We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Amazing Service!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My boyfriend and I visited SPI to celebrate his birthday. Louie's was our dinner destination after an afternoon at Schlitterbahn. Our waiter, Dillion suggested the a few drink specials. I chose the Blue Smurf Margarita, it was large, strong and delicious. Plus, only $5. My boyfriend had the Mai Tai and was impressed as well. We both opted for the Seafood buffet at Dillion's suggestion. It did not disappoint. There was plenty of shrimp and snow crab plus a variety of fried selections. Dillion continued to check in on us with out being over bearing. My boyfriend and I commented more than once on how helpful he was. I mentioned that it was my boyfriend's birthday to Dillion but urged him NOT to celebrate it in any way. Instead, he packed us up a piece of complimentary chocolate cake to go. It was a great experience and we would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayemare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for celebrating with us! I can't begin to tell you how thrilled I am that you enjoyed your service from Dillon so much. He'll be just as grateful for your humbling recommendation as I am!

Until next time,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    515
    252
    132
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosenberg, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful service and delicious food!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first visit to the island so we relied on flyers and advertisement papers for our meal choices. Louie's was a big hit with our family. The crab legs were excellent as were the other food items. Our server, Joshua Cain, was very attentive and personable--we appreciated him very much!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piratesez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I'll make sure Joshua sees your kudos! It's always great to hear when first-timers are impressed with us. We'd love to have you back next time you're visiting South Padre!

'Til then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I had the pasta diablo, awesome! So flavorful! The portion was huge so I took half of it home and had it for breakfast. Still delicious reheated!! Hubby had the sea food Buffett, and was very pleased. Topped it off with cheesecake and chocolate cake, melt in your mouth perfection! They had fireworks that night which topped off the experience wonderfully. Will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gumyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We can't wait to have you back! Thanks for coming to see us, and thanks for following up with such a stellar recommendation afterward. We're lucky to have your support!

Until next time,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Seafood buffet”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The seafood buffet was great! Good was fresh and want fishy like some places can be! Or server was Aubree Lynn and she was great! She was very personable! We sat on the pier and it was very relaxing. The only thing I personally didn't like was that instead of a regular buffet you couldn't serve you're own food. Nothing wrong with that just personal preference! We will definitely be back when we make another trip to padre!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lacinorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We're all about having one of the best seafood buffets in town, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed everything. I'll definitely pass your complements on to Aubree. Next time you're in town, stop in and see us.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Value”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place for dinner and saw their ad "by airplane" so we gave it a try in support of their efforts. Wow, this visit turned out to become our best dinner ever! We went with the seafood buffet. The quality of food more than made up for the minimal varieties. There were roast beef, snow crabs, gulf shrimps, scallops, and fish. All were fresh and flavored as expected. Our server Olivia was very friendly and attentive. They even offer live performance show. For Tuesday, it was Polynecian dance. You could take pictures with the dancers. Besides the minimal selection of foods, everything else was beyond our expectation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sombreros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
It's so wonderful to hear that we were your best dinner during your vacation! Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in town, stop in and visit us.

Cheers,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing