We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer”
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Harlingen, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“customer”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

our waiter Jeffery was excellent, he took care of our needs when we needed some thing from the order, we order the all you can eat buffet and enjoyed the fireworks were awesome had not been there since March when our youngest son got married and we had dinner there with all our 4 boys and thier wifes. We had a wonderful evening and we will be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Carlos, thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor! I always love hearing how our servers, like Jeffrey, take care of our guests. We love that we were a place for the whole family to get together and chow down (and fireworks are an added bonus!). We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    515
    252
    132
    130
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Delicious! ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four and decided to get the buffet. The crab legs were amazing and the prime rib equally delicious. Steve C. was extremely helpful and attentive. The only reason I didn't give a 5 rating was because it was a little smokey from the mesquite bbq. Next time we are going to sit outside along the water and enjoy the view. We also want to eat upstairs for a different experience. Thanks Louie's! We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank esimpson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for the 4-star review! I'm so happy to hear the four of you had an awesome time with us (and Steve). Can't wait to have y'all back!

'Til then,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

They have a great buffet, $21 for adults $9 for kids, it had a great prime rib. The back decks are great for watching the sunset.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rudoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Sounds like you've been a few times! That's wonderful. Hope we'll see you again soon for seafood, steak and sunsets!

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The catfish are great---the ones in the bay that is..”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The buffet at Louie's is decent, but nothing to harp on. The meat is average at best and you have to be choosey when picking out your Crab Legs or you get the old ones handed to you. However sitting by the water and dumping the leftovers into the waiting mouths of hundreds of catfish was quite the scene. They dump just about everything over the rails too, crab legs, corn, anything eatable for a catfish, the apparent goats of the sea. Louie's is worth a visit, but I wouldn't eat here more than once in a visit. The bar upstairs is not very comfortable and the service is terrible, so skip that and go to Bob's next door.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catman3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Wish you were more impressed by your visit with us, Don! The catfish are great, but we'd like to think our buffet and service are, too. If you have any detailed feedback or thoughts on our service and how it can be better, please feel free to reach out. We're always looking for ways to improve.

Hope to see y'all again soon,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hondo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lively place with mediocre food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a fun place to go after a day at the beach. Very casual and relaxed with nightly entertainment. The night we went the entertainment was dubbed luau night which consisted of 4 girls dancing and getting the audience involved a couple of times. It was average entertainment at best, but was something to watch while dining. We ordered the seafood and prime rib buffet. The food like something you would expect at a cafeteria type setting. Not at all impressed. The seating is mostly outside and you can watch a beautiful sunset. This would be a good place to go with a group of families with kids. I most likely would not recommend this place because of the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CountryGal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
While I'm disappointed you didn't enjoy our buffet, I'm happy to hear you loved our atmosphere. Did you know you don't have to order the buffet when you dine with us? Next time how about trying something from our menu? You'll be impressed -- promise! I hope you'll give us another try.

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing