great of a job he did with y'all!

We're eagerly awaiting your return.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    508
    247
    128
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great place, food, and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a great experience in here. The waiter (Steve C.) was very Helpful and friendly, and they have awesome food

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankxxavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Couldn't be happier to hear that you had such a great time with us! Will we see you again soon? Hope so!

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
“Great service, delicious food”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Went to Louie's for dinner while on a work retreat. We heard they had a good seafood buffet and we wanted to check it out for ourselves. We were greeted warmly and shown to a table right on the water. Our waiter, Steve, quickly brought our drinks and told us all about the buffet - it was a steal at only $19 and included all kinds of deliciousness- crab legs, prime rib, scallops, salad bar, every kind of shrimp you can imagine. Steve was attentive and friendly and came back to our table numerous times to attend to all our needs. All in all, excellent view of the beautiful sunset, great service from our waiter Steve, and DELICIOUS food. I'll definitely be coming back on every visit to South Padre!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Glad we could bring a little fun to your work retreat, Adele -- thanks for coming by! I'm happy to hear you all enjoyed our buffet, service and views. Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to SPI!

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Retreat”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful bayside view, delicious seafood, awesome buffet, and wonderful service is what you can find here! Our waiter, Steve, was the friendliest guy ever! Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Great views, delicious seafood, wonderful service. It doesn't get much better than that, does it Belinda? Thanks for the 5-star review, and we can't wait to see you again!

'Til then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mini-vacation at the Island”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I'm originally from the valley but I had never been to Louie's backyard. The food at the buffet was great, the drinks were awesome, and our waitress, Rava, was the best. She even recommended places for late-night fun. To top it off, they have a beautiful view of the sunset over the bay and you get to feed crazy catfish in the bay with your food leftovers! I was very pleased with the level of customer service at this restaurant. I absolutely would go there again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Happy to be part of your mini-vacation, Leo. Thanks for swinging by! Your 5-star recommendation means so much to us, and we hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing